We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
Review of The Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Esplanade
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Plus- The staff were helpful and location

Negative- Double room too small, wi-fi is not always available, Not a four star in my opinion

If you are after the sea view, then the beach is very beautiful and its just outside the hotel

Room Tip: By looking through the pictures, may be the rooms with sea view are bigger and may be more comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masziyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I`m sorry that you can only rate us as average. Yes, the sea views are larger, usually aprroximately £5.00 per person more than the non seaviews. Although we also have our premier four poster rooms with spa baths and amazing panoramic sea views, or the family/ twin rooms with sitting area and balconies looking out to sea(slightly set back). If you decide to stay with us again, it`s always best to book direct, so that we can cater best to your needs, and also get the best rates, especially through the winter.
Kind Regards
Julie Andrasko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    84
    29
    6
    4
See reviews for
50
131
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stopped in room 17 for one night. The room is for a family but there were only two of us and it was spacious with 2 beds, sofa and ensuite. We had a view of the town wall from one window and a sea view from the balcony window. Everything was clean and worked as it should. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of cereal and fruit, toast and then a choice of hot options cooked fresh. The sausgae and bacon were good quality and waiting staff were really friendly especially the older of the two. We would certainly book again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we`re so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the compliments regarding the breakfast, we source the bacon and sausages locally.
We look forward to welcoming you another time, always book direct with us for the best rates, speaking to myself or Peter.
Kind Regards
Julie Andrasko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had a second floor room, facing the sea. The room was large, well decorated, clean and well stocked with tea and coffee. There was a beautiful four-poster bed, a writing desk/dressing table and two well-placed chairs in front of the windows, which were very comfortable. The view out over the sea was magnificent, at all times of day. We had a clear view of Caldey Island and the whole of the South Beach, which is stunning. After an evening spent dining at the marvellous 'Coach and Horses' , it was blissful to sink into the ergonomic bath and press the button for the spa jets to do their thing....Heaven. We will definitly visit this establishment again. Our gratitude to the staff for a fabulous job!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 23, a winner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review , we`re so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon. We`ve just taken delivery of new tub chairs for that room, so hopefully you`ll try them out soon. Always book direct for the best rates, speaking to myself or Peter.
Kinf Regards
Julie Andrasko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We've stayed here about six times now in various rooms and the luxurious apartment next door. NEVER had a problem. Rooms are cleanand spacious. Breathtaking sea views. Friendly and courteous owners and staff. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order with a choice of fruit, cereals, juices, yoghurts etc. very accommodating with young children. We've stayed elsewhere around Tenby and, to us, this is the perfect location. Have already booked a week for 2014 and we are counting down the days!
Lots to do in Tenby and the surrounding area and we've never struggled to find things to occupy our son whatever the weather.
We've read the review about the pigeons - it could happen anywhere. An unfortunate incident! It's not happened any of the times we stayed there & my partner refuses to sleep unless the windows are wide open! The thing with these reviews is that if you're like me, you only leave reviews when you've had an extremely unpleasant or an extremely satisfying above average experience. We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. Roll on 2014 :-)

Room Tip: Sea view is a must - you'll regret not upgrading!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chopsyrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we`re so plesaed that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you another time soon. Please book direct for the best rates,(especially through the winter) talking to myself or my husband Peter.
Kind Regards
Julie Andrasko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Thank you Peter and Julia for an fantastic stay in undoubtedly the best Hotel in Tenby,
The location is perfect.i booked too late for sea view but I was very happy with my room.
I stayed in room number 21 which is a very comfortable size with shower room en-suite, tea making facilities, and a flat screen tv.
The view from the window was to the side of the hotel so it overlooked the ancient town wall and
a beautiful view of st. Catherine's island,
If your a foodie, like me then I promise you will not be disappointed, the breakfast is cooked to order and is outstanding, the service delightful,
The afternoon tea really is the icing on the cake(pardon the pun)
I think very very good value for money,
I have already made plans to go back,
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Sea view if possible because the views are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hairfairy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we`re so glad you enjoyed your stay. The room you stayed in is being refurbed this winter with new shower room, carpet and soft furnishings. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards
Julie Andrasko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Had a great holiday, lovely hotel, clean, nice room and very friendly staff. Super location right on the sea front. My recommendation is have afternoon tea as well, the cakes were outstanding! Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we`re so glad you had an enjoyable holiday and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Always book direct for the best rates, speaking to myself or my husband Peter
Kind Regards
Julie Andrasko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This so called "Hotel" has a 4 star AA rating (which having checked with the AA) is actually a 4 star B+B rating, they advertise themselves as a HOTEL but they are rated as a B+B (very misleading, personally I would give it a 2 star rating)
The "HOTEL" is dated and drab, room 21 supposed to be a double room is tiny with a smaller than a standard size double bed, television was about 12 inches by 12 inches, bathroom was actually a small shower room about 7 foot by 2.5 with a wash hand basin which would'nt wash a budgie. At £80.00 per night I feel I was "RIPPED OFF"
We went out during the afternoon, arriving back at about 6 pm. only to find a pigeon sitting on the bed, we duly opened the window wide and encouraged the bird out of the room, we were quite relaxed over the matter. The 17th. June was a warm evening, so we left the window open slightly, at about 3 am I was aware that my wife was playing "footsie" only to find it was'nt my wife, a pigeon was standing on my foot, with this my wife let out a scream and the pigeon flew out of the room. Needless to say we did'nt get much sleep after this, as a number of birds were now roosting on our window merely cooing for the rest of the morning.
Breakfast was served by a very pleasant girl, the meal was good and well served, this was the only good thing about this "HOTEL" I was going to see the management on check-out, but no-one was available.
Reading some of the other reviews it seems that there are reasons for the management to really look at their dated "HOTEL" and do something about bringing it up to the 21st centuary
t

Room Tip: Do not take room 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank terri14Kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Firstly please accept our apologies for what was obviously a very unpleasant experience for you, we’re also very sorry we didn’t have the free upgrade to a sea view double that you had requested on check in.
With regard to the pigeons, again sorry, obviously we have no control over the behaviour of wild pigeons and for that matter sometimes noisy seagulls. We have now ordered anti-pigeon/gull spikes to ensure this experience is not repeated
We are graded as 4 star guest accommodation by the AA and Visit Wales, we do not advertise ourselves as 4 star hotel accommodation, and it certainly is not our intention to mislead, you will find Booking.com (who you booked through) don’t differentiate between hotels and guest houses on their website. Our listing here precedes us, however as we have now taken an active role on this site have taken steps to rename our listing.
Room 21 and it’s bathroom (generic term) is an appropriate size in accordance with our grading, in the interests of accuracy, the shower room is 9ft x 3ft, which , while small, is still functional and appropriate for our grading, The main building is Victorian and was not purpose built to provide guest accommodation, as such, over the years, rooms have been altered to incorporate new facilities such as en-suite bathrooms, so some rooms have smaller bathrooms than others. The bed is not smaller than standard size, the industry standard size for a double bed is 4 feet 6 inches wide which is the size of the bed in room 21. And again for accuracy, the television is actually an 18in flat screen. Incidentally, the premier four poster sea view that was offered to you on checking in at a reasonable extra cost, which you declined to take, had a king size 5 foot bed with a 30 inch flat screen television.

Our tariff is appropriate for our AA & Visit Wales grading, and is competitively pitched in relation to other local accommodation providers of varying grades and categories.
With regard to the décor, the vast bulk of the building is Victorian and is decorated in keeping with the period features and style of the building, we will give this some thought however, as you point out there is a vocal minority that don’t like it as it is, however it would be a considerable undertaking in the current difficult trading climate to completely re-brand the building.
With regard to no management being available on check out, like many businesses of our size, we are a husband and wife team that juggle the demands of running a small business with necessarily minimal staff, and a young family, consequently we do not have a dedicated receptionist and breakfast chef, however there is a very prominent sign on reception that says ’Please Ring Bell For Attention’ Had you done this, either myself or my wife would have been available and maybe these issues could have been resolved at the time in a more satisfactory manner for all of us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade

Property: The Esplanade
Address: 1 10 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tenby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#12 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated alongside the town walls and overlooking South Beach, this 4 Star Guest Accommodation has magnificent views across Carmarthen Bay towards the islands of Caldy and St Catherines, and on a clear day, the north Devon coast.Access to the beautifully sandy South Beach is directly in front on TheEsplanade.A two minute walk will take you into the charming walled town of Tenby with it's wide selection of shops and restaurants.Run by proprietors Peter and Julie Andrasko who took over in April 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Tenby
The Esplanade Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing