We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pen Mar Guest House
Ranked #6 of 52 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was our 3rd year to stay at the Pen Mar and we love it for many reasons. First is the house, the rooms are clean modern and comfortable. Next is the location Tenby-Saundersfoot, if you like natural beauty this location is second to none and is a central location for trips to other places of interest. Nigel and Maria are warm and friendly and have a good knowledge of local places to see. The breakfast is excellent, better than expected. They offer a full choice of Breakfast items depending on your choice. All in all this is the best B&B we have stayed in, no surprises, just a really good place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

I haven't written a review for Penmar before as there are not enough words to describe the whole experience! We have stayed there at least 6 times now over the last couple of years and only returned home last week after 3 nights stay and Maria and Nigel just get better with their lovely, friendly, disposition. Nothing is too much trouble for them giving loads of advice on places of interest and eateries. The breakfasts are perfection (thank you Nigel) and set you up for the day, We stayed with our 2 grandchildren last year on a last minute booking and still they catered for us! The rooms are spotless and you are made to feel at home straight away with Maria's friendly chat. Well situated between Saundersfoot and Tenby (5mins each way) and on a regular bus route. Will certainly be going back very soon!!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We read the reviews of Pen Mar and could not agree more with the comments that others have said. The choice of breakfasts were great - I had a different breakfast each day (we stayed for 3 nights) and it was a great base to tour the beautiful area, Saundersfoot is 5 minutes one way and Tenby is 10 minutes drive the other - we have promised ourselves to return very soon I have nothing negative to say the Guest House - it was all lovely. Bedroom was nice and clean and it was nice to relax in the lounge as well. Big thank you to Maria and Nigel - they were so friendly and had lots of time for everyone.

Room Tip: I asked for a ground floor room - which is what I got - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed at Penmar guest house during the school holidays with my two children. The welcome was fantastic - Maria and Nigel were great hosts. The whole Guest house was spotless and the family room was clean, fresh and light.
The breakfasts were excellent and set us up for a day at the beach.
I would recommend the most highly - great hosts..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great place to stay, Maria and Nigel were out supporting my wife and all the other athletes who were competing in Ironman Wales till late at night. Fantastic support even prepared breakfast at 4am for those competing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Had a fabulous 4 nights at the Pen Mar where we were looked after excellently. Fabulous hosts and a great breakfast to see you on your way each morning!. TV in room as well as comfortable lounge. Small bar open in evening!
Rooms very clean and good value!
Will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: Simply let the owners know what you are looking for! They have a couple of rooms on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryCr786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were visiting from the U.S. and arrived in Tenby without reservations or even a clue where to stay. We dropped in at the Pen-Mar Guest House and they had a room available.

Maria and Nigel got us checked in and gave us a lot of information on sites to see in the area. Very friendly people.

Clean, comfortable and quiet, located close to Tenby proper, this is a B&B we would stay at again.

Nigel cooks a great breakfast too!

Room Tip: We had the twin room which was a bit small. For a couple, be sure to make a reservation and get a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 369ronh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
1.1 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
1.0 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
568 reviews
1.1 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
723 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Mar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Mar Guest House

Address: New Hedges, Tenby SA70 8TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range: £59 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen Mar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, family run guest house, ideally set between Tenby and Saundersfoot in the beautiful Pembrokeshire National Park. All rooms en-suite, all with colour TV, hospitality tray and hairdryer. We also have a comfortable lounge with TV, DVD and video, a licensed bar, car park and secure storage for bikes and sports equipment. Stunning scenery, fantastic beaches, castles galore and activity parks are all within a few minutes drive. Non-Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pen Mar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Mar Guest House Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing