We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was hoping for more considering i reserved a 'superior' room”
Review of Fourcroft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fourcroft Hotel
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Booked a superior double sea view room on late rooms however seems I only got a double sea view room. I should have complained but am going through a difficult time and did not have the energy. Room was quite small, not to small, but considering it was listed as a superior room was very disappointed. Bed was fine however duvet was very lumpy and out of shape and we only had two comfy but very flat pillows so one pillow each with some tired scatter cushions, carpet was very worn and frayed all around the edges and furniture was outdated and a bit ropey, also the two chairs were very worn and old looking, then a ray of light, the bathroom! Had obviously recently(ish) been refurbished and the shower was great, this was the only thing that stopped me thinking the room was not worth the money, although the cleaning left something to be desired, some pink mould on the tiles and lots of p***c hair around the shower base and toilet seat. But apart from the cleanliness, shower
room was great if a little bit to small, but cubicle itself great. Sea view was lush, really nice. Was just disappointed as paid for a superior room and this was definitely not superior. I only booked as the room was nearly half price but was still disappointed, please fourcroft, price your rooms more appropriately! yes the communal areas are great and breakfast is lovely, no complaints, but your rooms are tired and way overpriced! If I had paid the full price £165 a night for the room I had I would have been straight down to reception to complain. I wonder if this is actually their superior room or if they did not give a superior room due to the discounted rate I paid. All in all I would definitely stay there again but not for that price. Also they need to pick up their cleanliness, also one of the ladies on reception is quite rude and did not seem to have time for us, even tapped her nails on reception as we filled out the form, (we're talking a form that took us about 20 seconds to fill out). Sort it out fourcroft, had a huge suite with a seating area for just £100 before on the other beach!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeywaneylaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated with views over the sea and access to the town . I found the staff friendly and helpful . The games room was good fun and I would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olympian1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband and I & our two children, aged 7 & 5 stayed here for 1 night over Easter Bank Holiday and allocated a family room overlooking the rear of the hotel, costing £130 for b&b. The room was spacious with a double bed and two full sized single beds. The beds were really comfy and there was a good size dressing table with mirror, light and plug socket (a must for hair straighteners!); flat screen TV with Freeview; powerful hairdryer & tea/coffee facilities. There was a bath & separate shower; soap & shower gel were also provided. We found the room and hotel in general, a little dated. We all used the outdoor heated pool, which was a lovely 24 degrees and we were given additional hotel towels to use for this. We found the pool a little grubby - the tiles could do with a good scrub and it seemed to have a high chlorine content. This area also had a small children’s play area. There was also a sauna and Jacuzzi, which we didn’t use, but noted that there are set times for these, so worth checking/ asking in advance about this. There was a games room and a 24 hour bar, although there was only one draft lager available. Breakfast was between 8-10am and had a view of the sea; buffet style for cold drinks; cereals & fruits. Staff took your order for hot drinks & cooked breakfast/ omelettes etc which was cooked quickly, was tasty & nice and hot. Upon arrival, we had just missed out on the last of the private hotel parking spaces and due to the Bank Holiday, we had to park the car quite far away as it was busy, so this is worth bearing in mind if you’ve got children & lots of luggage! The hotel is in a great location and has stunning views, with friendly & efficient staff. Its just a short walk to many shops, restaurants, pubs etc; we had a lovely meal at the Mews Surf Bar & Grill on Upper Frog Street and a lovely walk around the town and beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gr33neyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Just returned from a great weekend at the Fourcroft. My friend and I were in need of a relaxing time after a stressful period and it was achieved without a doubt. We had a lovely big room at the front with a floor to ceiling window, two armchairs and a table, which we found hard to tear ourselves away from. The beds were really comfortable and everywhere was clean and spotless. The breakfast set you up for the day and most important of all -the staff. Everyone of them, without exception were lovely. We had no trouble parking outside, possibly because it was March and not many holidaymakers around. Can't fault its location or the stunning views. I adore Tenby and will definitely return to the Fourcroft in the, not too distant, future I hope.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Fourcroft and would highly recommend it. We have been there for the last 3 years and look forward to going again soon. We tend to take advantage of the weekend deals that the Fourcroft offer and find these good value for money.
The rooms are spotlessly clean with tea and coffee. The hotel itself has a games room and plenty to do for the children. However we enjoy it for the food and the top service by all the staff - nothing is too much trouble. It is a 5 min flat walk into Tenby along the seafront so dump the car in the carpark and have a stressfree weekend.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the hotel, to wake up in the morning and see that fabulous view just p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JO141216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

If you are looking to stay in Tenby, or would like a venue in the area for training, or conference purposes, then it's certainly worth having a look at the Fourcroft Hotel.

We cannot thank Cathy and the team enough, for the warm welcome, help and support they provided to us at the South Wales WEA this week. The customer service was outstanding, the food great, refreshments made available throughout the day and a very comfortable conference room, with internet access.

Thank you to everyone at the Fourcroft, for making our day an enjoyable one and we look forward to working with you again in the near future.

Room Tip: I would recommend to ask about disability access to the bedrooms, should anyone be in a wheelchair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackieao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Had a really enjoyable short stay here. Firstly, I'm surprised to read some of the comments about parking, as you can reserve a place behind the hotel for the duration of your stay. Secondly, what a view! You must have a front room that looks out over Goscar Rock towards the harbour, castle and lifeboat station. The walk down to the beach, through the gardens, is stunning.

Breakfast was really good, beautifully cooked and plentiful, and the service was faultless.

Be aware that central heating is remotely controlled, so you may need to ask for a heater during colder times of the year as the room was fridge look whenwe arrived

Our room was clean, but is (over)due a make over as the carpet and furniture was quite tired. Wear and tear is inevitable, I know, but a bit of tlc+ is in order.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebbwboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.7 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourcroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourcroft Hotel

Address: North Beach View The Croft, Tenby SA70 8AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Tenby
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £89 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fourcroft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Tenby's Blue Flag North Beach & old fishing harbour, Fourcroft Hotel has spectacular terraced gardens leading down to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Fourcroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fourcroft Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing