We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views but not the best accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clarence House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely views but not the best accomodation”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I would like to start on a positive and therefore I have to say that the staff are absolutely brilliant and really friendly and helpful.

We booked this hotel at short notice in july during the very hot spell because it was pet friendly and yes they were very nice to our two dogs.

However we booked a double room with a sea view, but the room we were allocated was absolutley tiny and not even big enough for me and my husband let alone two dogs as well. You needed to stand on a chair to look out of the tiny window, the room was very hot and stuffy so we did request and change of room and the lady on the reception was extreamly helpful and did her best with limited availabilty. The room we were finally allocated was slightly bigger but did not have a view.

The breakfast was adequate but nothing exeptional and came plated.

The position of the hotel is fantastic and it has a lovely garden at the rear where you can sit and have drink of an evening but not for long because the they close the doors at around 8pm to the bar and entertainment because they don't want to upset the neighbours with the noise, so we had to go inside if we wanted to listen to the entertainment such a pity on a lovely evening!

This hotel caters mainly for coach trips and the people on these trips seem to have a lovely time, but as we were just a couple on our own with two little dogs we felt like outsiders.

Tenby is beautiful

Room Tip: first floor with balconies and sea view looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    176
    75
    31
    33
See reviews for
86
173
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of August having booked last minute. Rooms were small but we had expected that having read previous reviews. We only found out when checking in that the Restaurant was closed all week in the evenings. However after sampling breakfast that wasn't such a bad thing. Very basic and expensive for what it was. Has read a lot about there being clean towels every day - we did not have this luxury - maybe it's because we were on the top floor?? Reception staff very friendly and happily recommended other places to eat in Tenby. Evening entertainment was good, drinks reasonable during the many happy hours. Games room in desperate need of a revamp! On the whole a pleasant stay but not sure I would return.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieSue1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
We have never hidden the fact that the Clarence House Hotel is a 2-star hotel. It is also not a purpose-built hotel like a Premier Inn or a Holiday Inn, so all of our rooms are different shapes and sizes.
Like the majority of hotels in the UK, we work on the system that if dirty towels are left in the shower basin or bath, we will automatically replace them. Some guests do not want their towels changed each day - it is always a bit of a juggling act trying to keep everyone happy..
Yes, the games room does need revamping, but as we have just spent £10,000 installing free wifi in the hotel and another £10,00 painting the outside front and back of the hotel, it will have to wait it's turn as it is the least used room in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Lucky for us we had only booked for the one night as this room and also the bathroom which was not on the same floor as advertised is in serious need of refurbishment . The only saving grace for this apartment is the view from it . Wont be staying here again and would not recommend it and usually we are easily pleased but after hardly any sleep on a very uncomfortable and noisy pull down bed we don't feel that at 79 pounds for the night it was certainly not worth the money .

Room Tip: Don't !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackyandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
It is mentioned very clearly on the internet that C01 is the only flat in Carnock Flats that does not have it's private en-suite adjacent to the room. We honestly try and make this as absolutely clear as possible and also the fact that there is no lift in Carnock Flats either.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Hotel looks great from the outside and is very clean and tidy but rooms are very over priced. The single is like a box room about 8footx5 foot and is £40.00 !! No breakfast that is extra and no evening meal unless they have coach trips in so be prepared.location is great. Staff are friendly & helpful. Bathrooms have high step to get in so not good if you have a disability, accidents can easily happen through this. I wouldn't rush back. This is 2 stars & I think rooms reflect this. Service of rooms is very good. Free wifi is a bonus. Quite noisy with children at times so again be prepared.

Room Tip: See any room before staying to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123bobbie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
I do keep mentioning that the Clarence Hotel is not a purpose-built hotel (like a Premier Inn) and that it is a 2 star hotel.
I can assure you that a 3 star hotel in Tenby would have charged you a LOT more than £40 for a night.
Thank you for the nice comments that you did make about the staff and the wifi - our staff have worked very hard this summer! The wifi cost us £10,000, which obviously could have been spent on bedrooms, but we are planning on doing what we can this winter in converting as many bathrooms as we can into walk-in wet rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Just come back from an august bank holiday weekend in Tenby. Stayed at the clarence house hotel and had a great time!! I was a member of a bowls tour of 35 people who stayed there .The rooms were spotless, but its the staff who make this hotel - so friendly and welcoming. Its only a short walk into town, but really its the lovely atmosphere in the hotel that sells itself to its customers . Very good food in the restaurant and the service was first class The clarence caters for people of all ages and if you do decide to go there you will be well looked after. I highly recommend the clarence hotel.Many thanks to Penny and the staff in the clarence hotel for a great weekend in Tenby. Vic H

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view .They look right across the bay - magnificent !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Bless you and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

just had a 4 night stay with my mother and two teenage niece's. we cannot fault this hotel ,it is convenient to beach ,town etc, rooms yes the single's where small but did the job, girls had a lovely twin room .we asked for the 3 room's together and fair play they did , everywhere was spotless and breakfast was good as well.fresh towel's every day also.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Bless you and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We have just returned from the Clarence House in Tenby - I must say the hotel was very clean - our towels were changed every day. The staff were very friendly and professional in everything they did. The service in the restaurant was first class and the food was very good. I shall
certainly recommend this hotel.

Sue.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Bless you and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence House Hotel

Property: The Clarence House Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#11 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clarence House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence House Hotel is a 2 Star. Grade 11 listed building superbly situated in the middle of the Esplanade on the South Shore with superb views of St Catherine's Island, Castle Beach, Caldey Island and Giltar Point. The beach can be accessed across the road and the town centre is a few minutes level walk away. The hotel is very disabled-friendly with the lift level to ALL floors and level, ground floor access to the Seagull Bar, Rose Garden, Reception and Dining Room. We pride ourselves on our stunning sea views, friendly and very helpful staff, high level of cleanliness and good traditional food. 'HAPPY HOURS' EACH NIGHT 5PM - 6PM AND 8PM - 11PM. Pets welcome. FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Clarence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Tenby
The Clarence House Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing