We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heywood Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heywood Spa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

My group visited this hotel last week-end on a kgb deal,We arrived at 3.30pm and had booked in and unpacked by 3.40pm.The rooms we had, 5 and 14 were both huge with large bathrooms with plenty of fluffy towels,we also had flat screen t.v's.We ate both nights at the hotel on the deal which was £20 for 3 courses, it was 5* food lovely and hot and very well presented,the staff were lovely which always helps with your holiday.
We used the pool,hot tub and sauna,the pool was quite cold but that was because i used the hot tub first,every thing about our few days away was perfect and we're going to return to Tenby and this hotel soon.

Room Tip: If you like a lying don't have room 5 as from about 6.45 it can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    141
    50
    18
    17
See reviews for
146
358
12
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here for a weekend on a kgb deal. What makes the hotel is the excellent quality of the food and the friendly and relaxed restaurant staff. The menu is varied and features lots of local produce. The mussels I had as a starter were the best I've had anywhere, and I followed this with duck in a cointreau sauce, which was cooked to perfection. The breakfast menu is equally impressive, with the usual full enlish and welsh (with laverbread and cockles) supplemented by gems such as smoked salmon with scrambled egg. I had smoked haddock and poached egg, with two large pieces of fish which would have been fine for a main course, supplemented by toast, croissants and fruit. All portions sizes were generous. There is a deal on evening meals, which gives you any three courses off the a la carte menu for £20 if booked by 4pm on the day. There are supplements for some of the mains, up to £11 extra if you choose filet steak, for instance, but still good value considering the quality of the cooking. The wording describing this deal on the kgb voucher is a little misleading and confusing, as it mentions a 30% discount on menu prices, but really should read "up to 30%".

We had a bottle of Prosecco waiting for us in the room, and a complementary glass of wine with our dinner the first night.

Our basic room was clean and comfortable, with what felt and looked like a new carpet. The only negative comment is that the bathroom fittings were showing signs of wear, although again everything was clean. The wall mounted fan heater was slightly noisy, but I discovered it was set to high power! There are hidden buttons behind a slider on the remote control which control the fan speed.

The hotel is in a quiet area about a mile from the town centre, and Tenby is a lovely place to visit, with lots of good walks and beaches.

Room Tip: Our basic room could have been a tiny bit bigger, but the bed was large and comfortable. Perhaps con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights in April on the KGB deal and had a really pleasant stay. We took our two year old son and all the staff at the hotel were welcoming of toddlers and made us feel really welcome. The waiter in particular was fantastic and couldn't do enough for us and made us feel very at home in the restaurant. We upgraded on the first night to half board and ate in the restaurant. We were really pleasantly surprised by the quality and standard of the meal and it proved excellent value for money. Both the breakfast and evening menus included plenty of local ingredients and we liked that the breakfast was cooked fresh to order.
We used the spa on the first day of our stay, facilities were good although the pool was slightly cold but actually very refreshing once you got used to it.
Bedroom was a good size and en suite was adequate. The reason I didn't give an extra star was simply the decor was getting a little tired and could do with updating. However, this is a minor point and the overall atmosphere of the hotel made up for this shortcoming.
We had a great stay, despite rainy weather, and thought Tenby was a lovely resort. Beach was fantastic. KGB is well worth the money and the booking system very straightforward.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyN27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

We bought a KGB deal for two nights B&B. When booking with the hotel we paid for an upgraded room. The room was spacious but could have benefited from a little tlc, also the walls were quite thin and we could hear the people next door nattering most of the night. The hotel has an option to upgrade to DB&B for £20 per person per night provided that you book before 16.00 on that day. We took this option and I must say that the food was first class, a good menu using locally sourced ingredients. The Breakfast was also lovely with a good choice and excellent service by the staff. The only down side for me was that the communal areas were rather cold, not helped by the dreadful wet weather. Great value for money with the KGB deal however I am unsure that I would pay the hotel rate.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Biwts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

i have no complaints about my stay , good value for money ,

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmedhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in mid April and would happily recommend it.

The standard room was well supplied with plenty of space and lovely private balcony or patio overlooking a small garden and terrace.

Staff were always friendly and helpful and particular thanks to the restaurant staff and kitchen - breakfast was delicious with a wide menu all cooked to perfection.

The only improvement I would recommend is to the spa - the changing rooms are a little basic but otherwise we happily used the gym, hot tub and pool.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

As a Christmas present for my wife, I booked a weekend away. We decided on Tenby and by pure luck we found this place. The staff were outstanding. The facilities were fab and the food in the resteraunt was excellent. I would go back any time!

Room Tip: MAke sure you upgrade for the four poster bed and jaccuzzi bath : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenby
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.8 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
2.5 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Spa Hotel

Property: Heywood Spa Hotel
Address: Heywood Lane, Tenby SA70 8DA, Wales (Formerly Heywood Mount)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#7 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Heywood Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Heywood Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heywood Mount Tenby
Heywood Mount Hotel Tenby
Heywood Spa Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing