We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giltar Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We have stayed at The Giltar Hotel quite a few times and have always enjoyed our visits. We usually stay in a room which is modern, relaxing with fantastic views of Caldey Island and because of this request the same room whenever we visit.

On our most recent visit we were given a different room due to a mix-up with the booking although we had requested our 'usual' room. We decided that maybe a different room may be a nice change... how wrong we were. The seaview was obscured by a balcony and there was a lack of privacy. The room was very modern but did only have one bedside table, the double bed was a 'zip' double of which we both had a very uncomfortable and limited sleep because of the zip (dip) in the middle of the bed (why aren't customers informed of this before they book the room!!) and our shower was very poor (no power in the shower). When i mentioned our disappointment at reception, we were told a 'zip' double is a double bed and that is what we asked for, which i found unacceptable because by definition it is not. We both decided that after our wonderful breaks here maybe it is time to have a change somewhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWilliams94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

My girlfriend, her son and I stayed here in the refurbished luxury double room for 1 night whilst visiting my parents who were there for a week. Really lovely hotel, the room was decorated to a very high standard. My only moan would be the water pressure for the shower was very poor, even in non peak times.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was really good with a wide selection of food as well as a full cooked.
All in alll a very good hotel, in a beautiful town, would definitely recommend and if visiting Tenby again would look to stay at the same hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unders51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

malcolm and all the staff were fantastic , nothing was too much trouble .
our wedding was amazing and it was all thanks to malcolm and the team , it couldnt have been better .our wedding breakfast was delicious and they made everything perfect for us. all our guests thought the hotel was beautiful and would go back
. there was alot of choice for breakfast and it was well presented.
we would like to thank everyone especially malcolm for the wonderful relaxing time they gave us .

Room Tip: go for deluxe the rooms are spectacular .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsfethers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

An old hotel on the Esplanade in Tenby which has been largely modernised in recent years. The facilities vary from room to room so make sure you ask for a modernised room. I found the room fine, with a comfortable bed, good shower and tea and coffee making facilities. However in the guest lounge I did hear a couple of comments about rooms not having hot water! But I cannot complain about mine. Free wi-fi but can be patchy in some rooms.

Breakfast is good, and overall you can't really complain, it's not the Ritz but this is Tenby after all!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ101A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed here for one night only as part of a wedding party and found it to be quite lovely. The wedding was handled nicely ( room was beautiful! ) and it felt as though nothing was too much trouble. The room itself was a little on the small side but - having just been completely re furbished - everything was there for you including a wonderful sea view. How much time do you actually spend in your room anyway?

Breakfast next morning was fresh and well cooked and our waitress was so friendly -it was a really good experience all round.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebsSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Have stayed in Tenby a few times over the years and this was the best hotel yet. We called in at the Giltar having checked in and out at the Broadmead within 30 minutes due to a grubby room. Worrying that we may not find somewhere during half term week we were greeted by Malcolm who could not have been friendlier, he gave me keys to two deluxe rooms and told me to have a look and see what I thought. Both were beautiful and i chose 308 Caldey View. What a lovely room, well furnished, clean and with probably the best view in Tenby, we spent hours sitting in the armchairs in the huge bay window admiring the view.
Breakfast was very good, staff were super, very polite and service was quick and efficient.
This hotel has obviously had a lot of money spent on it, the communal areas are well presented and clean. The room rates vary a lot and looking from the outside you can see how some have been split into two, i would definately recommend paying extra for a larger room. Looking at photos in the lift i believe all rooms are being refurbished so not sure if they are removing the divide in the bay windows from the smaller rooms, i would hope they do.
All in all this was a fab break in a beautiful room, spectacular views and lovely staff. Well done to the Giltar.

Room Tip: Go for the larger deluxe sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShropshireTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

The Giltar is a nice little hotel, ideally situated. Some of the rooms have been updated as part of an ongoing refubishment, and if you can get one of these do so. The room we had was okay, just a little bit tired, but it was clean and had a good view over the sea, well I could see the sea, but because the window cill was about 5 foot above the floor, my wife had to stand on a chair. The food, we were part of a coach trip so it was included, was okay, a bit plain but well cooked and plentyfull, and the staff were great. The entertainment was okay as well so all in all a good break.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noonan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tenby
471 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
738 reviews
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £102 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing