We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top price budget accommodation, but done well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pen Mar Guest House
Ranked #3 of 56 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Top price budget accommodation, but done well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I have stayed in places around half of the price of the Pen Mar which have been as good, but you won't go too wrong with this place. Perhaps it was just the high season, but it seemed a bit dear to me for a b and b.

The only real issue is the fact it's right on the main road, and if it's hot (July 2013) and you need the windows open, then it can be loud. At cooler times of the year this is not going to be an issue.

In terms of location we found it worked out very well in the end. There is good parking provision for those driving from far away, and the walk into Tenby town (and another small local beach) is very pleasant indeed, and just what is needed after a decent breakfast. The cab home will only be about £5 or £6 although at about 60mph most of the way in 30/ 40mph zones in the manner of most small town cab services.

The breakfast itself was good overall, although two comments here: 1) why are the tables numbered according to the rooms? Sometimes you just want to choose your own table; 2) please just get some proper sausages - squishy bangers which can't even stand a fork going in to them are not good enough, especially when the price is not cheap overall.

The owners are friendly - no doubt, and I get the feeling they would help you out in any way they could, just as you would hope.

The thing that really stands out about the place is the cleanliness, which can't be faulted.

The Pen Mar is suitable for families and couples, and I would recommend overall on the basis that staying in Tenby itself is even more expensive in peak season.

Room Tip: Try and be as far away from the road as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redders2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    28
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
141
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Cannot fault this lovely hotel. Found it by chance and so glad we did because we will definitely return. Spotlessly clean, comfortable and in an excellent position. Very central for Tenby and Saundersfoot. We walked into Tenby (lovely woodland walk) which took about 20 minutes but the bus route is so close, we used the bus to travel around and it took minutes. Parked the car Fri and didn't use it again until we left on Monday. Maria and Nigel are so friendly and helpful, you feel as if you've known them all your life. Substantial breakfast, nice little bar to have a chat at night if you want to. Just a lovely experience all round. Definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The hotel is set just off the main road but there are bushes & car park in front so you may hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Brilliant guest house. Maria and Nigel really know what they are doing. So the road is busy but the bed in the room we were given was comfy ensuring a good nights sleep. Breakfast is great, a good start to the day. The rooms are functional and newly decorated but the main point is they are clean with all the facilities you need. We found the guest house to be quiet even when full at night. Tenby town centre is 20 mins walk or £5 to £6 for a taxi. We enjoyed our stay and would contemplate staying again.

Room Tip: Out the back if a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferrarilover2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We've just returned from a 3-night stay at the Pen Mar and I know it's boring and people like to dish dirt etc in reviews, but we couldn't fault this guest house at all. The hosts, Maria and Nigel were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for us. In many B & B's we've visited over the years, everyone has sat in silence at breakfast. At the Pen Mar, Maria and Nigel knew everyone's first name and we all joined in conversations which made it such a friendly atmosphere. Thanks for a lovely few days - we've come home tired but very happy and would not hesitate to recommend this guest house to our friends. Thanks again, June and Robert

Room Tip: We had Room 2 - which although was noisy with the windows open as there is quite a busy road outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juney51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Great Stay with Nigel and Maria top hosts can not do enough for you , Very clean and Tidy and Breakfast was very Nice , easy to get to Tenby and Saundersfoot and very good value for money so will go back again Many Thanks Clive and Julie.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clive865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We decided to visit Tenby on the spur of the moment & my wife happened to come across Pen Mar on the internet. She telephoned the guest house & spoke to Maria who was extremely helpful.

On arrival our kids were thrilled to meet their dogs, which added to the homely feel. Maria showed us to our family room which was clean & comfy - the kids were excited to be sleeping in bunk beds. We then decided to walk into Tenby to which Maria gave us very thorough directions.

After a walk along the beach & some excellent fish & chips, we returned for a comfy & cosy night sleep.

The following morning we awoke & went down to breakfast & were greeted by Nigel who does a cracking breakfast - we wished we were staying more than one night!

Overall a decent no frills B&B which ticked all the boxes for the right price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, South Wales, UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at this B+B for just one night, however, we would definitely go back when we go to Tenby or anywhere in the surrounding area.

The couple who own it are very good at what they do (as has been said by all who have commented on their excellent service). The rooms are spotlessly clean, the breakfast was fantastic and nothing seemed to much trouble.

What more can we say, brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwhelan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
1.1 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wychwood House
Wychwood House
#4 of 56 in Tenby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Strathmore
The Strathmore
#2 of 56 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Mar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Mar Guest House

Property: Pen Mar Guest House
Address: New Hedges, Tenby SA70 8TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen Mar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, family run guest house, ideally set between Tenby and Saundersfoot in the beautiful Pembrokeshire National Park. All rooms en-suite, all with colour TV, hospitality tray and hairdryer. We also have a comfortable lounge with TV, DVD and video, a licensed bar, car park and secure storage for bikes and sports equipment. Stunning scenery, fantastic beaches, castles galore and activity parks are all within a few minutes drive. Non-Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pen Mar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Mar Guest House Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing