We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcoming hotel with a fantastic sea view and location”
Review of The Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Esplanade
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My family and I have visited Tenby for many years now and have always stayed at The Esplanade. Lovely clean comfortable rooms, with modern ensuite - we've stayed in different rooms over the years - all have had a sea view. Visited again during Easter and the room had been recently been refurbished, which was an added bonus. The Hotel is in a superb location overlooking the beach, with a fantastic sea view (the beautiful sandy beach is literally opposite the hotel, has rock pools which the kids love to explore and it's never over crowded) - the old town with all it's shops and restaurants are just a few minutes walk away too. We've always been impressed with the service here - Julie and Peter who own the hotel are always very helpful and on hand to help - we always book direct with them at the hotel now, which gives us a better choice of rooms. I would definitely recommend the cream tea at The Esplanade, all home made with choice of traditional scones, welsh cakes, cheescake etc. We always have a lovely relaxing stay here!

Room Tip: book direct with hotel for more advice on which room to have - a different range of rooms are avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

I've stayed here a few times and I have had nothing less than 5 star experiences every time. The location is perfect, views from many rooms are spectacular, and the rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Tenby.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca-Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We love Tenby, and have stayed at The Esplanade several times and never been disappointed. There is always a warm welcome from Peter and Julie, who own and run the hotel. It has a fantastic position overlooking the South beach, and is also a very short walk from the walled old town. We have stayed in various rooms over the years, which have all been comfortable, quiet, and spotlessly clean. We particularly liked the sea view rooms, and the new apartment. The excellent breakfast is cooked to order, and taken in the dining room which faces the seafront. They do not serve evening meals, but Peter offered very good suggestions for local restaurants. (Not that we were ever very hungry, having indulged in a cream tea with Julie's home-baked scones and Welsh cakes!) We look forward to returning to the charm and character of The Esplanade soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband and I, together with another couple of friends, stayed here this weekend.
Posisitves- Brilliant location. I'd say this hotel is the best located hotel in Tenby as it's right on the sea front and literally just across the road from the old town walls, with all its shops, cafes and bars.

Friendly staff who are genuinely happy to help.

Lovely breakfast with a choice of full English or various other tings off the menu, as well as a 'help yourself' small buffet of cereals, fruit, juice etc.

Very clean rooms and all other areas.Hotel was nice and warm during the bitter weather.

Negatives- our room was old-fashioned and needed a refurb. The walls were very thin and we could here our friends talking and coughing in the room next door.
The bathroom had an old sliding door that was hanging loose at the bottom and the walls needed re-tiling. However, I believe the hotel rooms are undergoing refurbishment bit by bit, as our friends' room had been done out and was fresh and modern.

Overall, we had a lovely break but the hotel didn't live up to the price we paid. It was quite pricey, even for the non sea-view room which we had.

If you go with the expectation of staying in a 4 star hotel, which it's rated at, I fear you may be a tad disappointed.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best but are pretty expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wereoffagainsoon2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stayed for a night. Great location by the sea front and has the potential for a great boutique hotel.
Classed as UK 4* but more Fawlty Towers * than quality *

Decor from the 70s, bathrooms that look like they've never had a refit, leaking showers, taps not working and stained fittings really do nothing to sell this hotel for a return visit.

Friendly staff and a reasonable breakfast mean its not "poor" but come on guys, spend some money and create a great place to stay.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank riverhouse95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My husband and i had a very relaxing 5 days at the esplanade hotel, our room was facing the front with great views, the room was spacious, clean and quiet, the breakfasts were very good, cooked to order and served by pleasant helpful staff, the hotel is a few minutes walk from the town were there is plenty places to eat, i would recomend esplanade to anyone.

Room Tip: the 2nd floor rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderer028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This guesthouse or BB whatever you want to call it has decent rooms with great views over the ocean. It does not really have a lot of taste though, as the four poster beds and the furniture could have been my old granny's.
The bathroom was also old, but all was clean nonetheless. I do remeber we did pay quite a price for the room. Tenby is a fantastic place to stay and the hotel is very central everything walking distance, so a decent choice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjp1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
460 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
448 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade

Address: 1 10 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tenby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#12 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £67 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated alongside the town walls and overlooking South Beach, this 4 Star Guest Accommodation has magnificent views across Carmarthen Bay towards the islands of Caldy and St Catherines, and on a clear day, the north Devon coast.Access to the beautifully sandy South Beach is directly in front on TheEsplanade.A two minute walk will take you into the charming walled town of Tenby with it's wide selection of shops and restaurants.Run by proprietors Peter and Julie Andrasko who took over in April 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Tenby
The Esplanade Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing