We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine”
Review of The Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Esplanade
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fine”
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We have just stayed there for a few days. The location is great, being right on a cliff over south beach with a view to Caldey Island. The room was nicely furnished in an old-fashioned way. The bathroom was big. The hotel is very quiet. Being an older building it has nice thick walls between rooms, and there is little passing traffic at night. Breakfast was good, with a nice selection of cereals and fruit for a small hotel. Big plus- we were able to take our dog. Car parking IS an issue, though it is not the hotel's fault. We were there out of season- it must be grim in the summer. There is a public car park about 200m away and they say you can get a weekly rate if you like- probably a good idea, as if you pop out for a bit and then come back you otherwise have to buy a new day ticket!

Minus factor- and again, NOT the hotel's fault. Tenby is about the most anti-dog resort I have been to. The south beach is HUGE but you cannot take dogs on there from May- end Sept. Why? I guess the usual tired argument about hygiene, but when you see how the seagulls leave guano everywhere and how they empty out the trash bins onto the street every day, I think dogs are the least of their problems. Many pubs don't amit dogs either. One that does, and is very nice foor food, is the Hope and Anchor, near the harbour. Mykonos Greek Restaurant about 100m away, in the old town wall, was excellent. We ate there twice.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CW_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    87
    30
    6
    4
See reviews for
51
139
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2008

Being a regular traveler to Tenby we decided to have quick break so we booked a double with sea view for a quiet weekend away (Children with the Olds!)

Arriving early, planned to get a boat over to Caldey for the day, to advise that we would be not checking in until after 6, we were pleasantly welcomed and taken our room.

Not the flashest hotel room but clean tidy and with a view out of this world. This isn't a 5 star London hotel wit millions of features but a good family run hotel in Tenby. If you’re concerned that the wallpaper isn't of a designer label and, god forbid, a little tired, this isn't the hotel for you.

The bathroom was spotless and well stocked with soap and toiletries (yes I know in those terrible little sachets but I usually take my own anyway) and in a weird way having a smell that reminded me of my Aunts house of my childhood.

Breakfast was good with a reasonable selection of cereals and juices, with a plentiful supply of toast (great granary!) and Teas and Coffee. Cooked breakfast has hot and tasty and served by smiling people.

Tenby being Tenby, there is limited parking in the area, but the multistory is within 5mins and its a flat walk, with free parking in the upper levels from October (ad it hardly breaks the bank in high season.)

Finally the selling point for us was that we could lie in bed window open listening to the sea breaking on the sandy beach on the other side of the road, and if you were mad enough watch the sun rise over a distant Worms Head. Brilliant Batteries recharged and ready to face the kids again!

  • Liked — Location and View
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Robodragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Perfect location, friendly staff but no wow factor. Our rooms were a little tired and in our opinion did not live up to the advertised 4* rating. Little things like clutter on the landings,bags of laundry (left all day and overnight), unused furniture, etc, all chip away at the overall experience. We often stay at other outlets along the esplanade and prefer them all to this one.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauren70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2008

We have just returned from spending two weeks at The Esplanade and would highly recommend this hotel. It is in the most excellent position, parking in the car park at the end of the street is ideal, and for anyone who is looking for high standards in all that is important in a hotel, from the beds and the bathroom, to the food, this one ticks all the boxes. The breakfast in particular was cooked to perfection every single time, and is of exceptional quality and for this reason alone I would not risk going anywhere else if going to visit Tenby!

Sheila, Ross & Rebecca McLeod, Dollar, Scotland.

  • Liked — The lovely view
  • Disliked — it was on the 3rd floor!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Daytona955i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

Me and my girlfriend ceri stayed at the esplanade hotel to celebrate our anniversary. It was made special by the kind welcome and service we received.
We stayed in the premier room with a king size bed which was very comfortable and well presented. The jacuzzi bath was also a good extra but a good tip dont use to much radox - there were bubbles everywhere!
The hotel was in a good location overlooking the south beach and a short 2 minute walk to the town centre.
If you find trouble parking outside the hotel there was a large car park at the end of the street which was easy to find and reasonabley priced.
Overall a excellent weekend away with great accomadation and lots to do.
Would definately recommend to anyone.
Jeremy & Ceri

  • Liked — The king size bed & Jacuzzi Bath
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ospreyscouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
385 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Farnham Hotel
Farnham Hotel
#2 of 23 in Tenby
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade

Property: The Esplanade
Address: 1 10 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tenby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#12 Family Hotel in Tenby
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated alongside the town walls and overlooking South Beach, this 4 Star Guest Accommodation has magnificent views across Carmarthen Bay towards the islands of Caldy and St Catherines, and on a clear day, the north Devon coast.Access to the beautifully sandy South Beach is directly in front on TheEsplanade.A two minute walk will take you into the charming walled town of Tenby with it's wide selection of shops and restaurants.Run by proprietors Peter and Julie Andrasko who took over in April 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Tenby
The Esplanade Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing