We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, tatty room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Lion Hotel
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, tatty room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

The room we were given was on the 1st floor with a fantastic bay window overlooking the North beach and the harbour. That was about as good as it got for the room. The carpet was well worn with stains and a burn from an iron. One of the bed side lights didn't work so at night the overall lighting in the room was gloomy. The shower was pretty poor with the shower head having the wrong fitting so the water ran down the back wall and against the shower screen, so to get wet you literally had to stand up against the back wall of the bath. Overall, the room was reasonably clean but not spotless and was cleaned every day with the towels replaced daily.

The breakfasts were ok, nothing special but easily edible. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

As many reviews have stated, the hotel needs an investment of money to modernise and bring it up to scratch. In today's economic climate people expect to pay good money for good quality rooms. This hotel is in a brilliant location and is ok if you are only staying for a few days, any longer and you would be better off looking for somewhere a bit more modern.

Room Tip: Ask for a room directly overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vavona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    22
    29
    42
    56
See reviews for
18
82
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

I was a bit worried by the other reviews saying this hotel was shabby and dirty. I suppose it depends on your expectations. This is a quite cheap rather old independent hotel so I don't expect it to be brand new and spotless. The bathroom was clean but dated, fresh towels every day. the bedroom was large, the bed was comfy, the carpet was worn and not all the lights worked... BUT I could sit in the bay window and look down on the beach and harbour. I have never had a better view in any hotel, for me that makes up for the slightly down at heel atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weekender79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

I planned to have a lovely few days in south wales with my friends and it turned out to be an utter nightmare. From the outside it looks dated and old, the bars were filthy and needed modernising into this century. The breakfast was awful and the breakfast staff were disgraceful. I was sitting for almost 20minutes trying to get service and the waitress was sitting outside on her phone, the next day i tried to talk to the waitress and she had her headphones in. The rooms were old, very dirty and not up to date. Parts of the floor seemed to be 'collapsed' there was dust everywhere the windows were filthy and the tea cus werent clean.

Worst hotel i have ever been to and will never be returning, i do not recommend this on any level to anybody. The royal lion hotel seriously needs to sort that place out!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tenby hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Guildford
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Great location but tired decor and faded curtains dirty bed spread and nightie from previous resident in the bathroom still. Curtains hanging off the rail, shower dismal, lampshades 1980s etc. Breakfast one morning was 40 minutes waiting until even the request for coffee or tea was taken. Welsh breakfast fine but sausage very 'plastic'. Very over priced for what was provided.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidayneeded72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed here two nights over Easter. We knew we were not going to spend much time in our hotel and did not need gyms or indoor pools and choose the Royal Lion because it had parking and sea views. Being at the top of the High Street, noise late at night was to be expected. The road sweeper at 6.00am wasn't!!

On arrival, the receptionist was friendly and helpful. However, the whole place is tired looking and in need of updating. The public areas are in slightly better condition. Our room was not particularly clean (stained carpets, thread bare chairs) and the light over the double bed could only be switched off from one side. Such a shame as the views are great.

The breakfast was OK and a request to shuffle the ingredients of a full breakfast were (eventually) handled correctly. There was a reasonable choice of cereals etc to start, although most of the dishes (eg prunes and grapefruit) only contained the remnants of a single portion and the juice needed replenished. On our second morning, it was a different arrray of items that were running low. It was as if none of the staff were watching - or possibly they were hanging back waiting for the guests to ask (possibly saves money).

The general impression is that the place is run down and in need of a major overhaul and major investment. If the owners are looking to save money, the heating in the corridors should be switched off - it was like a sauna.

I don't think it was particularly good value for money and I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whatsinmycookbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

I booked this hotel on the day I was going through late rooms . com and looked at some reviews which said the hotel was terrible. Although I thought the hotel was in need of modernisation, the staff were pleasant and the room was clean if not in need of an upgrade. The hotel also had its own parking area but it was away from the hotel at the side of the cinema nearby. I did have reservations initially about leaving my car there but they locked the gate at night so the car was safe which made me feel much better. We were in room 111 and the view from the window of the sea and harbour was superb. I thought that the hotel was value for money and would stay there again for the price I paid.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honestopinion66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

The Hotel needs some loving care,
Bathroom very smelly, shower curtain very dirty

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbles095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.1 mi away
Normandie Inn
Normandie Inn
#22 of 24 in Tenby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 24 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#6 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#10 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lion Hotel

Property: Royal Lion Hotel
Address: | North Beach, Tenby SA70 7EX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lion Tenby
Royal Lion Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing