We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with lots of smiles!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clarence House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Service with lots of smiles!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My husband and I were researching for a coach trip being organised for next year. This hotel had three coaches trips staying the few days we were there in March 2014 so it was an excellent time to see if they could deliver the goods! The welcome at reception was warm and informative. The clean and comfortable room overlooked the magical south beach at Tenby and we could have sat in the comfortable armchairs being mesmerised by that sea view all day but we wanted to explore the area. After a wholesome and generous breakfast served by cheerful waiting staff [who I am convinced had invisible roller skates as they glided around serving the 140 or so guests] we headed off for the day with helpful advice from the legendary Hubert whose knowledge of the area is unsurpassed. Dinner was served from 6.30pm - and again the staff were cheerful, speedy and efficient. A delightful three course table d'hote menu is served with guests making their selection from three choices on each course. Coffee/tea is served as well. A well stocked bar provides a good range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages all at a reasonable price so you won't break the bank with a drink! We were tired after each day out exploring the area so to come back to a good dinner was very reviving. Although we could have experienced the entertainments in the bar after dinner or sat in the quiet room reading, we decided to watch the TV news in our own room. Should you be held up [as we were one day] we phoned the hotel and they put up a light supper for us ready for our return. Special diets were accommodated without any problem provided the information is passed on in good time. Thoughtful, cheerful, efficient and considerate are words that sum up the attitude of the hands-on Managing Director, Penny Phillips, and it has percolated throughout the establishment and its staff. Good honest service, good honest home cooking and good honest value for money. We look forward to basing our coach trip there next year.

Room Tip: If you prefer a walk-in wet room, ask as there are some available. Ask also if you can enjoy a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValW350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Smile and the world smiles with you... Thank you for your lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    181
    78
    31
    36
See reviews for
93
179
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. The place was clean enough and the bed was comfortable. The room we stayed in is described as a "compact sea view double" and it's an accurate description, great sea view, tiny room. Ok for one night but I wouldn't want to spend a week there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zooks15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I do keep mentioning in my replies that the hotel is not a purpose-built hotel like a Holiday Inn. All of our rooms are different shapes and sizes and we are ALWAYS happy to move guests to another bedroom, on arrival, WHEN we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I was so glad that I booked a recent Spring break at this excellent hotel, after seeing it advertised on their website.
I was also lucky enough to manage to get one of their Seaview, Premier Kingsize Bed rooms. Although I paid extra, it was well worth it, because of the large size and attractive decor of the room and the magnificent sea views from all four windows.
Breakfast and dinner were very good with ample portions served by efficient and friendly waitresses.
The receptionists were always extremely helpful and went out of their way to answer your questions.
But it was Hubert who has worked there for 40 years and is a legend who made my stay so fantastic and memorable.
He kindly arranged for me to go with a coach trip to visit the Dylan Thomas home at Laughne after finding out that I came by train and that it would be difficult to get there by bus.
He fulfilled a longstanding ambition for me and I will always be grateful for his thoughtfulness.
All in all a magical visit to a warm and welcoming hotel.

Room Tip: Room 218 is large with wonderful sea views from all four windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

stayed at The Clarence House Hotel early in march 2014 typical old British hotel .clean rooms small but warm excellent view of the sea front from my room bed comfortable but heavy quilt not to my liking bathroom had all you needed in a tight space all staff were friendly and i would go back.. but i was only there one night bar subsidised for hotel residents £2.30 a pint very good value. breakfast was nice exept the coffee 7 out of 10 (this was a boys night out in tenby)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alun d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A lovely welcoming hotel, very homely and a beautiful location it is on the Promenade facing the sea. Great views of Caldey Island and one of the gorgeous beaches. Tenby itself is so picturesque, very small resort but has everything you need and is easily accessible. Take time to visit Saundersfoot and the other beautiful resorts surrounding it. So many lovely places to see

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angriotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A VERY friendly hotel that welcomes with open arms.
Large function room, entertainment was top class and the staff literally treat you as one of the family.
Of all the hotels along this stretch this was packed with people and atmosphere. The rooms are rather dated but they were spotlessly clean.
Staff were totally efficient and friendly at all times, we didn't want to leave
The outside garden would be nice in the better weather. Would recommend.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms offer magnificent views-but probably cost more than the standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed at the Clarence House during late November in my capacity as a coach driver.
Staying in sea-side towns is my 'stock-in-trade',so I have some knowledge born of experience staying at many hotels around the UK.
This hotel I couldn't find fault with in any way.
The staff were friendly and efficient; it was refreshing that they were indigenous to the area and not callow youths that can be the norm in some establishments.
The evening meals were very creative, and a cut above the standards of the usual 'coach hotels' that I stay at.
One particular member of staff is worthy of note: Hubert. He was a great help and a true gentlemen in every respect.

Room Tip: Hotel is on the esplanade and has four floors of rooms facing the ocean.Choose levels 1 to 3, as top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roland r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Farnham Hotel
Farnham Hotel
#2 of 23 in Tenby
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence House Hotel

Property: The Clarence House Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#11 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clarence House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence House Hotel is a 2 Star. Grade 11 listed building superbly situated in the middle of the Esplanade on the South Shore with superb views of St Catherine's Island, Castle Beach, Caldey Island and Giltar Point. The beach can be accessed across the road and the town centre is a few minutes level walk away. The hotel is very disabled-friendly with the lift level to ALL floors and level, ground floor access to the Seagull Bar, Rose Garden, Reception and Dining Room. We pride ourselves on our stunning sea views, friendly and very helpful staff, high level of cleanliness and good traditional food. 'HAPPY HOURS' EACH NIGHT 5PM - 6PM AND 8PM - 11PM. Pets welcome. FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Clarence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Tenby
The Clarence House Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing