We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St Teresa's Convent - CLOSED

St Teresa's Convent
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have no idea why this restaurant ranks so low on Trip advisor as it is fabulous. The food is always tasty and good value. You can choose effort an al a carte menu and a pub menu which means that it suits every budget. Te maitre de is a bit of a Basil Fawlty but that is part of the charm of this lovely restaurant. We have eaten here in numerous occasions and have never had a bad meal. Sunday lunch is great and the soup ( carrot) very tasty! The late is also very good. I have eaten the lasagne from the pub menu and it is very good for the very reasonable price. Perhaps the only criticism is the delivery of the wine when the bottle is put on the table with the screw top still firmly in p,ace. However that is entertainment value and we love it. We like to support local independent businesses that offer good value and this is certainly a place you should try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalesLegaleagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    7
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great location .Friendly and very clean accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed at st teresa at the weekend. We stayed in room 8. Its was very clean and very comfortable. The best nights sleep had in a long time x breakfast was a selection of cereals yoghurt and fruit juice . Then after eatin that a full english breakfast. You wont leave hungry..great food . We had a great night overall . Entertainment singer in the bar til 11pm. Great atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and the owners were very helpful and friendly and accomodating . We will deffinately be back next summer . Mr o ayton

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bladeoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“In a word. Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Tatty, smelly, the room was not cleaned well when we got in. Some fixings were not attached to the wall, indicating that maintenance is not something that the owners care about. They had a singer in the bar then night we stayed, no indication on her performance, but the bad sound insulation meant that after a day cycling, we couldn't get the rest we needed. if you are a B&B, don't have a club attached, or warn us in advance. In a word. Avoid.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ashkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hmmmmm”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

not very nice place at all, I think the nuns would be disappointed in what it is today, it is like a grotty working men's club, sorry

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle-gallacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oswestry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Excellent service..staff were very accommadating to our needs..can recommend the Sea bass, Steak was very nice too, well priced drinks. Would definitely visit again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OswestryTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Teresa's Convent also viewed

 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing