We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families or Couples”
Review of Heywood Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heywood Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed for almost a week at the Haywood Mount , with our two children 10 and 13and we all had a great time. The hotel is a short drive or a long walk form the beach , but is situated in a quiet spot. The staff are excellent and cannot do enough for you . Breakfast may not be a buffet style but service is attentive and there is as much food as you can eat. I would like to suggest to the manager that a vegetarian alternative is offered to the meat , but the food was reallly well cooked.
The room we stayed in was number 14 a family room , cleaned well every day and just what we were looking for. There was a wedding on when we arrived ( the hotel had contacted us to inform us of this), we heard no noise and the rooms are nice and quite.
We paid the full price , we were not on any deal and left the hotel feeling that we had good value for money and that we would return . My kids loved the small pool and often mentioned the nice staff.
i do hope that the manager will show his staff this review as many are quick to point out faults but less quick to say thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyW500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed at the Heywoodmount for 1 night in May. I have to say that the dining room & bar staff were great, poilte and provided the standard of service that i would expect from a 4* hotel. However the following let the Hotel down. When I was checking out I pointed out to the Reception that the Bathroom door upper hinge was very lose, the towel stand in the bathroom was quite rusted as was the heated towel rail, the bathroom window had clearly suffered at some point from condensation which had lead to a large accumulation of black grouting and dirt in the corners of the windows, the beadroom overall looked tired and in desperate need of a coat of paint, with scuff marks on the walls (not just a few, they were every where). The main areas of the hotel looked great but the room I had looked as if the last time it saw fresh paint / wall paper was 10 years ago. Now all of this was an observation to reception. I was under the misguided idea that they would wish to know if one of their rooms was not up to scratch. The reply I got from the receptionist was "We know about the bathroom door and the handy man has been told and is due in today, I will make a note of the rest". The receptionist then turned her back on me, completely dismissing me. If a Hotel is 4* and the room is not of 4* standard then it should not be given to a guest. This hotel is not one that I would wish to inflict on anyone and in my oppinion with the attitude of the receptionist is one to be avioded. It is a 4* hotel that does not have 4* rooms, does not have 4* receptionist.

Room Tip: Best avoided really, there are better guest houses & hotels in the same price bracket in the are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed two nights on KGB deal, lovely large family room allocated although there were only two of us. Bathroom was quite large with good shower and heated towel rail which considering hot weather was really hot all weekend. The only fault with room was the positioning of the large flat screen TV which was mounted on a wall at right angles to the double bed making it virtually unviewable from the left side of the D/B. Breakfast was excellent and it made a pleasant change to have full waiter service. Hotel, as its name suggests is at the top of a hill and quite a walk up hill from beach/town centre but as a taxi to/from town was only £3, it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. Didn't use spa facilities, but indoor pool and jacuzzi looked very inviting and towels were provided free of charge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackinmalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed at the Heywood Mount for 2 nights short break early May. Room was the classic category exactly as seen on the website pictures. A large nicely furnished room with a very comfortable bed, a 2 seater sofa, flat screen tv, and large en-suite bathroom, ticked all the right boxes for a comfortable stay. We had breakfast on 2 mornings, really good selection on the menu and each day the english and welsh breakfast was served cooked fresh and hot. We also had a bar meal one night, ribeye steaks with chunky chips, mushroom, onion rings, tomato and these were of a very good standard too. The staff were all well mannered with a friendly approach without being overbearing.
We used the Heywood Mount as a base to explore further afield into South Pembrokeshire, so were not particularly bothered that it is located inland from the town and harbour area of Tenby, and It suited our needs perfectly for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mxcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Spent 2 nights as part of a Groupon deal. Hotel has an attractive approach - large lawn with tables for guests. The room was a reasonable size with wardrobe, dressing table, 2 armchairs, small table and double bed. Good sized flat TV with Freeview. Beer/wine fridge - NOT minibar - a welcome addition. I would have liked a few more drawers for storage.
En suite bathroom well appointed with large walk-in shower. No bath.
The Meadows Restaurant has a good choice of interesting food, especially fish. The rib eye steak was excellent - as good a steak as I have ever had. Breakfast had a similar range of choices - full English and Welsh (lava bread and cockle pate), ham, salmon and kippers to name a few. The staff were welcoming and helpful.
There is a nice looking pool and jacuzzi alongside a small gym. I didn't use these as the weather was nice so we spent our time visiting some of the many attractions in the area.
The hotel is away from the beach, up a steep hill, so a car or taxi would be needed. There is Tenby United Rugby ground next to the hotel - there was not a match on when we were there but I wouldn't think there would be any problems for hotel guests.

Room Tip: There are executive suites available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarianBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

A reasonable hotel with average facilities. Rooms ok, pool and gym small,restaurant ok. Food was good and ok price,some staff were very friendly other were hard work.this hotel is quite a walk from the harbour and beach so no sea views.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vertigobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My group visited this hotel last week-end on a kgb deal,We arrived at 3.30pm and had booked in and unpacked by 3.40pm.The rooms we had, 5 and 14 were both huge with large bathrooms with plenty of fluffy towels,we also had flat screen t.v's.We ate both nights at the hotel on the deal which was £20 for 3 courses, it was 5* food lovely and hot and very well presented,the staff were lovely which always helps with your holiday.
We used the pool,hot tub and sauna,the pool was quite cold but that was because i used the hot tub first,every thing about our few days away was perfect and we're going to return to Tenby and this hotel soon.

Room Tip: If you like a lying don't have room 5 as from about 6.45 it can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.8 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.9 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tenby
673 reviews
1.0 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Spa Hotel

Address: Heywood Lane, Tenby SA70 8DA, Wales (Formerly Heywood Mount)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#7 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £82 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heywood Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heywood Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heywood Mount Tenby
Heywood Mount Hotel Tenby
Heywood Spa Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing