We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fab meal”
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
Ranked #4 of 113 Restaurants in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$17
Cuisines: British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Here at The Mooring, we have a passion for lip-smacking, going-back-for-seconds, seasonal food. We make the most of the fish & fare on our Pembrokeshire doorstep. And we don’t pay through the nose for produce that’s not in abundance, which means our customers don't have to either. We’re natural born feeders. We perfect classic dishes and source tasty combinations, all seasonal and all freshly made
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fab meal”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely place, friendly staff.table for 7 the kids had fish finger sandwiches, they were huge and a good meal, I had the special with homemade soup to start, yum, yum, we had gnocchi, shrimps and Brucscetta to start with the von gole specials and the big buoy burgers for the big appetites. Well done moorings staff five stars

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank drivingtests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    213
    35
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We spent a few days in Tenby as part of my birthday celebrations. We decided to try a few places to eat, but went with Trip Advisors recommendation for the No.1 place on my birthday, we were not disappointed.

We were lucky to get in - even on a Sunday evening. We rang ahead late Sunday afternoon and managed to get in for a later sitting. Although pretty much all the other tables were occupied, we were given full attention and didn't feel neglected at all.

We decided to share a starter of selected breads, pâte like crushed olives, "spreadable" cloves of garlic, accompanied with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. This was very nice and set the scene for the rest of the evening. The waitress who brought it over, took the time to explain what was included and suggested a method of attack which was very nice and wasn't expected.

We ordered a bottle of Rioja which was very smooth and competitively priced. Another nice touch was a large carafe of iced water was made available on the table.

I decided on the steak, which was succulent, cooked to perfection and melted in my mouth. The steak was accompanied with a peppercorn sauce which wasn't an additional cost as with other places. My partner tried a special pasta with clams in a white wine sauce, which was really tasty. A finger bowl/spare bowl was made available on the table for the clams and shells, which although doesn't seem out of the ordinary, obviously eluded the qube restaurant down the road when we had mussels the night after.

The atmosphere was great, nice and relaxed, chat was freely flowing but subdued enough so as not to strain to listen. The decor was fresh and clean, in keeping with the marine type environment which Tenby portrays. The service was exceptional, very walm, welcoming and payed care and attention to the detail.

We also visited the Baytree and the Qube during our visit, the Qube had quite a varied menu, but lacked the atmosphere and the care and attention received at the mooring. The Baytree, although was very nice, also didn't quite live up to expectations, the Mooring quite deservedly takes our No. 1 spot and we can't praise it enough.

Helpful?
1 Thank jmbradders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely little place - Good, friendly service”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We decided to try this place after reading the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. It's lovely inside, very well decorated with a 'nautical' theme. As soon as we entered we were greeted by waitress and shown to table. Service very friendly, brought out crayons and little colouring pad for our 4 year old.
Service quick, partner opted for pulled pork which was delicious. I had cheese and tomato chutney on granary which I was slightly disappointed with - Bread just tasted like bogstandard loaf from pack and was quite stale at the edges. Daughter had macaroni cheese which unfortunately she didn't like and left, I tried it and it tasted quite strongly of English mustard - Possibly a bit too much for a childrens meal. We had a side order of chips which I found greasy.
Overall, a lovely little place with very friendly service but I have to be honest I was slightly disappointed with the food. Good clean toilet facilities and tables are well spaced so you don't feel on top of other diners.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalesSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Trendy spot”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Delicious food,had gnocchi and sea bream,both perfectly cooked,and tried samphire for the first time,love it! Friendly staff,worst thing,uncomfortable chairs!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sazza60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yep...we loved it too!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely food, excellent service and nice atmosphere. Short and sweet but 'nuff said, now try it for yourself.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t0m21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mooring also viewed

 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing