We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly, Clean and Welcoming.”
Review of Heywood Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heywood Spa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
SE wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Friendly, Clean and Welcoming.”
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We booked on one of the hotels late offers, and I have to say had great value for money, we then paid an extra £30 per couple and had the Table de hote evening meal. All in all we had a great stay, as when we arrived we discovered that we had one of the four poster/ double jacuzzi rooms. Admittedly im sure we wouldn't have been so lucky mid season. The staff were very good, polite and accomodating to our requirements. Food was good. We also had the leisure facilities to ourselves. Rooms were very clean and well equipped. After paying a lot more money to stay at Lamphey last year, I am now converted and would want to stay anywhere else in Tenby, Will definately go back!
* * * *

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spannabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    150
    54
    19
    17
See reviews for
161
386
12
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

A little way out of Tenby but we enjoyed the walk into town. The breakfasts were good. We paid £180 per night and had high expectations at that price. TV didnt work due to problems with the receiving station. However, the hotel didnt t warn us, they just left us to spend 20 minutes trying to make it work, then told us afterwards when we complained. It was the only hotel in our Welsh trip where no one asked if we wanted help with our luggage (my partner has just had a hip replacement.) Worse of all, I asked the reception to post some letters for me last Tuesday, first class, one of them was particularly urgent. They assured me they would go the same day. I went to the reception two days later and I saw my letters still there in a pile. If you want to charge these kind of prices, you need to offer an appropriate level of service.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helencoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassel
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

I went to the Heywood Mount to join a course. The hotel was booked on a package by the course provider for 4 nights, the course and lunches were also taken at the hotel.
Overall the hotel was okay, but service level was poor. The room was clean and spacious. There were large towels offered in sufficient quantity.
In my room the toilet didn´t flush properly (wasn´t attended to at all), the soap basin was down from the wall and the TV didn´t work (was repaired on the third day, but the receiving was so bad, I couldn´t bare to watch). At least one other person on the course had broken bathroom facilities, which were not attended to.
The quality of the lunch offered was simple (sandwiches) and although there were at least 3 vegetarians preannounced out of the 8 people staying, mainly focussed on meat. There were no biscuits offered to go with the tea /coffee served with the breaks, on the second day people participating in the course and living locally brought in some biscuits, still none supplied on the coming breaks.
The spa facilities offered were small, the pool could be crossed within two strokes, though not really suited for swimming.
Also the staff seemed to be desperate to earn money, although I had announced on arrival, that I was staying for three nights only, they insisted on charging the amount for the four nights booked.
I´ve been to worse places, but the service offered didn´t make it a great experience around.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Such a great hotel I'm glad I found it! The rooms are very clean and tidy and are a good size too. They have all the amenities and services you would expect and the room service is excellent - free wifi is also a great bonus that will make me go back to this hotel on business again and again. The leisure facilities are also good and it is about a 15min walk into Tenby. The food in Tenby in genral is expensive so if you think the hotel is expensive.......it really isn't! The food is absolutely excellent in my opinion and the breakfast just as good. I really don't have a bad thing to say about this hotel only that they should shut the door of the bar in the evening as the noise did travel up to the rooms. Also stop the smokers from hanging around outside the front of the hotel as this also diturbed me in my room and at breakfast the juice and cereals should be help yourself! Very minor complaints though to be honest and apart from that it's a GREAT hotel and I will be returning both for business and pleasure!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intel1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2009

A stay at Stalag 17 would be preferable to recommending this hotel. The TV remotes didn't work, there were no bathrobes in the rooms (despite the adverts saying there would be), an overpriced mini bar with a poor selection and even if you wanted something there was no cork screw or bottle opener to be found. Children under 3 cannot go into the Spa, but having seen the spa I am grateful for that as it is small, dated and defies the meaning of a relaxing place to unwind. The ** welcome ** book in the room has more rules in it than any 2nd world war prison camp. The location is poor with terrible visibility when leaving the premise onto the road, and is, in my opinion an accident waiting to happen. Additionally there are no footpaths for a good couple of hundred metres when departing the hotel therefore leaving those with children at risk of speeding motorists when taking an evening walk into town, which by the way is a good up and down hill walk of 25 minutes. The prices and food are expensive and the hotel whilst charging £180 per night delivers a third rate service.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casanundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We stayed at the Heywood for a much needed break in February. The hotel does seem to be in need of a bit of a refresh. Our room was fine except for the fact that there was no toilet seat and the mini- bar was far from being well stocked. It was however very clean.

It is obvious that the hotel is trying to get in to the fine dining category and overall we would give it good marks for trying ( A tip - make your own desserts and don't use shop bought items unless you really have too). Presentation was very good but the waitress service was irritating by being obviously over-the-top, especially as she appeared completely disinterested. Breakfast was good but I would strongly recommend not employing a waitress who messes up the sunday breakfast service by still being hung-over ( her own words) - not very professional.

Atmosphere in the "lounge" was to say the least sterile. A couple of faux leather chairs does not make for a great environment. Drink prices were reasonable.

I would also expect a hotel in this day and age to have more than the basic channels available on the TVs.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartynJSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Me & my partner stayed at the Heywood Mount for St Valentines Day. We booked 2 nights in the 4 poster room (the double jacuzzi bath was fantastic) The stay included 2 candle lit dinners, breakfast, full use of spa, bottle of wine and flowers delivered to the room on Valentines Day itself. What amazing value for money - We felt like we were treated like royalty. The food was outstanding, me and my partner often eat out but there food here really was something else. The presentation, taste, etc was just out of this world. Was a lovely touch having the wine & flowers delivered to the room - really made it a special day. The waitresses/waiter were so polite and couldnt do enough for you - you were never kept waiting for your food even on Valentines night itself when they were very busy.

Cant wait to come back here, hopefully in the summer. I suggest the Heywood Mount should do more deals like this throughout the year - I would definately go back!!

First class service and I am already recommending it to my friends/work mates

  • Liked — Food & Rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky_swansea85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.0 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.7 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.8 mi away
Farnham Hotel
Farnham Hotel
#2 of 23 in Tenby
335 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Spa Hotel

Property: Heywood Spa Hotel
Address: Heywood Lane, Tenby SA70 8DA, Wales (Formerly Heywood Mount)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#7 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Heywood Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Heywood Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heywood Mount Tenby
Heywood Mount Hotel Tenby
Heywood Spa Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing