We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at great price”
Review of Heywood Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heywood Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Having read a few of the other reviews i am not sure if we stayed in the same hotel.
My partner and I stayed in the 4 poster room and it was absolutely wonderful. The furniture looked the part and gave the room a grand feel and the jacuzzi bath and power shower were fantastic, everything worked and plenty of hot water. We had a balcony to the front of the room and although the view of the car park wasn't the greatest it was nice to sit out in the sun or open the double doors and let the fresh air in. The pool was fine, bit short for any lane swimming but a nice pleasure pool and the jacuzzi was nice and hot afterwards. Gym wasn't particular well equipped and could do with a free weight section. The food was fantastic, 3 course meal every evening and great breakfast all using locally sourced produce and good sized portions. The staff were also incredible polite and helpful.
Tenby was also a fantastic town with plenty to do and lovely beaches. I will be staying at the Heywood again next time we visit Tenby

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

639 - 645 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

When we turned up first impressions were a pleasant one until we entered the room, firstly the heating would'nt working and then we tried to run the bath to find no hot water, we had to wait two hours before the owners son turned up and without doubt the most arrogant man i've ever had to deal with and should never work in the hotel trade.
He went up the attic and said the flame had gone out so to wait 20 mins and have another go upon this it was still running luke warm but he said that he would be happy with this and it was us being fussy, i then asked to see the owner and was told he was in at six and would be straight up so we waited until 6.30pm and then went to resepsion to find the girl running to to find him, he then offered us the last room in the hotel and it was'nt what we wanted as we upgraded to the four poster room and that one was box standard.
That was enough for us and we cut our losses and went home and lost our money and he said we sould have been happy with the room offered.
Would never go near there again.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevencoldbusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodMount, Owner at Heywood Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Whilst I am extremely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us I would like to clarify some of your points:

1. The heating in all our rooms is conditioned air and in each room next to the remote control is a set of basic instructions on the units operation. The unit will only work as pointed out to the guest when the button marked "On" is pressed first. After I had shown the operation of this unit to the guest the room heating came on.

2. The guest in question booked through a Kgb deal they were upgraded free of charge to a 4 poster bedroom. The guest never paid or requested an upgrade, it was done so by me at my sole discretion FOC.

3. The guest checked in at 3.30 pm the water fault reported at 4.48 pm and the hotels maintenance man came in at 5.40pm to fix the hot water problem in the room. The boiler had tripped off, was re set and the guest told it will take about 30 mins for the tank to reach temperature. We apologised for this and offered an executive room for them to use if they did not want to wait.

I am sorry that the hotels bolier failed it was not intentional, the problem was fixed in under 1 hr and alternatives solutions offered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My wife and I visited on a KGB voucher. Photos in reception show people like "time Team" have stayed there. We found ourselves upgraded to the 4-poster bed room. OK so far.
The bed was comfortable, if unusual in that it used sheets, blankets and a cover rather than duvet.
We went to the pool (Jacuzzi still broken) and found it to be very cool. The changing rooms had lockers that couldn't be locked (no keys in the male room) and freezing showers without any shower gel. When we went to reception (as we had to return our towels to them). Told them about the lack of shower gel, but they didn't comment. On the lack of hot water, we were advised that we should have let the shower run for 20 -25 minutes in order to et hot water. Clearly a stupid suggestion.
So, needing to shower we went back to our room to use the one integrated into the bath (that was supposed to be a jakuzzi for 2)! Surpised to find that the shower would not work at all, so it was get dressed and go back to reception. The nice lady came up to check we were not pushing wrong buttons, we were not. She promised to get it fixed the next day. When we came back the next evening, nothing had been repaired, and there was no note to explain why not.
In the meantime we spotted the fact that the "luxury spa bath" in our suite was missing one large knob, and another was falling off.
In the room theer was a TV, a video player and a DVD player. All had a Scart lead that was not plugged into any of the others.
Morning 1 saw us in the reataurant for the included breakfast. The glass of orange juice amounted to half a small glass each. The cooked part of breakfast was very good, but then came the toast. For two people we were given five half slices. The outside two were good. The middle three were burnt to a cinder.
You will see others commenting on the chilly pool, it seems that the hotel doesn't listen. Wallpaper is peeled in places. The small room where our wardrobes were was missing a lampin the one light fitting, so they don't check anything themselves at all. This hotel could be good,but something just seems to have gone astray. We will not be going back.
We wouldlike to know how they still can claim to have 4 stars. Are they ever checked out?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stevetupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodMount, Owner at Heywood Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and we as a team are extremely proud of our 4 star grading. A grading we have achieved for over a decade and are inspected every year, our last grading being 28th February 2012.

In answer to your review I would like to clarify that you were told at check-in that 1 of our 2 boilers had failed and as such the pool and Jacuzzi were cooler than normal. Their was also a notice on the way into the leisure suite confirming the problem and the fact we were waiting for the delivery and installation of a new boiler.

This has now taken place and we are very sorry for any guests that found the water temperature too cold. We don't supply shower gel or similar products in the leisure suite?

The spa bath in your review did require a new shower fixing and please accept our apologies again for it not working. The part was ordered straightaway but due to the weekend would not be delivered until Monday. It has since been fixed and the whole bath works correctly.

With reference to your other complaints such as wall paper please appreciate the maintenance of this hotel is a daily operation and we do our very best to ensure every detail is maintained.

With reference to your other points if they were so my apologies all you ever need to do is inform us and we can change your toast, fill your juice glass fuller and insert any plugs that you require.

We work very hard to a set standard and we take a lot of time to ensure our guests are happy. It is both irresponsible of a guest whom has no understanding of hotel grading to question the very practice. Please if you have a complaint tell us, but don’t make statements that are not true.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Lovely bedroom, spotlessly clean, plenty of space, good bathroom.
Comfortable indoor reading room as well as outdoor seating.
Delicious breakfast and evening meal. Pleasant and helpful dining-room staff.
However, our visit was marred by the fact that on both days the pool was too cold to be comfortable, and the jacuzzi was freezing on the first day and not working at all on the second. We had chosen this hotel because we particularly wanted a pool and jacuzzi, and had actually checked by phone a couple of days beforehand that they were in good working order. While we accept that one of the two might have gone wrong by accident, the receptionist didn't seem particularly bothered when I reported the faults and things were worse not better the next day, with no comment or apology from the receptionist.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsLlewllyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

we stayed on a groupon offer,room was comfortable, spacious and very clean, staff were very friendly at all times.
Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and food was piping hot.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquie728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Arrived to Heywood Mount in the Drizzly Welsh Rain. Check in took seconds and we were shown to a large spacious double/Twin room on the ground floor. The room was very clean, with large twin beds. There was an outside seating area outside the room in a court yard which I imagine would be lovely in the Summer! Super easy to use Air Conditioning system meant our room was nice and toasty in a few mintues- and they had already warmed it for us in the day.

We have no complaints at all with the hotel!. The room was perfect, and very quiet. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant on our first night and had the £20 per Person 3 course meal (with supplements for the steak etc). The meal was huge and delicous! My partner had duck cooked to perfection and I had a huge steak and chips. Breakfast in the mornings were perfect. Cooked to order Fry ups/ eggs etc. Really really good! Better than a buffet!

The Spa was a very nice touch and we used it both evenings before dinner to unwind after a long day walking! All very clean. Small sauna, Jacuzzi and Pool, but there were only a couple of other people in there at the same time, so plenty of room for all. The gym actually looked brilliant- but we didn't try it.

The hotel location is a short, but pleasent walk into Tenby Town. 10-15 minutes max! Only slightly hair raising part of the walk, is that the hotel is located at the start of a very thin lane, with no pavement for the first few metres, be careful with little ones when crossing the road here! Tenby is a small lovely town, very easy to get your barings. Absolutely stunning beaches. We were very lucky with the Weather on the Saturday- blazing sunshine, in February!

As for places to eat in town, we ate at the Blue Ball on Upper Frog street, One of the best meals we have had in a long time. Highly reccomend it. And for things to do around Tenby... head straight to Stackpole in your car... half an hour drive away. Lakes, river and a stunning beach! Just beautiful....

Highly reccomend Tenby and Heywood Mount hotel for a relaxing escape!

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steph_Turley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just returned from a short break and have to say, what a wonderful experience. From checkin with the extremely friendly staff to an amazing four poster bedroom. The spa was clean and tidy, if a little cold in the jacuzzi. Our evening meal has to rate as one of the finest we have expeeinced for some while. Well presented, full of flavour and just a wonderful experience. Thanks to the staff for making the weekend special.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
462 reviews
0 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.8 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#6 of 23 in Tenby
677 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Spa Hotel

Address: Heywood Lane, Tenby SA70 8DA, Wales (Formerly Heywood Mount)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#3 Family Hotel in Tenby
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £71 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heywood Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heywood Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heywood Mount Tenby
Heywood Mount Hotel Tenby
Heywood Spa Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing