We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clarence House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
255
185
83
32
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
185
83
32
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewedwards coachesbowls tourgrade listed buildingcoach tripcoach partywet roombar pricessea frontturkey and tinselon arrivalentertainment every nightcaldey islandoverlooking the beachsmall roomthe cliffbeer garden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Myself and my young son stayed in this hotel for the second time last weekend. Accommodation in Tenby at the moment is rather expensive but as this hotel offers half price for a child staying with one adult, as opposed to most others offering half price sharing with two adults, it works out as good value for us. It is not luxurious but it is in a fabulous location overlooking one of Tenby's beautiful beaches and the staff are very welcoming, helpful and friendly. They have a happy hour in their bar downstairs that lasts for three hours in the evenings and there is waitress service in their dining room where they serve a nice breakfast, which personally I would prefer to buffet style as I find the food is more freshly cooked this way. The standard twin rooms are quite small and basic but whilst your away you don't want to spend all night in your room anyway. Overall I am happy staying at this hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A 3 night weekend stay in the height of the summer season. There's no parking but a very convenient pay and display is a short walk away.
The staff - Heather on reception and Betty on breakfast service were very pleasant and chatty.
The exterior of the hotel has been renovated and looks sparkling. Inside it's tired, dated, and very old fashioned - not worth the £90 a night it cost us for B&B. The ensuite bathroom had a sliding plastic concertina door - no privacy and the shower was potentially very dangerous - no thermal control so water would go from pleasant to scalding to freezing. Washing my long hair took forever as I stepped in and out waiting for the temperature to regulate ( presumably water was diverted elsewhere when toilets were flushed, taps run etc) Dont leave a child in there alone as the hot water is fierce and could cause injury
Guests were noisy in the corridors and guests dogs ran up and down barking ( or when you passed their door) causing a volley of barking.
Our room 223 was on a definite slope - there was over an inch difference in height from one corner of the wardrobe to the other, and we spent each night sliding down the bed and having to drag ourselves back up - cup of tea couldn't sit still on wonky bedside table !
To be fair, it was clean and the location is great for beach and Tenby town itself. However, we wont be going back unless it gets a well needed upgrade.

Room Tip: Balcony view over beach might compensate for poor interior.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Hayley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Clarence Hotel is not a purpose-built hotel and all of our walls and floors are different shapes and sizes.

I am happy to say that we are steadily re-doing as many bathrooms as we can each winter with walk-in wet rooms, which give more space and replacing the plastic doors with bi-fold wooden doors.

If anyone is reading my replies, there are plenty of pictures of the hotel bedrooms on our Tripadvisor page - but the pictures with the plain, cream duvet covers and plain curtains are the more current look of our bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for a weekend for a family party ,I must say we had a very enjoyable time with helpful staff and great people running the bar, the hotel is in a prime spot overlooking the bay and in a great position for all the bars and restaurants.
The down side is the hotel is dated and the rooms are small with tiny bathrooms all though kept clean and tidy throughout.
Also I think the room prices for B&B were a little to much for this type of hotel £95.00 for a double room

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colin_williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Judging by the tariff you paid, you would have had a sea view bedroom. To give you an idea of prices in Tenby, our 3-star next door neighbour is charging £130 a night for a NON-sea view bedroom on Booking.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had Sunday lunch here, The whole experience was great, food well cooked and we were served by polite and attentive staff. I have never stayed here before but the areas we saw, bar, dining room and reception,were well presented and clean. I have not seen the bedrooms but I am shocked by peoples comments regarding the whole place being stuck in a timewarp.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank buntymanWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review - much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed here for a long weekend in July. We knew from the start the hotel would be basic, and we were actually pleased with the space in the rooms. The bathrooms are quite small but enough for a short visit.
The main plus for this hotel is the location, right opposite the sea with paths to the beach and only a 2 min walk into town. We didnt eat in the hotel so cant comment on that.
The hotel is quite dated but you get what you pay for! The worse thing about it was the noise. The walls are paper thin so you can hear the people next to you cough. There were lots of people coming and going into the early hours, clearly drunk and very loud. If someone put the light on in the hallway it would light up your room and no one would switch it off. We had to shut the windows because of people sat smoking at 3am in the garden. As we were visiting with a child we found this quite annoying. Our party also had another room in a different part of the hotel but had the same problems.
All in all, the hotel is ok for a short visit if you dont mind basic accommodation, i would stay again but bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The night porter has already been reprimanded for allowing guest to sit in the garden after 11pm. Unfortunately when it has been as hot and as still at night as it has been for the last few weeks, every little noise carries loud and wide, even if it has nothing to do with this hotel, but people walking past the hotel from town after a lot of drinks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews