We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to lunch”
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
Ranked #4 of 112 Restaurants in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$17
Cuisines: British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Here at The Mooring, we have a passion for lip-smacking, going-back-for-seconds, seasonal food. We make the most of the fish & fare on our Pembrokeshire doorstep. And we don’t pay through the nose for produce that’s not in abundance, which means our customers don't have to either. We’re natural born feeders. We perfect classic dishes and source tasty combinations, all seasonal and all freshly made
swansea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to lunch”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Visited twice for lunch during our recent visit to Tenby. Décor and ambience was in keeping with a seaside resort and the service was fast and efficient, what stood out for us was the highest quality ingredients for our sandwiches and salads yet the cost was in keeping with other cafes we had tried in the area. . People were also popping in to book an evening meal and having read the reviews on here we will be following suit during our next trip to Tenby.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nonwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    212
    35
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The place to go in Tenby!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

What more could you want! Fantastic food, a wonderful atmosphere and that personal touch. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left my fiancé and I felt relaxed and cared for by the happy and helpful team. We had difficulty deciding on what to eat as everything on the menu sounded so wonderful! Seafood lovers, meat fans and vegetarians alike are all well catered for. I really hope we get to return to Tenby just to try some of the other menu options, specifically the desserts as we filled up on the first and second courses and were unable to follow with a third - great portion sizes!

Highly recommended - the Seafood Stew is a must.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemmarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
286 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We ate early here - before six but booked just in case! Got a lovely window seat for six. The restaurant and service was immaculate. Food lovely too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsbsouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

visited several times on my recent visit to Tenby with my two daughters. Excellent food and service. Clean and well decorated and lovely pleasant staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 323DavidS323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely food, atmosphere and service”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Managed to get a table quite last minute at the Mooring on our last night in Tenby. As the restaurant was busy we were only able to book for 9pm. However, the staff were so helpful they phoned us to let us know that the table would be ready slightly earlier if we wanted it. This created a very good impression from the beginning and we were not disappointed when we arrived. We had the cockle popcorn and halloumi salad to start, both of which were delicious and clearly made with the freshest ingredients. For the main course we both had the fish stew which was absolutely lovely. All in all a fantastic, reasonably priced meal with service attentive but not overbearing. A great find and very different from most other restaurants in Tenby.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mooring also viewed

 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing