We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding hotel!”
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giltar Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012

just arrived home after a wonder night away at the Gilter, we stayed in the deluxe room which was breathtaking. Beautiful views, lovely furniture, amazing bathroom, choice of teas, coffees hot chocolate, basically they thought of everything and to top it all off the bed was very comfy! which is really nice after a few lumpy beds at previous hotels. The staff were lovely and breakfast was very nice, cant wait to return!. mrs Ridout.

Room Tip: room 102 deluxe amazing!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teri r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
There are newer reviews for Giltar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

Just returned from the Giltar, very friendly staff and helpful, pity the rooms didnt come up to scratch, booked standard room as it was only for three days, room 112 was small, clean with modern furniture but if you were a large couple you would never get in the shower, room was cut in two so you could here every word from the next room, ( i hope the lady got mustard on her sandwich) we did get moved to another room only to be put in a larger room, but miniscule bathroom, couldnt swing a toilet roll in there let alone a cat,with peeling walls, outdated furniture, hole in wall where toilet roll should be, nasty folding doors, threadbare carpet, very cheap hard mattresses in both rooms that gave us backache, it was clean, and the staff were nice, breakfast a bit greasy but ok, nowhere to put your bathroom stuff, not even room on the floor. I think that the managers or owners should test these rooms, to see what is lacking, i think that then we would get value for money, Wont go there again.Oh' very small carpark at the back and it seems the staff park there, so visitors have to squash in or drive round till you find a space.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

stayed one night for iron man race(not me, my son was in it).the finish line is 10 metres from the front door.the parking is limited but there is a car park just 250 metres behind the hotel.we were given a small room at the back of the hotel which had not been refurbished but was clean and neat.this is just a place to sleep so no problems there,and was quieter with the race finish at the front of the hotel.my son and his family were booked into another hotel but the hotel staff were very good and let them use the hotel facilities after he finished the run.we ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent,and when followed by a couple of pints of welsh smooth is even better

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank len971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here during bowls trip 1st week of September,staff nice food good,but the room was awful,I know they are refurbishing the rooms but some rooms should be closed until completed.
Our room 404 was a horrible place just enough room to squeeze through the space at the end of the bed and the wall! One window that did not shut properly overlooking the car park,the bathroom was no bigger,the room was grubby and should not be let to paying customers,I asked for a move on 3 occasions and was told no we are full,not convinced!! If you do stay here and are given a key with 404 on it my advice ask for another room if like us you are told no hand the key back and leave.

Room Tip: Avoid room 404
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirts52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed for one night at the Giltar Hotel in September 2012. The hotel was welcoming, with really helpful staff who really would do all they could to help you out. Twin room was fairly small, which was really the only disappointing thing about the stay. Beds were comfy, room clean, view excellent and breakfast superb.
Room a little pricey for what we got, so probably wouldn't stay there again on same terms, but if we managed to get a better room or deal then would.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharmlover01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

had problems parking the car car park was very small but manager moved his car for us to use the space so i thought that was nice of him..checking in very easy, on entering the lift lovely photos of refurbished rooms so on entering our room what a shock very small and narrow just enough space to walk at the end of the bed we could plainly hear the people in the next room, at one point i thought they were in the room with us..obviously our room had been divided into two...the toilet and shower really needed totally upgrading dont think it had been decorated for a long time.
ypu couldnt sit and relax to enjoy the view from your room as there were two chairs pushed into the corner of the room with no leg room
the only positive thing was the food the evening meal and the breakfast were very good with a good choice

Room Tip: make sure you get a refurbished room
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pawspaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

loved this place- obviously massive ongoing refurb which is being done tastefully and well- obviously not all rooms have been refurbished yet but this is reflected in the prices charged for different room types

Great views-clean rooms-nice food-friendly staff-what more do you want

PS our light bulbs were not dusty!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattyenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
720 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £88 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing