We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clarence House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Have just returned from a 4 night break at the Clarence House Hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the food was excellent with plenty of choice and we had entertainment every evening. All the staff were friendly and helpful and I would especially mention Betty our breakfast and dinner waitress - even when the dining room was full and she was really busy, she was quick and efficient and always had a smile for us. The hotel is conveniently situated overlooking the sea but just a few minutes walk from the town centre. We loved Tenby and would thoroughly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank heather43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review - much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
There are newer reviews for The Clarence House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We (Two couples) were reviewing the hotel for a potentential visit in September 2015. We stayed for a weekend. We found the hotel staff and management to be very friendly. The hotel is clean with well appointed rooms. The food was all of good quality and served by happy staff who were very efficient. The hotel location couldn't have been better. Walk across the road and you can look down on a beach that would be hard to surpass. The hotel has an area, over looking thye beach, that you can use to enjoy the view with a drink. Walk a short distance to the end of road and you can enter the walled town of Tenby and satisfy your shopping needs. Are we touring there next year? we certainly are and looking forward to staying at the Clarence.

Room Tip: Get a sea view, it will be worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank colinhomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We look forward to seeing you and your bowls tour next year. I am happy to say that the free wifi is now working very well and is much appreciated by our guests. We will be offering fibre optic broadband as well, just as soon as it reaches Tenby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here about a week ago on a trip down from Cardiff. 2 nights in Saundersfoot then 2 nights in the Clarence house in tenby.

We arrived early at about half past ten in the morning, but the reception staff were very helpful and let us leave our luggage with them while we went for a wander round town.

We came back around 3 and checked into our room which was very airy and spacious.

We didn't have the evening meal as it wasnt on, but did have a few drinks in the bar before going out for food in the town square. Really cheap at 2.50 a pint in one of the happy hours and again the staff in the bar were extremely helpful and friendly and recommended some places to eat and we're glad we listened to them (the bay tree is delicious)

All in all a lovely stay surrounded by lovely people. Yes the hotel isn't the most modernly decorated in the world, but it's quirky and makes a change from the travel lodges and premier inns that I usually stay in. 10/10

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank JaggedJimmyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Bless you and thank you for your lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed at the Clarence for one night (travelling with two friends) and i paid £40 for a single room...which is reasonable despite it being high season
First impression of the hotel was 1970's timewarp !
Exterior was tackily painted in two tone green and cream and the steps up to the hotel were very slippery (although a helpful luminous cone was placed on one step to alert you to this fact)
reception was tired and cluttered...
check in (14.30 at the earliest) was smooth and efficient.
Room - well what can I say....it was more like a broom cupboard (i wasnt expecting a suite for £40 though)
The best thing i can say about it was that the bedding was really crisp and white and that the bedroom and bathroom (whilst being really old fashioned) were extremely clean (nylon carpet was very slippery on bare feet)
Room was on 4th floor had a sea view (visible if your over 6ft tall through the high window)
Ater sampling the delights (pubs) of the locality and a meal out (prior to the arrival of Hurricane Bertha) i returned with friends to the hotel late on and retired into the comfy bed.
Awoken at around 8am (check-out is ridiculously early at 10am..even on a Sunday) by dog owners shouting at their dogs in the hallway....which they obviously left in their room while they went out for breakfast as the dogs howled and yapped loudly for the next hour and a bit (commented on by several other guests)
next up was the male cleaner hammering on the doors (0910hrs) to see if the room was still occupied so he could clean it.
Tranquil morning shower in the 1970's inspired bathroom was interrupted by a fire alarm, so dressed and used the deathtrap of a fire escape at the end of the 4th floor (littered with pieces of wood and a huge pane of glass which would probably fall and kill you if you were walking through thick smoke.. to the reception where a scene from fawlty towers was taking place (picture residents looking shocked and half dressed) whilst staff "wrestled" with the fire alarm panel.
I dont know who the fire warden was because no one seemed to be taking charge.
We mentioned the loud dogs to receptionist on departure and played them the audio - they were apologetic and looked a bit embarrassed.
Hotel is shown as pet friendly on their website and they do have a sign outside stating the same.
Advice to the hotel owners is - when pets are booked....put them all in same part of hotel.
Also Premier inn are opening in the town towards the end of 2014.
If you want to compete with them....rip out all the fussy patterned carpets and update your reception - in the single rooms get rid of carpet for modern wood effect flooring (vinyl) and bin off the micro wardrobes for an open rail arrangement like modern hotels have.
wi-fi was complimentary but didnt work (new system installed the day before apparently)
it did "spring into life" overnight though...possibly after a re-set by staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jackal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

This review has made me realize just how trivial this website is becoming!
You refer to the 'tackily painted exterior' - well it is our hotel and we like the colour and in fact, we like the colour so much we are paying £8,000 to have it re-painted in the exact same colour as we speak.
The steps are NOT slippery - they are specialist non-lip tiles. We put the sign there in case flowers fall out the hanging basket, which can be slippery.
'Reception tired and cluttered' - rubbish - it was re-decorated this winter. The 'cluttered' look was for the equipment for the new wifi that we are offering free of charge ALL over the hotel and has cost us £10,000. The wifi was not working at the time because the expert was installing the last of the software. It was still available in the bar at all times.
The fire alarm works very well and the staff know how to us it perfectly. The steam from a shower had set it off and they could not stop the alarm until the steam cleared. The fire alarm cost us £50,000, which we would have loved to have spent on our bedrooms, but we felt that the Health and Safety of our Guests was more important.
We are considering only putting pets on a certain floor from next year. It has not been a problem until recently.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Unhappy with my stay. Dogs barking in the next room. My room a totally tacky scruffy thrown together mismatch. No wifi. For all 5 days I stayed. Shower ridiculously slow, lucky to even get wet. Complained to reception, with no satisfactory outcome. We'll overcharged for the whole experience. Won't be staying there ever again. Only good thing was the breakfast/service. Lovely staff in dining room. Nice view. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank jane655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

As I explained to you at the time, the technicians were busy installing FREE wifi to all of our bedrooms. I know this did not help you at the time, but there was still the free wifi available in the bar. We have a full time maintenance department and an on-hand plumber and they would have been straight up to test you shower if you had complained about it. We would have been more than happy to show you how your shower actually worked if you had asked us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My partner and I spent 5 days with our little pooch at this hotel. We were impressed by how friendly and helpful all of the staff were. Chatty, polite and seemingly very happy in their work they were eager to please the customers! It was also great to see such a wide range of ages employed there.

The hotel itself is very well positioned in walking distance of everywhere in Tenby. It's location is particularly good for dog owners as dogs can be taken onto the South Beach.

Our room had a fantastic sea view with kingsize bed and was light and airy.
Be sure to visit their beer garden at the back which is a hidden gem of colour! There is also a small garden at the front where you can take your pint and watch the sea roll in.

Breakfast service was excellent; the lovely ladies gave very efficient service always with a smile on their face.

Overall a thoroughly enjoyable break and I would return again. Our only criticism would be that the room was a little small, it does need updating in some areas and the evening meal (we only had one) whilst cheap was not of the best quality. Parking can also be a little troublesome and costly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Clarence Hotel is not a purpose-built hotel and all of our rooms are different shapes and sizes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Booked a sea view double the previous week. Arrived Friday afternoon and got booked in by a very pleasant woman on reception. Our room on the 2nd floor certainly had the sea view. (Most of the non sleeping time we had in the room, we were just gazing out of the window) The room was small and an unusual shape. It had obviously previously been a much bigger room which had been split and now shares a bay window. The shower room was very small with a sliding plastic concertina door. The shower cubicle itself was minute. The hotel looks ok on the outside, but is quite dated and tired inside. We didn't use the bar or see the entertainment and only used the restaurant for breakfast on the Sunday morning before leaving. Its position cannot be faulted. Overlooking the beach and only a short stroll to the town centre. There is no parking at the hotel, but the road outside has unrestricted parking if you are lucky enough to find a space. There is also a large reasonably priced pay and display car park nearby. The hotel is a No Frills basic place to sleep for a short break.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a sea view, but bear in mind that the rate is for 'Room Only'. Br...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Malc_J_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

The Clarence House Hotel is a Grade 11 listed building and our décor has been specifically chosen to blend with the building. I am happy to say that we are re-doing as many bathrooms as we can each winter when the hotel is closed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
412 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence House Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#11 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £67 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clarence House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence House Hotel is a 2 Star. Grade 11 listed building superbly situated in the middle of the Esplanade on the South Shore with superb views of St Catherine's Island, Castle Beach, Caldey Island and Giltar Point. The beach can be accessed across the road and the town centre is a few minutes level walk away. The hotel is very disabled-friendly with the lift level to ALL floors and level, ground floor access to the Seagull Bar, Rose Garden, Reception and Dining Room. We pride ourselves on our stunning sea views, friendly and very helpful staff, high level of cleanliness and good traditional food. 'HAPPY HOURS' EACH NIGHT 5PM - 6PM AND 8PM - 11PM. Pets welcome. FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Clarence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Tenby
The Clarence House Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing