We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food and best value in Tenby!”
Review of Coast - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Coast
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Freshwater West, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best food and best value in Tenby!”
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

My family and I found this gem of a restaurant purely by accident. Modern, light and airy, nautically themed, very family friendly although I did go back with just my hubby and had a lovely romantic meal.

The sort of staff where nothing is too much trouble. Absolutely brilliant wine list but more importantly the good was divine. Everything home made, fresh and cooked to perfection. Very reasonably priced, so much so we have been back time and time again now.

Last tip - anyone looking for a home cooked feeling Sunday lunch should def go (but book in advance as it can be v busy) proper homemade spuds and melt in the mouth beef for about £14-£15 for 3 courses! Seriously! If the barabrith and butter pud is on the menu, get it!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenfig Hill, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We happened upon Coast by accident yesterday - 31/08/12 - having passed many pubs & cafes in which nothing attracted us, we spotted this nicely decorated Bistro & read the menu outside, instantly drawn to the choices in we went.

I had the tortellini - OMG - soo tasty & a good size portion - even for a greedy mare like me lol - loved it, Mum had the beef bourginion which again was a good portion, lots of melt in the mouth meat, really lovely- we shared a side salad which was fresh and crisp with lots of variety, peppers/toms/lettuce/olives/onions/cucumber - very nice indeed - with a glass of rose each cost less than £30, I was so pleased as it was for Mum's Birthday and she really enjoyed it

Staff were lovely, unobtrusive, polite & pleasant

We will be back when down on our hols in 2 weeks

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SianiJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely lunch...”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Iam so pleased with overall ambiance of COAST ,a much needed upmarket place for lunch with a very reasonable cost.Its menu caters for traditional and newer tastes,my companion had a local ham salad and i went for the goats cheese,after asking if it was toasted (it was).It would have been perfect if the olives were better- really dislike pitted ones -they lack any flavour and it would also have been nice if salads were accompanied by some crusty bread.Will definately try the dinner menu in the near future.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great little find!”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We went this afternoon after walking round Tenby and saw lots of cafes and resturaunts to have a drink in but they were all too packed. We walked past this place and decided it looked nice so we went in. Even thought there were one other couple and us, it was a welcoming atmosphere!
The waitress apologised about the wait on the coffee even though it was only two minutes.
The menu for the food looked nice as well although a bit expensive compared to other places for example wine bottles were not over 14 pounds.
However from what we saw was coming out of the kitchen you should expect to pay that much
Overall it was a lovely atmosphere and a nice little find!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smiles2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A nice relaxed place a few feet from the church opposite Boots.
The front of the restaurant is given over more to a coffee area and has nice leather sofas to sink into.
Further into the restaurant is more the dining area, with the tables laid out in a more scattered fashion so you are not in a row.
It reminded me very much of the trendy places to be found in London/Brighton/Oxford.
Not as busy as the cafes opposite, I can only put this down to the fact the Bistro dos not have full height windows out front.
Food was excellent, we dined there for lunch and dinner. Service great.
It`s not the cheapest place, but then the cheapest places are many places behind the Bistro in service and quality.
Menu was good, as was the wine list. You can see a lot of thought and preparation has gone into it.
All in all, I was very happy each time we visited the Bistro and have no hesitation in recommending the establishment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 17clarence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coast also viewed

Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
St. Florence, Tenby
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing