We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of The Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Esplanade
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed for an overnight stay with my Husband, booked a sea view room, small but adequate for one night, Bed appeared to be a small double and had seen better days. Room was very clean and provided tea and coffee and a small bottle of water.
Owners friendly.
Breakfast was very good we both had a full english/welsh!! But there was also fruit,cerals etc.
We both had fried bread I am not a lover of that and would've preferred to have had another choice!
All in all a good small hotel that was good value for money and would stay again.

Room Tip: Book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrea1234wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

Enjoyed the location but couldnt afford the four poster bed in the suite room. Nice looking though. On the corner of the promenade with cliff and ocean view towards Caldy Island.

Great spot for walks -either down the cliff face onto the glorious Golden beach or straight through the arches into the ancient town.

Meals availabe here. Parking may be an issue so check first. The limited parking is watched vigourously if you park on the main cliff street so be warned.
Great spot for a hotel though. NEar the old castle walls .

Room Tip: Try and ask for a sea view (most sought after but likely to cost a bit more)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegetarian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I stayed during a very calm period with good weather and the views from the room over the sea were amazing. The room was clean, warm and comfortable and the hotel was quiet, which suited me. The owners were very obliging and little touches such as presenting sauces in an individual dish at breakfast, rather than a sauce bottle, were appreciated. The breakfast was of good quality and choice. I would stay again but would negotiate the price with the owners rather than book online.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I wanted to give the highest rating. But the bed was oh so hard ....
The view from our window was fantastic. The location unbelievable, right on the beach and walk to all the shops, cafes and restaurants. The proprietors were obliging and approachable. The esplanade is quiet, comfortable and family friendly. The tea room / bar room at the front was the best value in Tenby and so relaxing there. The breakfast was very nice.

Tenby is a great stay. I would recommend this place and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Front room with ocean view beats it all. Look at the photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tomDubbo_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed just one night here on a combined business and pleasure trip. Never having been to Tenby, we were delighted, granted we probably had the best November day on record - walked the beach in just a cardigan!
The hotel was ok but at £70 for the night in their basic room it was borderline. The room could definitely do with a spring clean and an update, but again, the fact our two little dogs were made welcome counts for a lot to counterbalance. The breakfast was adequate but nothing special and the reception again was fine. If you paid the extra you got a fantastic sea view and if you were to stay a couple of days it would be worth it. It was one of those places where nothing was really wrong but equally there wasnt anything of note either.
Clean, pet friendly and great location - a little on the expensive side.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minglem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed here for a two night break recently and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves .Our room(14)had a huge bay window overlooking the sea and Caldy Island with two comfortable chairs and a table in the window,large tv,4 poster bed(we had to take a run-up to get into this as we are both short!!) and large bathroom .The bed was very comfortable and the room warm and cosy despite the howling wind outside every night!
Breakfasts were really good......lots of fruit,yoghurt,cereals,good coffee, then cooked to order whatever you wanted......my boiled egg was perfect!!Lovely views over the sea from the dining room too.
No real downers apart from the lack of parking right by the hotel....you can grab a free spot opposite if you are lucky,but beware of parking in the residents only places.....the traffic wardens are VERY keen and come round regularly giving out tickets(we watched them from our window!)There is a large car park just up the road where you can leave your car overnight.....a matter of yards away.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful and the whole place is clean and tidy .The decor is a bit tired and dated,but our room was lovely and we've certainly had worse rooms in 5 star hotels for double the money.I wouldn't say it was suitable for anyone with walking difficulties though as the steps to get in are rather steep and there is no lift.
The Esplanade is also ideally placed for walks along the fabulous beach or into the town which is on the doorstep,and we would use it again if we visit Tenby another time.

Room Tip: Room 14 was lovely..fantastic views.Sunrise was wonderful....a very sunny bright,good size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stickiesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed in this family run hotel and my husband and I, my sister and her dog and my elderly parents enjoyed a fabulous weekend away in Tenby. The location overlooking the sea was beautiful and it was so central to get anywhere in and around the town. The owners were warm, friendly and welcoming and helped us with anything we needed. The breakfasts were excellent We will be returning!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. My parents had a sea view room with 4 poster bed, large bathroom and chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#9 of 23 in Tenby
448 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade

Address: 1 10 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tenby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#12 Family Hotel in Tenby
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £67 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated alongside the town walls and overlooking South Beach, this 4 Star Guest Accommodation has magnificent views across Carmarthen Bay towards the islands of Caldy and St Catherines, and on a clear day, the north Devon coast.Access to the beautifully sandy South Beach is directly in front on TheEsplanade.A two minute walk will take you into the charming walled town of Tenby with it's wide selection of shops and restaurants.Run by proprietors Peter and Julie Andrasko who took over in April 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Tenby
The Esplanade Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing