We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clarence House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Reviewed 26 September 2013

my husband myself and two other couples just came back from a fab weekend ,,hotel fab right on the sea front and castle walls ...location couldn't have been better ..hotel room small ..but clean .was ok for us ....breakfast lovely waitress very friendly & polite ...the hotel bar was brill ..bar staff happy friendly had great time in there ....the hotel garden great ..we all enjoyed our stay and would recommend too others and will stay again

Room Tip: have to be a sea view .we stayed 214 ,which had a side view but was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank size20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

Clarence House Hotel is a big, old-fashioned UK property situated near a cliff-top overlooking Tenby's North and South beaches. The views are sensational; the street is fairly quiet, yet within easy walking distance of the town.
Parking is am issue. There is none associated with the hotel, although there is a 2-hour bay opposite. The room was quite small, even for an older, British hotel and the sea-views we asked for could only be appreciated when standing up in the corner of the room!! Getting a good night's sleep proved to be difficult due to heat. Air-con would've been nice.
However, the décor was generally good. The room was clean and the staff were excellent!
Breakfast was well orchestrated by our efficient and friendly waitress Jane.
We opted not to purchase the evening meal as it cost £18 per head (for 3-courses) for private guests. I understand that coach-trips have this inclusive, therefore getting a better deal.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, make sure you establish whether you can see it sitting down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Croftmanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. Please accept my apologies for the late reply, but we have all been very busy. Please remember that we have a lovely garden instead of a car park and we feel that it is much better to look at the garden, rather than an overflowing car park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

It was the first bowls tour I had been on thanks to penny and the staff at the hotel they were amazing very helpful best hotel experience ever. The food was amazing gala evening was fantastic and the whole club were over the moon thanks again to penny and the staff

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lroberts89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the delay in replying to this review, but it has been rather busy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel inspector would be delighted! This hotel is sparkling, and the staff are great. It IS very dated, and the rooms are on the small side, but the location is stunning. I am not convinced that a room without a sea view would get such a good review, as the views are amazing from the front. One downside, which is NOT the fault of the hotel, is the noise in the early hours of the late-night drinkers returning home. Will definitely return - to a sea view room!

Room Tip: Sea view is a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 99apple66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the delay in replying to your review, but it has been rather busy these last few weeks. Please also remember that the Clarence Hotel is not a purpose-built hotel like Holiday Inns and that all of our rooms are different shapes and sizes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Right on the seafront a very good location. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful especially our waitress Cheryl who was extremely quick and would always try to get just what you required. She was always smiling and laughing but very efficient. Hubert was an eccentric who wore a bow tie and matching waistcoat - sometimes he changed these about eight times during the entertainment in the evening - he was also extremely informative when he came with us on the coach and told us many tales about the locals and he was very entertaining.
The hotel itself is a little bit dated and the bedrooms are quite small and very clean (but big enough just for a few days stay). However the efficiency and friendliness of the staff make up for this. The food was very good. Breakfast was first class with eggs and bacon etc freshly cooked. There was a good menu to choose from for the evening meal.

I would recommend this hotel as good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fourth floor 404 which was small but with a sea view!!! As it was up in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulie027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. Please accept my apologies for the delay in replying to your review, but it has been rather busy these last few months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

just left on mon 16th having stayed the wk end with Southampton old green bowls club had a fantastic time thanks to penny & her staff great hotel 2 star hotel with 5 star hospitality would highly recommend

pete & jean w

Room Tip: sea view rooms with large & quiet with very good facilitys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Bless you two!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed at the above Hotel for three nights. [ just returned home ] and found the Staff, and the Food was Very Good indeed. Good Hot Plates.. The rooms could do with being updating. as the wash hand basin was in the room and not in the Bathroom. [ only the Shower and Toilet ] Telephone also was missing. Very clean and the Waitress's could not do enough for you. also. Our Waitress "Mandy" was extremely helpful. Well done all....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Portclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. The Clarence House Hotel is not a purpose-built hotel and therefore does still have some rooms with basins in them. As we are re-decorating rooms, we are moving basins out of rooms and putting them into the new walk-in wet rooms. However, this does take time and lots of money, so we cannot change things as fast as we would like.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#6 of 23 in Tenby
683 reviews
0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tenby
487 reviews
0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence House Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tenby
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £71 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clarence House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence House Hotel is a 2 Star. Grade 11 listed building superbly situated in the middle of the Esplanade on the South Shore with superb views of St Catherine's Island, Castle Beach, Caldey Island and Giltar Point. The beach can be accessed across the road and the town centre is a few minutes level walk away. The hotel is very disabled-friendly with the lift level to ALL floors and level, ground floor access to the Seagull Bar, Rose Garden, Reception and Dining Room. We pride ourselves on our stunning sea views, friendly and very helpful staff, high level of cleanliness and good traditional food. 'HAPPY HOURS' EACH NIGHT 5PM - 6PM AND 8PM - 11PM. Pets welcome. FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Clarence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Tenby
The Clarence House Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing