We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These people know what they're doing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pen Mar Guest House
Ranked #6 of 52 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We picked this place from the Internet based on reasonable price and overall good reviews. We weren't disappointed. The location is excellent, the room spotlessly clean and the welcome was genuine. Nigel and Maria remembered our names from the first introduction and greeted us by name each time we saw them over the following three days. We were given advice on local attractions and areas of interest which we took, and the attractions lived up to their billing. Breakfast was very good and better than in some other places with higher tariffs. The place is run very efficiently and the owners' expertise, experience and genuine commitment to their guests really shows. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights but wished we could have stayed for longer not only because of the guest house but also because of the fantastic location. Found this guesthouse through the internet and picked it purely on its fab reviews. We were greeted by a fab couple who showed us our lovely clean room kids loved they had bunk beds. As it was our first time down to tenby we were given fab advice, directions and tips that we would not got anywhere else. Breakfast was perfect as kept us going all morning and kids portions were just right. Overall could not fault it for anything perfect location for tenby, saundersfoot and even to barafundle bay and broadhaven beach , perfect for breakfast and accomodation and on site parking free right in front of your room. Already planning next break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45Gully45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I have stayed in places around half of the price of the Pen Mar which have been as good, but you won't go too wrong with this place. Perhaps it was just the high season, but it seemed a bit dear to me for a b and b.

The only real issue is the fact it's right on the main road, and if it's hot (July 2013) and you need the windows open, then it can be loud. At cooler times of the year this is not going to be an issue.

In terms of location we found it worked out very well in the end. There is good parking provision for those driving from far away, and the walk into Tenby town (and another small local beach) is very pleasant indeed, and just what is needed after a decent breakfast. The cab home will only be about £5 or £6 although at about 60mph most of the way in 30/ 40mph zones in the manner of most small town cab services.

The breakfast itself was good overall, although two comments here: 1) why are the tables numbered according to the rooms? Sometimes you just want to choose your own table; 2) please just get some proper sausages - squishy bangers which can't even stand a fork going in to them are not good enough, especially when the price is not cheap overall.

The owners are friendly - no doubt, and I get the feeling they would help you out in any way they could, just as you would hope.

The thing that really stands out about the place is the cleanliness, which can't be faulted.

The Pen Mar is suitable for families and couples, and I would recommend overall on the basis that staying in Tenby itself is even more expensive in peak season.

Room Tip: Try and be as far away from the road as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redders2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Cannot fault this lovely hotel. Found it by chance and so glad we did because we will definitely return. Spotlessly clean, comfortable and in an excellent position. Very central for Tenby and Saundersfoot. We walked into Tenby (lovely woodland walk) which took about 20 minutes but the bus route is so close, we used the bus to travel around and it took minutes. Parked the car Fri and didn't use it again until we left on Monday. Maria and Nigel are so friendly and helpful, you feel as if you've known them all your life. Substantial breakfast, nice little bar to have a chat at night if you want to. Just a lovely experience all round. Definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The hotel is set just off the main road but there are bushes & car park in front so you may hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Brilliant guest house. Maria and Nigel really know what they are doing. So the road is busy but the bed in the room we were given was comfy ensuring a good nights sleep. Breakfast is great, a good start to the day. The rooms are functional and newly decorated but the main point is they are clean with all the facilities you need. We found the guest house to be quiet even when full at night. Tenby town centre is 20 mins walk or £5 to £6 for a taxi. We enjoyed our stay and would contemplate staying again.

Room Tip: Out the back if a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferrarilover2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We've just returned from a 3-night stay at the Pen Mar and I know it's boring and people like to dish dirt etc in reviews, but we couldn't fault this guest house at all. The hosts, Maria and Nigel were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for us. In many B & B's we've visited over the years, everyone has sat in silence at breakfast. At the Pen Mar, Maria and Nigel knew everyone's first name and we all joined in conversations which made it such a friendly atmosphere. Thanks for a lovely few days - we've come home tired but very happy and would not hesitate to recommend this guest house to our friends. Thanks again, June and Robert

Room Tip: We had Room 2 - which although was noisy with the windows open as there is quite a busy road outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juney51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Great Stay with Nigel and Maria top hosts can not do enough for you , Very clean and Tidy and Breakfast was very Nice , easy to get to Tenby and Saundersfoot and very good value for money so will go back again Many Thanks Clive and Julie.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clive865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
1.1 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
1.0 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
568 reviews
1.1 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
723 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Mar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Mar Guest House

Address: New Hedges, Tenby SA70 8TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range: £59 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen Mar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, family run guest house, ideally set between Tenby and Saundersfoot in the beautiful Pembrokeshire National Park. All rooms en-suite, all with colour TV, hospitality tray and hairdryer. We also have a comfortable lounge with TV, DVD and video, a licensed bar, car park and secure storage for bikes and sports equipment. Stunning scenery, fantastic beaches, castles galore and activity parks are all within a few minutes drive. Non-Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pen Mar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Mar Guest House Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing