We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crackling secured the moorings!”
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
Ranked #6 of 114 Restaurants in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Here at The Mooring, we have a passion for lip-smacking, going-back-for-seconds, seasonal food. We make the most of the fish & fare on our Pembrokeshire doorstep. And we don’t pay through the nose for produce that’s not in abundance, which means our customers don't have to either. We’re natural born feeders. We perfect classic dishes and source tasty combinations, all seasonal and all freshly made
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Crackling secured the moorings!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We visited here during our stay in Tenby. The menu contained so many dishes which sounded so tasty and was not sure what to choose. The waitress was very helpful, she informed us what about the dishes I was stuck between and when she mentioned crackling I knew which dish. The restaurant has limited seating, which gives it an intimate and friendly atmosphere; we arrived late on in the evening however after a ten minute wait we had a table. I would recommend if you had a big party (four or more) to book a table in advance. It is very well worth the visit.
My starter was the homemade chicken liver pate served with granary toast, there is more pate then you think so don’t be too libel with the pate to toast ratio at the start as you may run out of toast (only three slices – very nice!). For main I had the roasted belly of pork, with the crackling which clenched the deal, the pork was melt in the mouth delicious. For desert I choose the red wine and vanilla poached pears served with vanilla ice cream which was tasty. The restaurant has a good choice of beverages.
This was a little gem found in Tenby.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    235
    39
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good food and value for money”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Had dinner and one lunch there. Would have gone for dinner again but could not get in because it was booked for a private party.
Service was excellent on both occasions. We both had the duck which was cooked extremely well and for lunch I can really recommend the goats cheese salad with butternut squash.
The food was not overpriced which we did find in some of the restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Epr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing meals”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

while I was staying in Tenby I went to the mooring it has to be one of the best restraunts ever. the food came quick and the staff were joyful and nice. I could of came here every day:)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank issy948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent place in Tenby”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We ate here for Lunch and Dinner during our Tenby holiday. I had a excellent Pea and Mint Frittata and some well prepared Sea Bass.
Nice place with friendly service. Good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lakelandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Deserving of high rating”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We made a reservation at The Mooring and, after the fact, checked its rating to find that it was rated as the #1 in Tenby. That set our expectations very high and we were not disappointed. This is a relatively new restaurant on the busy High Street of Tenby and it was full all evening so make sure you make a booking. The service was courteous and friendly and the menu had a wide selection of choices that would appeal to almost any desire - fish, salad, steak, duck, pasta to name a few. The fish stew was very good and the deserts are creative and delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mooring also viewed

 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing