We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think about the value for Money”
Review of Fourcroft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fourcroft Hotel
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Think about the value for Money”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed I this hotel for one night in July. We had looked through many online as we had booked short notice. It was quite expensive but Tenby is very expensive to stay. I was too late to book a parking space. so had to park in town overnight, however this was cheaper than the £4 the hotel were going to charge for a car park space.
We booked in about 2.45pm, the receptionist who was very friendly had to check that our room was ready.
The rooms are smaller than most I've stayed in, so it did feel a bit cramped. the view of the beach was lovely but the chairs weren't really that comfy to enjoy a cuppa looking at the view.
There are no irons in the rooms, there is an ironing room, which isn't great when you want to get dressed after shower! and the Hairdryer in the draw wasn't working also!
We didn't really bother with the WiFi as we could hotspot off our mobiles.
As we were only there for the evening we didn't get to see the pool or play area, neither were we made aware of how to get to places on check in. I guess we'd have to hunt or ask specifically.

BREAKFAST
Well..... we were very disappointed with Breakfast....although the restaurant looks lovely. The staff weren't really helpful on entering. i.e. showing where to sit, how to order your meal.
We ordered the full English and there was a good assortment of cereals and fruit as well.
The waitresses, some of who's grasp of the English language was quite funny listening to other ordering, were friendly but somewhat confused if making more than one request, i.e. would you like brown or white toast? My husband replied brown, I replied white....confusion.......I asked for tray with both and the panic left her face!!
The breakfast came and I was not impressed really, not for a 3* hotel. On a very small plate, 2 rashers of bacon, one sausage, egg, half a fried bread, some mushrooms and half a tomato!!
I am really not that fussy, we travel a lot as a family and as a couple, and I'm really sorry to say that this was not value for money as far as we were concerned. We be paying for an over inflated room rate on this hotel again.

Room Tip: The Sea Views are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 101Honesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmrysL, Owner at Fourcroft Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Our guests find our ironing room an acceptable solution to their requirements, so no irons in bedrooms. If you had informed us your hairdryer wasn't working, we could have exchanged it with one that does, Now, of course, we can't do anything about it.
Your comments on breakfast seem to differ from nearly every other review on this & other review sites and, judging from your description, it would seem to be exactly what we try to achieve, namely consistent quality. We do not use small plates for cooked breakfasts and, if you had wanted more to eat, you only had to ask ..... Again, now it's too late.
It strikes us that if you had experienced all the other facilities in our hotel, you might have had some idea of what Fourcroft is about. You weren't interested, not even in our free WiFi, so perhaps you should stay somewhere more suited to your needs & aspirations next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    117
    51
    13
    11
See reviews for
126
142
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I had always wanted to stay in this Hotel since I was a little girl.
It was everything that I expected. The warn friendly welcome on our arrival.
The beautiful view from our bedroom window was perfect. The food was excellent.
Thankyou for making our special day complete.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seven Sisters, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed at the hotel for one night with my husband, daughter, son in law and two young grandchildren who were visiting from Hong Kong. When we got to the hotel the lady in charge made us feel very welcome and sorted out parking for our 2 cars straight away which we had pre booked. We were able to book in early as our room was ready. The room was spacious with a lovely modern bathroom and beautiful views and spotless. My daughter had a family room which was a very good size and near our room which was helpful. The position of the hotel is fabulous because you can cross the road in front of the hotel and there are steps to go right down to the lovely beach and there is a lovely cafe set up with tables and umbrellas selling a variety of snacks reasonable priced. Also if you so wish there are loungers and umbrellas for hire on the beach. The breakfast was fab. We didn't use the pool but did have a look around outside and it has a lovely setup. It is easy to access the town from the hotel. I would certainly recommend this hotel and the friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you are by the sea it is nice to have a sea view so you can sit with a cup of tea or enjoy a glas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay for 7 of us. We had a wonderful holiday. The food at the hotel was excellent. We had delicious sandwiches most days for lunch either in the gardens overlooking the sea or round the pool . The pool was heated to 29 degrees and was very pleasant . It was open from 7 am till late and was very clean. They checked the chlorine twice a day. The sea at north beach had the best swimming I have known in England.It was a blue flag beach with lifeguard and watersports. My daughter tried the jet skiing.The water shelves very gently which warms the sea up.We had 2 days out to Saundersfoot where the swimming was not so good and Manorbier castle church and beach which was lovely.Staff at hotel very friendly and helpful..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just returned from 4nights stay,had a great time, the hotel has fantastic views of north beach.The room clean and comfortable,and overlooked north beach ,staff great ,breakfast very good ,and also had a meal in the hotel and the fish was excellent , we stayed with our grandchildren who loved the outdoor pool and they were made very welcome.thanks to Jane on reception and Dillon on the bar for looking after us will be back soon , also thanks to the girls who looked after us all at breakfast .

Room Tip: We had a double room no9 overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane29_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamworth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on 20th July and our only regret is that we weren't staying for longer!

We arrived before check in time but our room was ready so could get straight in. After a short walk to the main bit of town and a leisurely lunch at the hope and anchor we headed back to hotel and made use of the pool. With towels provided and the lovely heated pool we spent a lovely afternoon and early evening using the facilities in the sun. We used the bar in the evening and the drinks and ambiance were great.

This morning breakfast was fantastic and there was a choice of virtually anything you could think of. The serving staff were great and there was constant topping up of the buffet items as well as checking that everything was OK.

Today was a beach day and they were happy for us to use the pool changing area before we drove home which was very kind and much appreciated.

Our room was lovely with a table and chairs to sit at the window and appreciate the great sea views and the beautifully maintained gardens with steps leading down to the beach. The shower room was lovely and all decoration and furnishings seemed very new.

Yes £130 for 1 night was not cheap, however neither were the facilities or service so we would consider it money well spent. We will definitely be returning at some point in the future.

One tip is that if you are eating out in Tenby I would recommend you book a table somewhere as we found it almost impossible to get a meal in town last night without reservations or a ridiculously long wait. Luckily we found a great Greek Restaurant which saved us from eating fish and chips on the wall :)

Room Tip: We were in room 5 and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMcG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Love our stop over inTenby, the hotel has a beautiful view of the beach, has a proper gate to go down and a garden terrace so cute to chill out. the rooms big enough for a family with 2 daughters, WI FI, tv, lovely swimming pool, nice guy from the hotel in this area to give us advices. staff were very kind, nice and friendly with us. The Welsh breakfast was unique...to recommend!!! no parking but we could found in front of the road a space to park.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view and ask for a parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#11 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourcroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourcroft Hotel

Property: Fourcroft Hotel
Address: North Beach View The Croft, Tenby SA70 8AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Tenby
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fourcroft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Tenby's Blue Flag North Beach & old fishing harbour, Fourcroft Hotel has spectacular terraced gardens leading down to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fourcroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fourcroft Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing