We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very tired but friendly”
Review of Royal Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Lion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I found his hotel to be in a dreadfully tired state of repair. The windows are virtually falling out. On the plus side the staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was good,and the view from our room fantastic. Which was just as well as the curtains were hanging down off the rails and never closed properly. This hotel has possibly got the best position in Tenby, and a little T.L.C could make it so much better place to stay, as it certainly was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

Arrived @ hotel, disappointed from the start. The overall shabby apperiance of hotel, lights in the room didnt work, tv didnt work, bathroom dirty. Tried to complain but fed up after waiting 25 mins. Thought for £100 a night would be good, but rather of slept in my car & saved the money. Brill view from room, but thats the only positive. Refused to eat there & went into town after hearing bad reports.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Rated excellent to make you read it!
Booked in-after viewing room as it happens!-completely bowled away by the view-absolutely stunning. The hotel is late Georgian or early Victorian with VAST original sash windows.

Slightly odd-took money up front-perhaps too many do a runner or argue!

Once we were ensconced, I looked it up on tripadvisor-and yes we had Room 103 with the iron mark on the carpet!

Suffice to say, room 103 was clean and tidy, the bathroom had been scrubbed with no mould etc. The bed was comfortable, the room huge, the central heating ticked away nicely. I suspect that when there is a stiff wind from the East it can be draughty and cold-hence two extra electric heaters and a surplus of blankets!

The hotel is like a tardis-rooms, corridors, terraces etc all winding in and out!

Yes the rooms with sea views are over the roads into the old town and we were awoken at 0630 by the binmen and I suspect it could be rowdy in high season as the tourists roll out at two in the morning but that goes for anywhere.

We didnt use the bar or swimming pool so have no commnent.

Went to the Bay Tree for supper-pricey but good.

Breakfast was of good proportions but we were last down-probably 5 minutes before "last orders"-so perhaps not cooks fault but I would think he had plated up the "Full Welsh" about 30 minutes before!

I would recommend it as long as you know why your going there- it's not travelodge or premier inn or best western. It's almost Fawlty Towers but the staff are loverly.

It has easy, close by parking-off road behind derelict cinema but seemed to have a locking gate which is unusual in old town.

View 5*, Room 3*, Breakfast 2* plus off roadcparking within 75m.

Room Tip: You must have Room 103 and see the the fantastic view ( and famous iron burn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clique2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Funny, when I read the previous reviews of the Royal Lion Hotel, it did not put me off. The position of this quaint old fashioned hotel could not be better - in the middle of this pretty town, right on the waterfront. Sure it was old, somewhat tired, but unless one is a wealthy person, this is what one should expect at the prices. We found it quirky, clean ,breakfast reasonable and staff helpful. Exactly what we expected, we got.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Quirky reception and service is really ok, but a card in the room says you can't take your own food or drink to your room and warns this will be 'vigorously enforced'! Quirky period decor can work, but this place hasn't been decorated since it was socially acceptable to have a 'golly wog' servant statue on the stairs. The longest serving resident is the dead spider in the bathroom - maybe he complained about how long it took to get hot water. As for breakfast - DON'T. Almost inedible. Arranged on the plate with all the grace and panache of a warthog in a mud bath, the 'smoked mackerel' had the texture and flavour of the soles from the slippers an octogenerian had for his 50th birthday.

On the plus side, from the front-facing rooms you get a picture postcard view of the beach, harbour and castle. There's a car park just around the corner. The hotel is right in the south-east corner of the walled town, so the narrow roads and alleys of quirky shops and wonderful bars & restaurants are just steps away.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Having just returned from this hotel all i can say is vastly overpriced.Staff not impressed at all rooms dirty ,bath dirty, Breakfast not worth it deep fried greasy hash brown in smelly old oil, toast that resembled ryvitas All i can say is save your money . the whole hotel has an air of dont give a damm...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I actually stayed at the Royal Lion in 1994 while working in the area but the review system doesn't let me go that far back funnily enough. It's quite shocking that the reviews from the present day equate to exactly what I recall from eighteen years ago. Very dated and shabby decor throughout, the wind howling through the sash windows (I was there in the December) of course made for a very cold room. I can't comment on the staff with the passage of time, but can't have been too bad else I'm sure to have remembered, same for the breakfast I guess. The point is that if I had been paying for this out of my own money I would have been seriously unimpressed.

Room Tip: Get a room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc0671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.3 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Normandie Inn
Normandie Inn
#20 of 23 in Tenby
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tenby
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lion Hotel

Address: | North Beach, Tenby SA70 7EX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Price Range: £81 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lion Tenby
Royal Lion Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing