We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A pleasure to enter, sad to leave.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Twmbarlwm

Twmbarlwm, Tenby
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Twmbarlwm, Tenby
Lounge with french doors opening out onto a large decked terrace Fitted kitchen with range cooker, 2 dishwashers and american-style fridge freezer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Twmbarlwm, Tenby
Lounge with french doors opening out onto a large decked terrace
Fitted kitchen with range cooker, 2 dishwashers and american-style fridge freezer
Master bedroom with en-suite shower room/wc
Large decked area off the lounge and dining room
Dining room, seats 8, with french doors opening out onto large decked terrace
Bedroom 2 with en-suite shower room
En-suite shower room/wc to bedroom 2
Large master bathroom with power shower
Bedroom 3 with 2 large singe beds with view over the garden. Bedroom 4 is an identical layout.
View from botton of the rear garden to the large decked terrace
Dressing table in Bedroom 2. Also in Master bedroom (both have hair dryers)
Side view front with block paved parking area
Outside dining on the large terrace. Both terraces have a table and chairs that seat 6
Utility Room with large washing machine, tumble dryer iron and ironing board
Downstairs shower room with power shower
Ground floor sitting room/TV cwtch
Entrance hallway
An example of our welcome pack
Extra kitchen shot
Two dishwashers
Extra terrace shot
Rear gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tenby, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
RealScibo...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pleasure to enter, sad to leave.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We took our two young grandchildren (16 months and 4 years) along with five adults. No problem with keys etc and the welcome pack was much appreciated and well thought out. The property was spotless and contained all the utensils and gadgets you could possibly need and the copious supply of crockery was easily managed by the two dishwashers. The washing machine and tumble drier meant no dirty washing went home although the glorious weather meant the rotary drier in the garden was used extensively!
Lots of games, DVD's and books were available although the beautiful weather meant these were rarely needed. It is not centrally located but it is possible to reach the beaches in about twenty minutes even pushing buggies up the steepish hill and down again - we are fairly fit so it was no problem. You could also drive to the cheap beach car park in a few minutes.
Locally lots of things to do with small children - Folly Farm well worth a visit and on a dull morning we went to the Blue Lagoon which was amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P
Lancashire, U.K
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect - From the 1st Minute to the Last”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Myself, my wife, 2 children, plus mother, father and brother in law stayed here in the May school holiday week. When we first opened the door we knew it would be perfect for us. Modern, very clean, all the mod cons, quirky lay out with the lounge on a lower lever, large decking area, 4 bathrooms and a welcome pack that I have never seen below, it was like a weekly shop!! ... Oh and 2 dish washers - you know your in somewhere of quality when you find 2 dishwashers!!

Location was approx 15 mins walk to the centre / beach. Local taxis very cheap. There were 7 of us in total and a mini bus from or to town was £3, not bad eh. So location was great.

The weather was fab all week which was a bonus. Some great pubs that we all visited. I have to say me and my brother in law visited a few more than the rest!

Tenby is great and has plenty to do in town and round about via a short car journey.

We go on many holidays and have stayed in many cottages / houses and do expect a high standard, this holiday house met ALL our expectations and is a credit to the owners.

Thanks.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic family house offering a magical experience for young and old alike”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We booked the house as one of our party was riding the Carten100 bike ride and the house offered an ideal location. We were not disappointed as the location was fantastic. It is enough out of the centre of Tenby to make driving and parking on the large drive easy but still close enough to the Tenby centre to enjoy all the great places to eat and drink. We had our 1 year old and 5 year old with us together with Grandparents. We were able to walk down to Tenby Town in around 10 minutes which if you have children is an ideal distance to tire them out on the way back before bed time. Our 5 year old loved playing Rugby on the large decking area. To catch the train back to Cardiff, to start the Cardiff to Tenby bike ride it was less than a 5 minute walk to train station via the handy shortcut (that you will need to discover yourselves -it is part of the fun and excitement). Can't wait to return to this fantastic house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of space and light; large rooms and fantastic location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wmcultura...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Serious leak not dealt with (left without use of two bathrooms)”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Twmbarlwm is okay - nothing special. Our main complaint relates to the treatment we received from the owner...
A day after arrival we noticed a very large damp patch had developed across the ceiling of the downstairs bathroom. On discovering this, we called the owner who advised us that he would send someone out to fix the problem on Tuesday. Tuesday came and went and noone appeared to fix the problem (the owner did not communicate with us again to update us about this). For the whole week we were left without full use of the en suite bathroom and the downstairs bathroom. This is disappointing enough, but it appears someone knew there was a problem before we arrived (there was masking tape over the light switch for the downstairs bathroom) but noone had informed us of this. We've only just received the breakages deposit back (a month after our stay) and there continues to be a radio silence from the owner regarding the problems we had with the cottage. This is the kind of treatment I might expect from the landlord of a student flat but not from a holiday home owner - very disappointing.
Something else not mentioned in the blurb is that the garden backs onto the railway line. It is also more like a 20 minute walk into Tenby (not a 10 minute walk). And anyone with buggies be warned: the cul-de-sac is very steep and the surface of the road was poor when we stayed there (ironworks exposed). There is a rough track short cut but this is not suitable for buggies.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. I would like to clarify a few points with you. 1. I appreciate, and am sorry for the fact that we did not phone to check that the workman scheduled to turn up on the Tuesday did turn up but he is our regular handyman in Tenby and we have never had to follow up and visits to the house to do odd jobs in the past; I am sorry that during the rest of your stay that you did not feel it necessary to inform the office of the fact that he did not turn up and that the leak had not been dealt with; the subsequent damage caused to the en-suite and downstairs bathroom was quite shocking; I am also sorry that you only felt in necessary to send photos of the damage that had been caused when you had already vacated our home. As you have been fully informed, the sink in the en-suite shower room had been pulled away from the wall causing the pipes to split – this evidently happened the week before and we have absolutely no idea who put the tape over the light switch. At no point were we informed of a problem and I can personally guarantee that we take all matters relating to our guests welfare and enjoyment of using our home very seriously. 2 .I can confirm that our home backs onto a very sleepy single track railway line; as it is close to Tenby Town the trains are running slowly as they are either entering the town or just leaving the station – I would also like to clarify that the bank to the railway line is fenced off is completely safe and is full of mature trees and shrubs; this fact has never been a problem with any of our guests who have stayed with us in the past 5 years and I am sorry that it was a problem for you. 3. I appreciate that the town is only a 10 minute walk using the shortcut and I will change our advert to reflect that if you use the ‘private road’ it can take up to 20 minutes – the cul-de-sac is currently un-adopted and it is uneven in places as most Private roads are - but again this has never been a problem for any of our guests. I have a 5 year old daughter and when she was younger I pushed her pram, and later her buggy up the hill with no great difficulty but again I am sorry that this has caused you a problem. Your deposit and a ‘without prejudice’ compensation payment has been sent to you along with a full explanation our investigation. I would like to apologise for the time that it came back to you with a response but I was spending a lot of my time commuting between Cardiff and Tenby to supervise the complete removal and re-decoration of our master en-suite shower room and downstairs bathroom. To finish I would just like to say that we have set up Twmwarlwm as a family home and have reflected this in the comfort and standard of furnishings and extras that we provide – again you are the first person in the 5 years that we have opened our doors to the public who feel that our home is ‘nothing special’. I trust that this clarifies your review of our home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chweezy
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday home”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for long weekend with family and friends. House was ideal plenty of room in kitchen /dining room with a lovely Lounge to relax in overlooking garden. Bedrooms were huge with so many bathrooms and showers. Plenty of parking spaces for at least 3 cars.
We walked into Tenby several times but after an evening at the Plantaganet house Restaurant caught Taxis home.Ideally suited to explore West Wales drove to Bosherton and St David's easily.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic house, fantastic place!”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If I owned this house I'd never leave! Its a lovely house that has been beautifully decorated and finished and if the weathers bad then you can amuse yourself by playing on the Wi or having ago at one of the numerous games that are there at your amusement. I will definitely be going back in the summer when hopefully it won't be so wet and windy and I can see the sights!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevandsh...
Tortola
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second to None....”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about Twmbarlwm ticks all the boxes.

The house itself is magnificent. Well secluded and private, spacious and modern with beautifully large rooms, incredibly well equipped which made our stay even more enjoyable. The decking and garden were fantastic at all times of the day and totally private.

It's location being a short stroll into Tenby is just perfect. The walk in the evening into Tenby for dinner was just enough to feel you'd earned your pint of Brains and a good meal, and the stroll back was enough to feel you'd walked it all off again.

The price is we paid was more than competitive and once we arrived at the property felt it was worth every penny. The welcome pack was excellent and a nice touch.

We highly recommend this to anyone visiting Tenby and at any time of the year too as It is one of the most beautiful places in the UK.

We will definitely be going back.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too much to list
Liked least: We should have booked longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2014
Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate your comments. Regards Lisa Edwards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$235
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing