We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Giltar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$109
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
409
183
62
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
409
183
62
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrefurbished roomsea viewdeluxe roomswedding partycaldey islandroll top bathdownstairs barsunday lunchpremier roomsouth beachhigh standardsea frontlovely hotelwalk in showercar parklady on receptionfabulous views
Filter
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed at the Giltar last night for a weekend in Tenby. Booked in effortlessly (room 109 double with sea view). Very pleased with the service we received during our short stay from the reception staff to the staff at breakfast this morning. Our room was one that had recently been re-vamped during the hotels on-going process. There was a wedding at the hotel yesterday but that did not stop the hotel treating all other guests properly. Will return to this hotel, without question, well done The Giltar

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room - views are to die for
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I just stayed for one night for a wedding and was generally very happy.

Plus points: the refurbished room was extremely nice, although the placement of the lampshade in front of the TV (from the bed) was bizarre, though not important to me. Recarpeting the common areas with something more neutral and modern would transform the ambience of the hotel.

The food is absolutely outstanding and the chef deserves extreme praise.

Less good: the downstairs function room could do with being spruced up - although the hotel looks as though it is having a rolling restoration. Other guests commented that their unrefurbished rooms were much less nice. Some of the staff generally seemed to think that they were doing guests a favour by providing even normal service (e.g., at breakfast) and I got the impression that anything out of the ordinary would not be accommodated. Reception staff were great however.

So in summary, get a refurbished room and if all goes well, you'll have a great time.

Room Tip: Get a refurbished room if at all possible.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidCF36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed at the Giltar with my mother and two small children. The hotel is very nice and our sea view room was beautiful. It was nicely appointed and the bathroom was gorgeous. However, the hotel was full of OAPs, so much so that the dining room looked like a nursing home! We had our evening meal in the restaurant and it became quickly apparent that the other guests didn't want children in the hotel. They sat in silence and tutted and made remarks every time my children spoke despite the fact my children were very well behaved.
At breakfast the same occurred again to the point that our waiter apologised for the way we were made to feel. The breakfast was very average and had been placed on a hot plate for long periods. The OAPs made the breakfast room feel more like a wake than a busy hotel.
In conclusion, the location and decor are fab but avoid at all costs if you have children!!!!
This hotel is NOT family friendly!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent five nights at the Giltar, having chosen it from the web site of Tenby Tourism. For £90 per room per night our seaview room was easily adequate - perhaps the en-suite could have been a bit bigger and the bed had a squeaky mattress! Owners and staff were friendly and very helpful - WiFi was free!! Breakfast was served to your table and although not being over full the content was excellent. The restaurant meals in the evening were also well received although extra to the B&B rate. All in all a good value for money hotel run by nice people! Recommend for return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

HI all , we have just returned home from a two night stay at giltar hotel.
booked a double room after looking at hotel website , the rooms look smart but here is the problem. Only some rooms have been updated and when we booked this was not made clear.
Our room was clean but shabby mainly the bathroom, this way very poor.
The folding door did not shut the bath was old and chipped, hardly any room for toilet I c
ould go on but you get the picture [nice in 1970]
But the main problem was our room 114 was above a function room and music was booming
we could not sleep
I made a complaint and was told the music would be turned down ,it was but hardly.
Once again I complained too the manager. this is the disgusting part he did give a dam
I WAS TOLD IF YOU DONT LIKE IT STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE.
not easy on Friday night at 11oclock . If we had been informed when we booked that a function room was below the room and you will not be able to sleep until gone 12 there is no way we would have gone near the hotel. so please be warned if you want a nice room with out a disco
below do not on any account stay in room 114. Tenby is lovely place too visit be care full where you stay

Room Tip: make sure your room has been refurbished and is not above the function room
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cliff315970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews