We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overnight stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very elegant building and surroundings, quite easy to find, parking is ok, the room in the coach house park was very nice, amazing super king bed, fantastic sleep, the main house was very elegant and staff very polite, not cheap mind, we did not have dinner there, the menu was as to be expected, good selection but again on the more expensive side.
a little out from Tenby town, a short drive. would stay again. you pay for what you get, on looking for rooms on the bank holiday time, all was booked, being £150 a night this hotel is the last to be booked, breakfast was very nice with views of the sea, breathtaking.

Room Tip: if busy the car park at the rear can be a little tight, an nervous driver might be a little panicked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajon3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    29
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
130
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked three nights with dinner here and paid a premium (£160 b and b) based on some positive reviews on this site. The hotel is in a beautiful building with sea views from the lounge and dining rooms, and despite having to enter the car park through the narrowest entrance ever, first impressions were positive. However our room, number 3, though spacious, was in need of refurbishment, and the bathroom (wonky toilet seat included) even more so. The toiletries were of the cheapest kind, and there was not even a box of tissues or other bathroom items provided. There is a small bar where we were served by someone who didn't seem to know much about the job and gave us drinks with no coasters so they were soon sliding around the table. I asked for a wine list, which they found after a good search, but it was full of predominantly French wines at £30 to £40 plus which seemed expensive for this level of restaurant. The food for dinner was ok, but the crockery, cutlery and glasses were cheap and ordinary and the restaurant lacked the ambience which it ought to have. Service was cheerful if generally unprofessional. Wi-fi was available but only worked within a few yards of reception.
We voiced our concerns to the new owners who seemed to agree with some of them, though to date they have not implemented any changes.The hotel definitely has the potential to be a lovely place but as yet does not justify the high prices charged.

Room Tip: Our room was large with a comfy bed but had no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AlanSchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biff60, Owner at Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Here at Penally Abbey we were all so disappointed to read this review and are so sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. At the time of your visit we had been in residence for just a month so this did come as quite a blow. On the morning of your departure nothing was mentioned about your issues with the hotel and service and your bill was paid without complaint.
We felt it crucially important to honour all existing bookings inherited from the previous owners prior to undertaking any noisy renovations and alterations to the building. Furthermore, it is currently peak season and the hotel is full so it would be inappropriate to do so.
To date we have had many extremely positive comments and encouragement for the future so to receive such a negative one such as yours so early on in our ownership certainly makes us sharply aware that not everyone has the same expectations and for this we can only apologise and endeavour to work harder to bring our services and offerings to an even higher level. We will take all your comments on board as constructive and useful for the future.
Re Wifi- as Penally Abbey is an important and historic listed building with extremely thick walls we do admit that Wifi is at times intermittent. However, we are looking into improving this in the near future.
I do feel that it must be said that despite your being very unhappy you were at times unfortunately rude, dismissive and offhand to our staff which we do find a little upsetting. Our staff work very hard to make our guests as comfortable and relaxed as possible during our stay.
With regard to the toiletries when you mentioned the cheapness of them you were offered a selection of our new Floris samples which you accepted.
However, we really hope that we can welcome you here again and that your stay with us will be a much happier one. With warmest wishes to you both from the team at Penally Abbey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was a very relaxing short trip experience. The credit goes to the new owners of the place who managed everything really well despite a few temporary glitches. I will give all the credit to the new owners for their kind hospitality, especially, Saskia, Lucas, Melanie and Megan, Patsy in the dining area and of course the very wonderful chefs for providing one of the best dinners. I must admit that everyone took extra care of our 10 month old daughter and all her needs were well looked after from her bedding (very nice and clean travel cot was provided) to her special mini breakfast prepared every morning.

We also want to thank Saskia for guiding us with invaluable information on what extra could be done around during our stay and her advice definitely helped us explore more than we had envisaged.

The rooms were in good condition and spacious, although we are pretty certain that the upcoming refurbishment will improvise it even further with a more charming uplift to this already wonderful place.. We enjoyed our morning breakfasts which were well prepared and delicious to eat. The hotel is also very central and is a perfect abode to explore Pembrokeshire.

We will definitely come back !!

If anyone is going to explore Pembrokeshire or around I highly recommend the hotel to anyone.

Sid

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bagadbilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biff60, Owner at Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thankyou so much for taking time to write a few words about your stay with us. We are all so pleased you had such a great time. All the staff adored your gorgeous little daughter and we can't wait for you all to return so we can see how she's grown!
It's so encouraging for us to have so many positive reviews so early in our ownership so thankyou for that too.
We look forward to seeing you all again soon here at Penally Abbey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights mid week and had a wonderful, relaxing stay! The new owners and staff couldn't do more to make you feel at home; the rooms are spacious and luxurious and the sea views are to die for. We ate in the restaurant on one night and couldn't fault the food either, the menu is extensive and focuses on fresh, local produce cooked perfectly.
We can't wait to return next year to see the renovations that are due to happen in the New Year and wish Lucas and Melanie the best of luck.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms with a sea view: 5, 6, 7 & 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biff60, Owner at Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thankyou both so much for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and can't wait to begin renovations in the New Year so that we can enhance this beautiful building even more. We look forward to your return to see it all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wixford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here for one night in the gorgeous Room 5 with the kids - the new owners couldn't have done enough for us - the Chefs are to be congratulated on one of the best meals we have had for a while and the wine list was superb. Can't wait to see what the forthcoming improvements and renovations may bring but we shall certainly return to see - good luck both! PS: watch the tight car park - I didn't :( Tenby is delightful.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biff60, Owner at Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thankyou both so much for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you all again soon. As new owners we really appreciate the time you've taken to give us such great feedback. It's really encouraging and we hope to improve our service even more during the coming months..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth - Vale of Glamorgan - Wales
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED: My wife and I stayed here for a week - and found it a most agreeable experience. The reception rooms are remarkably attractive – as are the terrace and garden. The staff—who are accommodating and conscientious—made us feel entirely at home. The cuisine is admirable – with a menu that changes daily: with a wide variety of choice. Try the steak and scallops and you will not be disappointed. Wonderfully formal for educated family meals. Breakfasts are excellent and enhanced by the magnificent view of the sea. There is a remarkable wine list for those who appreciate a fine bottle of wine. There is a fine walk to Tenby by the beach below the hotel – which is useful because trying to park in the town is something of a nightmare. The hotel is elegantly situated with marvellous views. The proprietors give the hotel a relaxed yet professional feel: restful replete with period charm. There are numerous castles, historical locations, and wonderful beaches within a short distance. Penally village is charming with a convivial public house: The Cross Inn. Five minutes stroll walk to the railway station and ten minutes’ walk to the beach. It was an excellent base to walk along the Pembrokeshire coastal path

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank il_padrino_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Some people may say that the fabric of the hotel is a little "tired" but this does not detract from the warm welcome, the excellent service and the fabulous food. The breakfast waitress is a gem !
The views across the golf course to the sea are magnificent.
This hotel has just acquired a new owner who realises that some updating is needed. I wish him every success. This is a great place to stay for a short break and is good value considering the great food on offer.

Room Tip: A room with a view across the golf course is worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnandmary2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biff60, Owner at Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thankyou so much. Hugely appreciated on our first day here at Penally Abbey. We hope to welcome you both here again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenby
1.1 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
1.0 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
8.6 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Penally, Tenby SA70 7PY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tenby
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tenby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penally Abbey is a small Country House Hotel and Restaurant situated in an elevated position, adjacent to the the 12th Century church in the pretty floral village of Penally.Penally, is only 1.5mls from the beautiful medieval walled town of Tenby with its cobbled streets, ancient ramparts, picturesque harbour, and long sandy beaches in the heart of the Pembrokeshire Coastal National Park.The 'Abbey' is pretty rather than grand. The rooms are beautifully proportioned and sympathetically decorated and furnished to compliment the style of the building. Unusual features are the large ogee head doors and windows through which one can see views of Tenby Golf Course, Caldey Island and across the bay toward the Gower peninsular.We serve unpretentious food in beautiful surroundings. Our staff are friendly but not too intrusive. Our rooms are warm, clean and comfortable. We are only 800yds from Tenby's South Beach. But most importantly we offer the warmest welcome in Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penally Abbey Tenby
Hotel Penally Abbey
Penally Abbey Hotel And Restaurant Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing