We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place!”
Review of Heywood Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heywood Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is a fantastically equipped hotel in close proximity to the town. Both the staff and service is outstanding and faultless. The new head chef is really setting the standards by providing such beautiful, locally sourced food! would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Tenby!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elementswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

After Tenby winning a prestigious tourism accolade, I couldn't resist taking the opportunity to spend a night taking in the sights. After researching via the internet, Heywood Mount hotel and its exciting refurbishment seemed like an ideal choice, I couldn't have been any happier with my decision. On arrival, the exterior was a most welcoming sight consisting of a clean, tidy drive way with ample parking. What a pretty looking hotel! When checking in, the attitude, generosity and friendliness of the staff spoke for itself; very accommodating and couldn't do enough to ensure that I was happy and settled for the night. The rooms were maintained to a high standard and with the vision of the management they will be even more impressive. The menu created by the newly employed chef made me spoilt for choice and it was lovely to have the opportunity to eat locally sourced food. The owners were a pleasure to be in the company of- Claire and Peter have great ambition, drive and imagination for how they intend to further transform the hotel and in the short time that they have had the hotel, it is clear to see that this hotel will be a diamond!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ann_marieV1674SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

J newman.
Port Talbot
After a lovely weekend my girlfriend and I would highly recommend the Heywood Mount.
Being very close to Tenby and all that Tenby has to offer.
We had a lovely welcome from Claire and her husband Pete a very friendly and comfortable stay with the food excellent.
I would recommend this venue and will certainly be returning in the future.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just had the opportunity of a tour around Heywood mount, refurbishment is going well and making excellent improvements, met the new director Claire she was excellent and very happy to help, looking forward to the re-opening and trying out the restaurant with the new head chef and menus.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
6  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were due to stay on a KGB on March 28th and 29th 2014.We had been trying for days to reach the hotel by phone to confirm the details of the booking but the caretaker answered and said that she'd had to turn around 10 guests away who had arrived on the doorstep having made KGB reservations.If you are a KGB purchaser I advise you to contact the support team as I have done today.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank gennierennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireNutty, Owner at Heywood Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Heywood Mount Hotel & Spa, located in picturesque Tenby is now under new management and the owners are busy breathing new life and zest into the place; it's already alive preparing for a soft opening on the 23rd May 2014!

Minor refurbishment has already started to make sure that the current facilities are up to the very high standards expected of our guests old and new. We expect the Summer & Autumn months to be very busy given the new ideas being introduced gradually over this period. Major refurbishment of the Restaurant, Reception and Spa will commence early 2015 to ensure Heywood Mount Hotel is a top class venue to both residents and non-residents.

In the meantime, telephone bookings are being taken NOW. Please contact Lindsey on 01834 842087 to make an upcoming reservation.

We would also highly recommend that you make at least one dinner reservation if you are thinking of dining in our restaurant; our Head Chef, a key member of the new management team, has already got a very high reputation for serving up high quality food. New and exciting menus have been prepared and will be screened on the website shortly.

Your business is very important to us. Our new and friendly team are highly trained and committed to ensure that your stay at Heywood Mount is a memorable occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Claire Nutty
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

After a horrific drive down on a dreary Friday evening we found the hotel easily, were able to park in their substantial car park, and were checked in within minutes to a 4 poster suite. We had this 2 night break on a groupon offer, but were pleasantly surprised with the suite we were allocated, as whilst it is in need of some updating ( Jacuzzi bath is in need of some maintenance and some dated fixtures and fittings ) it was a lovely room with a good atmosphere, only minor point was that it was above the bar so you could hear what was going on underneath, though it was incredibly close to the hotel spa also which was a tradeoff that we were willing to make. Again spa was very nice but in need of some TLC in certain areas such as changing rooms but actual facilities were great! Top marks to the staff, very good service and very friendly, really made us feel very welcome and "at home" and we ended up eating in the restaurant both nights as whilst we felt the menu was rather limited the quality and price were really, really good, top marks to the chef and their team, steaks are recommended along with any of the dessert dishes.

Would certainly revisit again the next time we are in the area, though you do need a car to get to Tenby as its a bit of a walk! Great location for rugby fans as Tenby RFC is right next door!

Breakfast was a delight and again the staff really made the effort. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spoilsburytoastboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and i decided on a late break just after christmas and were recomended The Heywood Mount in Tenby. How glad we were taking our friends advice, The hotel is perfectly situated only a 10 minute stroll to the heart of Tenby. The room we were given on arrival was the Vergo Suite,it was fantastic,4 poster bed,jacuzzi,seperate changing area,very large TV and a lovely balcony with great views,what more can you ask for. So clean aswell. My wife and i have weekend breaks quite often through the year and have stayed in some lovely places,this hotel didnt disappoint one bit. The food was second to none. The breakfast menu was the best we have seen, the evening meal was super aswell. Value for money,only £22 for a 3 course meal of great quality. Service was second to none,quick,polite and very helpfull. We had a great deal and will definately be returning.

Room Tip: Quietly located hotel so all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.0 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
455 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
421 reviews
1.0 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Spa Hotel

Address: Heywood Lane, Tenby SA70 8DA, Wales (Formerly Heywood Mount)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#7 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £82 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heywood Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heywood Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heywood Mount Tenby
Heywood Mount Hotel Tenby
Heywood Spa Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing