We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clarence House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed in the Clatrnce Hotel in Tenby with a group of 5 couples. We all had rroms on the 3rd floor with a seaview and it was fine. Nice big beds and a fab view. Shower room was a bit small and not much water pressure but it was hot.
The windows really do need replacing as they let in all the draughts - especially the one on the corner where 1 couple was staying. They had to block the window with towels!
Only a few minutes walk to the beach and the town centre.

The staff are very good and the breakfast very nice, did not try the evening meal. Altogether a very enjoyable weekend

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn-snook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I am happy to say that we are currently changing every showerhead in the hotel to maximize the pressure of the showers. With regards to the windows, I am sorry to say that the hotel is a Grade 11 listed building and we HAVE to have sash windows, which is a problem when we have a very strong wind like we did when your group was staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Our coach party arrived for a 5 day stay on 7th April.We were greeted by the lovely hotel manager Penny and it was obvious from our arrival to our departure that this was a hotel intent on ensuring that all it's guests had a lovely holiday. All of the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Their slogan should be " we aim to please" and that they most certainly did. Accommodation was good and a choice of menu ensured that all meals were most enjoyable.
A great stay, good hotel, fantastic sea front position. I am convinced that many of the group would not hesitate to return to the Clarence.

Room Tip: ask for a sea front room....the view is fabulous. nt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Fantastic welcome. Bar staff are fantastic and everyone makes you feel at home. They can't do enough for you. Food is great and nothing too much trouble. Thanks to Betty for great service. Rooms are clean and comfortable.
Coming back soon.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I just wanted to say thank you to all of the friendly reception and breakfast waiting staff that we encountered on our stay with you this week.
It was my first time away as a single parent with my daughter and I was quite worried about the whole experience, but you were all so lovely and made us feel very well looked after, safe and welcome! So thankyou for making our first girlie holiday such a lovely one!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our coach party received a very warm welcome on our arrival on 7th April. This hotel has been recently been redecorated. My room, a small single room was very clean and the layout worked very well with a pleasant view over the garden. The staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. They looked after us very well indeed. The food was very good. The hotel is situated in a prime position on the Esplanade with not only superb sea views but a level walk into the town.
Thank you all for contributing to our very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: If you have an issue just ask, you will be treated well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We a group of friends from the British Legion have just returned from a staying at the Clarence House Hotel,what a great weekend it was we all said.We received a warm welcome on arrival,our cases were taken straight too our allocated rooms,we were told that if we weren,t happy with the room, the staff would do their best to allocate another if possible.None of our group had any complaints to mention.The staff really made our stay a very happy one,the food and the choice at breakfast and dinner was excellent as was the service received.The rooms were tided every day.I personally am very fussy when it comes cleanliness and had no complaints what so ever.We as a group had a great time and am sure we will return.Thanks to all the staff at the Clarence House Hotel .Tenby.

Room Tip: Check the the room allocated to you first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. All of the staff work incredibly hard to keep the hotel clean and tidy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here for a long w/end. Went with a coach party the end of March. The hotel is a little tired and dated although they be be doing the rooms up ours wasn't. The bathroom had seen better days and quite grubby also the bedrooms need a good clean as there was thick dust on the bedside cabinet. Saying that the staff were wonderful as I had to move rooms due to there being a sink in the room so not ensuite and very small only a single room and had squeezed a double bed in there so no room to even put a suitcase. our waitress Jacqui was wonderful and the food there was very very good. All in all a very good weekend and if you do go there you will not go hungry breakfast and dinner all very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marylynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

I must confess that I am quite horrified that you found your bedroom 'grubby' and 'dirty'. I would really appreciate your contact the hotel directly via telephone or e-mail to tell us which bedroom you were in so that I can look into the matter as soon as possible.
We have now managed to re-decorate every bedroom in the hotel, but can only manage to do a couple of bathrooms each year due to time and finances as we are a small family-run hotel. I do also constantly mention that we are not a purpose-built hotel and therefore have bedrooms of all types of shapes and sizes. We are always happy to move guests to another bedroom WHEN we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence House Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#11 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £67 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clarence House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence House Hotel is a 2 Star. Grade 11 listed building superbly situated in the middle of the Esplanade on the South Shore with superb views of St Catherine's Island, Castle Beach, Caldey Island and Giltar Point. The beach can be accessed across the road and the town centre is a few minutes level walk away. The hotel is very disabled-friendly with the lift level to ALL floors and level, ground floor access to the Seagull Bar, Rose Garden, Reception and Dining Room. We pride ourselves on our stunning sea views, friendly and very helpful staff, high level of cleanliness and good traditional food. 'HAPPY HOURS' EACH NIGHT 5PM - 6PM AND 8PM - 11PM. Pets welcome. FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Clarence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Tenby
The Clarence House Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing