We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnock house studio self catering C01”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clarence House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Lucky for us we had only booked for the one night as this room and also the bathroom which was not on the same floor as advertised is in serious need of refurbishment . The only saving grace for this apartment is the view from it . Wont be staying here again and would not recommend it and usually we are easily pleased but after hardly any sleep on a very uncomfortable and noisy pull down bed we don't feel that at 79 pounds for the night it was certainly not worth the money .

Room Tip: Don't !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackyandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

It is mentioned very clearly on the internet that C01 is the only flat in Carnock Flats that does not have it's private en-suite adjacent to the room. We honestly try and make this as absolutely clear as possible and also the fact that there is no lift in Carnock Flats either.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Hotel looks great from the outside and is very clean and tidy but rooms are very over priced. The single is like a box room about 8footx5 foot and is £40.00 !! No breakfast that is extra and no evening meal unless they have coach trips in so be prepared.location is great. Staff are friendly & helpful. Bathrooms have high step to get in so not good if you have a disability, accidents can easily happen through this. I wouldn't rush back. This is 2 stars & I think rooms reflect this. Service of rooms is very good. Free wifi is a bonus. Quite noisy with children at times so again be prepared.

Room Tip: See any room before staying to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 123bobbie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

I do keep mentioning that the Clarence Hotel is not a purpose-built hotel (like a Premier Inn) and that it is a 2 star hotel.
I can assure you that a 3 star hotel in Tenby would have charged you a LOT more than £40 for a night.
Thank you for the nice comments that you did make about the staff and the wifi - our staff have worked very hard this summer! The wifi cost us £10,000, which obviously could have been spent on bedrooms, but we are planning on doing what we can this winter in converting as many bathrooms as we can into walk-in wet rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Just come back from an august bank holiday weekend in Tenby. Stayed at the clarence house hotel and had a great time!! I was a member of a bowls tour of 35 people who stayed there .The rooms were spotless, but its the staff who make this hotel - so friendly and welcoming. Its only a short walk into town, but really its the lovely atmosphere in the hotel that sells itself to its customers . Very good food in the restaurant and the service was first class The clarence caters for people of all ages and if you do decide to go there you will be well looked after. I highly recommend the clarence hotel.Many thanks to Penny and the staff in the clarence hotel for a great weekend in Tenby. Vic H

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view .They look right across the bay - magnificent !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Bless you and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

just had a 4 night stay with my mother and two teenage niece's. we cannot fault this hotel ,it is convenient to beach ,town etc, rooms yes the single's where small but did the job, girls had a lovely twin room .we asked for the 3 room's together and fair play they did , everywhere was spotless and breakfast was good as well.fresh towel's every day also.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Bless you and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We have just returned from the Clarence House in Tenby - I must say the hotel was very clean - our towels were changed every day. The staff were very friendly and professional in everything they did. The service in the restaurant was first class and the food was very good. I shall
certainly recommend this hotel.

Sue.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Bless you and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

In my opinion this hotel tries exceptionally hard to please in all departments and succeeds! If all 2 star hotels were as good as this one, there would be no reason for me to look at a 3 star!! A great traditional seaside hotel for all!!

Room Tip: 4th floor is the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mainstreetopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Bless you and thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My wife & I would like to sincerely commend The Clarence House Hotel, Tenby for its warmth of hospitality, efficiency, comfort & service, and especially for the truly remarkable standard of the meals. Our only complaint is - and it is not a fault of the hotel ! - that our stay was far too short !! Should we ever return to Tenby for another holiday we would not even consider staying anywhere else. The hotel's position on the Esplanade is ideal & nothing was too much trouble for all the staff. Bravissimo !!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Bless you and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence House Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#11 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £67 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clarence House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence House Hotel is a 2 Star. Grade 11 listed building superbly situated in the middle of the Esplanade on the South Shore with superb views of St Catherine's Island, Castle Beach, Caldey Island and Giltar Point. The beach can be accessed across the road and the town centre is a few minutes level walk away. The hotel is very disabled-friendly with the lift level to ALL floors and level, ground floor access to the Seagull Bar, Rose Garden, Reception and Dining Room. We pride ourselves on our stunning sea views, friendly and very helpful staff, high level of cleanliness and good traditional food. 'HAPPY HOURS' EACH NIGHT 5PM - 6PM AND 8PM - 11PM. Pets welcome. FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Clarence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Tenby
The Clarence House Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing