We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend break! :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clarence House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I came down to the Clarence house hotel with friends of mine this weekend For the Iron Man competition. I stayed in a twin room which was room 307, it had a lovely garden view, as all the sea view were taken up as the hotel was full with other guests mostly competitors. It was lovely and clean. On arrival the receptionists gave us such a warm welcome and couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast service you couldn't go wrong with, food excellent (standard full English) the staff may as well have been all on roller skates they were that quick at service. We will definatly be returning too you soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank channy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

I booked a single room (115) in this hotel for £41, so I wasn't expecting much. Although it was small and the fittings somewhat tired, it was freshly painted, clean and the towels soft and fluffy. So far, so good. But come to bedtime it was a different story. This room was the noisiest room I have ever had the mis-pleasure to stay in. The building is probably converted from a couple of houses and the rooms separated by very thin walls. I could hear telephone conversations and snoring from next door. Couple that with a constantly dripping overflow and we're not off to a good start. But the worst was yet to come. All the doors are heavy, self-closing fire doors which SLAM shut. This room has the bed headboard against the corridor wall. Even when I had my earplugs in I could hear and feel the doors slamming all around me. I kid you not, when I was lying down, the pillow would vibrate under my face when a door slammed. This was the worst night's sleep I've ever had in a hotel.

However, and it's a big however. The next morning I asked to be moved and I was put into a twin room on the 4th floor without hesitation. This room was much better, bigger and brighter, the walls still thin, but no sound of running water and much less overall noise and there wasn't any hint of charging me any more for the twin room, over the single price.

The breakfast was basic, but substantial. The hotel also allowed bikes to be stored inside the carpeted reception (it was IronMan weekend). And best of all, were the very helpful and courteous staff.

Overall it is a good, unpretentious, basic seaside hotel, not trying to be anything it's not. If it weren't for the noisy rooms, it would have got 4 stars.

Room Tip: Avoid 115. On the 4th floor you have to stand on tip-toe to see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueNewport_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for your review. The Clarence House Hotel is not a purpose-built hotel, but 3 old mansions that were joined together and ultimately turned into a hotel. This, or course, was all done many, many years ago before we had the materials that we get now. As we are re-decorating rooms, we are now adding soundproofing boards and other soundproofing devices to alleviate this problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I love this hotel. The staff was always friendly and extremely helpful. Dee, especially, went above and beyond to help us out when I left the lights on on my car and the battery died. I can't praise them enough! Treated us like family and I would definitely stay here again. Only suggestion is to try and get wifi in the rooms, but that seems to be pretty typical in these parts, so not complaining, just would have been a nice to have. The rooms were nice, clean, and comfortable and the location is amazing! The views of the beach and sea from our room were brilliant. Stay at the Clarence! They'll take excellent care of you!

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor may have wifi connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Dee was amazing in helping you re-start your car - though I did love the bit where all 3 of us ladies left you to do the dirty work! Good luck for your next Ironman competition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I don't understand why this hotel has some bad reviews, I can only think they must be used to staying at The Ritz? Our first impression on arrival is the position of the hotel on the seafront overlooking Caldey Island with level walking along the beautifully kept seafront gardens. With a group of 24 our host Penny greeted us with a warm welcome.. All staff were very friendly and accommodating. A good number of rooms overlook the sea, mine included, giving me the chance of taking some lovely photos at sunrise from my bedroom. The food was very good, especially for the price, my favourite was the Whitebait followed by the Gammon and morning breakfasts. Entertainment on 4 of our 6 night stay was excellent. As well as the lovely sandy bays the town is very pleasant with a small hill down to the harbour - not too strenuous for us oldies!
The hotel takes dogs but we did not hear them and they definitely did not cause a problem. Our best experience of all was the Hotel Courier who came on several trips with us, fun and laughter all the way, joining us in the evening for the entertainment, one can only describe Hubert as unique and loveable - we shall all miss him.
Every lunchtime Dolphins came leaping into the bay, a wonderful sight.
There is a lack of fruit and a small piece of cheese given but one only has to ask and it is provided. On notification of a shower problem in a room Penny had this dealt with immediately along with a kind gesture of an apology. All rooms are very clean as is the hotel itself.
All 24 of our group said they would like to return to this hotel again sometime, I think that says it all - . thank you Penny and staff it was great. . .

Room Tip: You have to meet Hubert the Hotel Courier - a unique experience - one not to be missed you will feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggierennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you so much Mrs Rennie for your lovely review. Don't forget to look at your group's photos on our 'Clarence Hotel, Tenby' Facebook page. Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

just finished a seven day trip to Tenby with Tenara an active retirement group. As a coach driver I have seen a few hotels over the years and I must say for a 2 star hotel it beats some of the so called 3 star hotels I've stayed in. The staff here did an excellent job of looking after us. Thank you for a pleasant stay

Room Tip: remember this is a family run business and a 2 star hotel not a 3 star hotel by the sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 934Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Excellent location and service, especially the dining room staff. Though the food could be improved. ie, no fruit choice, even at breakfast. Also,a disappointing small. pre-packaged cube of cheese, when it is made locally.. Lovely to have whitebait, but they should be crisp.

Apart from that, there is a pretty back garden sitting area and the front beach panorama is spectacular. Tenby town is just a short walk under the archway, or along the path overlooking the sea. My first visit and I shall return.

Room Tip: Being solo, I had the tiniest, top room imaginable. BUT, it was spotlessly clean and used the space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for your review. Please remember that the Clarence House Hotel is a two-star, seaside resort hotel - that it is not a purpose-built hotel like a Premier Inn and therefore all of our rooms are different shapes and sizes.
All chefs like to cook food their way and unfortunately, their way is not necessarily the way others might like. The chefs do try their very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Only stayed one night . The rooms are like something out of the fifties . The bathrooms are shabby and the shower was antiquated and was cobbled to the wall with bits of wood and I could see the grey main power cable . I was very nervous when using it . The breakfast was ok . I won't be going back and I suggest you check out my photos I am sure they will help you may up your mind . The hotel was full of older people and I think they keep going by offering those cheapie coach offers . I dont think most younger people will put up with level of poor accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxfi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

The Clarence House Hotel is a two-star, seaside resort hotel. Our main line of business in coaches with older people, whom I might say are an absolute pleasure and delight to have to stay with us.
We have thoroughly checked out the shower and of the two wires in question, one was a redundant earth wire with no electrical connection and the white wire was the double insulated shower supply cable, which was of no danger to causing any harm to anyone. Also, all shower rooms circuits in the Clarence House Hotel are supplied by residual current devices in accordance to the rules of the IEE wiring regulations BS7671. We are VERY conscious of the Health and Safety of ALL our guests.
Unfortunately, the shower itself, was not reported to our full-time maintenance department, but it is being rectifies today.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#10 of 23 in Tenby
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
460 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belgrave Hotel
The Belgrave Hotel
#16 of 23 in Tenby
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence House Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#11 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £56 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clarence House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence House Hotel is a 2 Star. Grade 11 listed building superbly situated in the middle of the Esplanade on the South Shore with superb views of St Catherine's Island, Castle Beach, Caldey Island and Giltar Point. The beach can be accessed across the road and the town centre is a few minutes level walk away. The hotel is very disabled-friendly with the lift level to ALL floors and level, ground floor access to the Seagull Bar, Rose Garden, Reception and Dining Room. We pride ourselves on our stunning sea views, friendly and very helpful staff, high level of cleanliness and good traditional food. 'HAPPY HOURS' EACH NIGHT 5PM - 6PM AND 8PM - 11PM. Pets welcome. FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Clarence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Tenby
The Clarence House Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing