We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and bad”
Review of Heywood Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heywood Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here 20 and 21 Dec in the Richard Nash Suite, which was lovely. We had a king size four poster bed and the room was a good size with a jacuzzi, which unfortunately, we couldnt get to work. The heating was via an air conditioning unit which was quite noisy. On returning to our room after a day out, we found that it had not been cleaned, bed made or coffee replenished. Also, our card keys had been cancelled so would not open the door. We reported the problem to reception, who apologised, but as the manager was unavailable, either then or next day on check out, no recompense was offered. Breakfast was cooked to order, but the welsh breakfast option was not available as apparently the fishmonger had not yet delivered the lava bread, which considering it was gone 9am and breakfast finished at 10, was very disappointing. The other breakfast options were very good though. Drinks from the bar were very expensive, and the seating area lacked ambiance. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The decor is very dated and remains in the 1980s, but it is very clean and tidy. This hotel is about 1 mile from the town, therefore a taxi is neccessary for a night out, although they did only charge £4 eachway. The hotel itself has ample free carparking. We stayed here on a KGB deal, but would not do so if we had to pay the standard room rate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

We just had our wedding at the Heywood mount, We cannot thank the staff enough for their help in organising our wedding. The food was of a high standard and plentiful. The Suite we had for our wedding night was very clean and of a high standard. all staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank si1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here 05.12.13 to 07.12.13 and we had an amazing time!! the four poster bed room (Richard Nash Suite) was awesome and the Jacuzzi bath in our room was AMAZING!!! didn't use the spa in the hotel as figured why bother when I have one in my room that I can drink wine in lol!!! the staff were lovely (if on the sparse side though it was mid week) we didn't eat evening meals in the hotel as there are so many lush places to eat in Tenby!! the normandie, the buccaneer inn and the hope and anchor are well nice and reasonably priced :) Tenby itself is full of kitsch shops in which I spent a small fortune and I even visited the butchers before I came home to stock up on local pork and mutton!! the breakfasts which we did eat in the hotel were delicious! none of it is buffet style (I don't see this as a negative as some do on here) which for me is a massive plus! the waiter staff cant do enough for you and don't mind you asking for more of things. I would return here in heartbeat and cant wait to visit you guys again :)

Room Tip: the Richard Nash room was lush! but the room next to us had a balcony so ask for that if you fancy i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I booked this hotel for a Christmas party including accommodation. I felt from the moment I booked back in January to the party in December the whole event was very disorganised. I had received no emails or receipts to show any deposits made, so on leaving and paying my bill, I was charged for the full amount until I pointed out what had already been paid.
I was never given any information about arrival or meal times, when enquiring about this I was told that it would all be in the `party pack` which I never received.
I was also told that there would be a log fire , where we could sit around with pre dinner drinks,
not only was there no fire but a member of the staff said , "who told you that ?" that they have not lit that fire for years !
Food was average, although the rooms were very nice I will not be recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasperCasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

TenbyandDistrict LionsClub enjoyed a superb dinner meeting at Heywood Mount hotel on Monday 25th November 2013. Excellent presentation, value, service and awesome food. Thank you to all staff both front of house and kitchen for one of our most enjoyable dinner meetings ever. Like I said, great value but no compromises on quality!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueboySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We booked in on a KGB 3 night deal, and stayed in a normal room. It was fine with small flat screen TV, and air con to take the chill out of the room. Had meals on Friday and Sunday, both were good and great value if you opt for the £22.00 deal. There was only 2 staff on and what we thought was the head waiter, was really friendly, and accomodating. My partner is a veggy, and the chef and waiter ensured her salmon dishes were top notch. She is really fussy, and to have the same meal on both nights shows how good it was! Couple of down sides, a bit far to walk to town in autumn/winter, and the bar was dead, seemed to be only a few residents using it. Saturday night was out as a wedding party took over.
Would we go back, yes if another good 3 night deal came up ,but not at full advertised price.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nikonpictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and myself stayed at Heywood Mount for 4 nights for my husband's 50th birthday. The staff were lovely and the food excellent. But, we upgraded to a four-poster room and this is where we were let down. The 'exclusive' toiletries that were promised were partly used when we arrived and not replaced during our stay there. The bathrobes promised with the upgrade were not existent and the bathroom had ha huge black damp patch on the ceiling. What disappointed us was that we had paid extra for a bit of luxury and did not get it. The spa was adequate when we were eventually able to use it. The pool apparently should be a constant temperature of 28 but it was no way near this. It was far too cold to even get in. On our last full day the pool eventually was warm enough to swim in and the jacuzzi was working.

Would I stay again? No, we paid ofr 4 star luxury but only got 3 star.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwendolina44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
462 reviews
0 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.8 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tenby
675 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Spa Hotel

Address: Heywood Lane, Tenby SA70 8DA, Wales (Formerly Heywood Mount)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#3 Family Hotel in Tenby
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £71 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heywood Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heywood Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heywood Mount Tenby
Heywood Mount Hotel Tenby
Heywood Spa Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing