We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”

Tenby Museum and Art Gallery
Ranked #9 of 45 things to do in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tenby Museum is the oldest independent Museum in Wales.Founded in 1878, Tenby Museum and Art Gallery is situated in part of the medieval castle, overlooking Castle Beach and Caldey Island. Permanent displays include archaeology, geology, the natural, maritime and social history of the town and South Pembrokeshire.The permanent collection included art works by – Augustus John, Nina Hamnett, Edward J. Head, David Jones, John Piper, Kyffin Williams and many others.In the Second Gallery – A programme of frequently changing exhibitions. Please see website for further details.Other attractions include:‘The Story of Tenby Gallery’ tracing the history of Tenby from earliest recorded times, a Victorian Antiquarian’s Study and lots of things for the family to do including activity trails and a CBBC Relic Trail.Facilities Audio ToursCoffee ShopPartial Disabled AccessToilets with baby changing facilities
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I left this museum knowing a lot more about Gwen and Augustus John. It is a lovely little museum in a fantastic setting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizzi1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    85
    27
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
reading
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“well worth a visit, and ticket lasts a year”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

a lovely well presented museum, interesting, with an art gallery on the side,lots of fossils, and a video of tenby history,

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jaypauldini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice little museum with a great view”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is quiet small but includes an art gallery and the normal items referring to the history of Tenby. There are various sections of interest to children and the normal childrens' interest sheet is available. There is a small café in the front of the museum with a wonderful view of the beach. The lady on reception was particularly helpful and for this reason we would return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BucksJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Small but beautifully formed - Tenby Museum and Gallery is a must visit for anyone in town. We visited yesterday and had a superb experience. The artifacts and art collection were exquisite - truly excellent as well as locally distinctive. The welcome from people involved at the Museum was second to none... from the lovely lady managing reception to the interesting conversation with talented artist-in-resident Lee Phillips.

Our only (relative) sadness was our lack of time and that we only 'discovered' it on our last day. A wonderful independent museum and gallery that deserves everyone's support. At £4 for an entry ticket that lasts a year and allows you to visit as many times as you wish - that's rare value-for-money these days. We will be back without a doubt!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Callaghan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very informative, my son enjoyed the quiz and the receptionist very friendly and helpful. Great views of the bay.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DollyH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tenby Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Tenby Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing