We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and ideal location for the South Beach.”
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Giltar Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and ideal location for the South Beach.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Most of the rooms have been refurbished to a high standard and the others are fine for the price of a beach front hotel.
The staff were very very helpful.
It was ideal for the beach and town visits. Although the car park was full there is a big cheap car park only 50 yards away.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodvld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We'll make sure that the staff see the review too. Hopefully we'll see you again at the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    175
    59
    22
    14
See reviews for
125
315
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My partner and I had the great privilege to spend a night in room 308 at the Giltar Hotel. The room was superbly furnished and finished and included a fabulous bathroom with quality towels and toiletries. The hotel has views to die for overlooking the South Beach over to Caldey Island and our room was actually named Caldey View. The breakfast, served in a splendid dining room with sea views was highest quality and beautifully served. Nothing is too much trouble at this hotel and it's owners Malcolm and Patrick with all the staff make you feel at home and comfortable. We stay in a lot of hotels and I can safely say that this is one of the best.

Room Tip: Book early,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidcrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comments about the hotel. We've worked hard with our Interior Designer Linda to refurbish a large part of the hotel. And thanks for stating that you think we're one of the best too! Hopefully we'll see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A very nice hotel in a lovely spot with spectacular views overlooking the sea and coastline. Undergoing refurbishment and has a lovely new lounge and bar. The dining room looks out on to the sea and the food is first class. One thing that makes it stand out is the staff, it's been a long time since I experienced such friendly, professional, helpful staff. Our room was a standard double which was a bit small but I understand it is one that is going to be changed due to its size, I would have booked a premier room if one had been available but took the only remaining room. You could also hear through the wall of this room which will probably be put right when they take down the dividing wall. From the pictures on display it looks like these rooms are lovely. There was a wedding on the one night so it was a bit noisy from the music when we went to bed so if you like peace and quiet I would advise that you find out if there is going to be a wedding or function on in the basement room and if so book a room on a higher floor. That said this was a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view - its well worth it. Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickyhotelguru K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the hotel. We'll make sure the staff see your comments too. Hopefully we'll see you again in the future when we have premier or deluxe rooms available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We where recommended this as the best in Tenby by the manager of a bar in town. I am sure he was right, a friendly team complemented the clean comfy rooms and supper well prepared breakfast. In short if your in Tenby and need a good (best in town according to a local) room you will be lucky if you stay here

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your review and for flagging up that we were recommended by a local bar. We'd love to know which bar recommended us. If you're able to let us know that would be great. Look forward to seeing you back in Tenby in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We went to the Giltar to celebrate my birthday ( not saying which one!) and to be next to the sea is always my favourite place to be. We arrived to a relaxed and friendly welcome, our room was upgraded and there was a Giltar birthday card waiting for me in the room- a lovely start to the weekend. Our room was gorgeous, as good as a top London hotel with huge windows looking out to sea ( it was raining but hey!) and a fabulous bathroom which couldn't be faulted. Breakfast was delicious and unhurried on both mornings and the dining room is beautiful. All the refurbishment is very tasteful, unlike a lot of seaside hotels......... modern but still retaining character. Staff were always friendly, attentive and ready to help in any way. Tenby is full of interesting places to go with your normal high street but lots of other more unusual places tucked away. Another advantage is the train station is just a short walk away from the hotel and then everything else you could need is on the doorstep, great places to eat, museums and lovely walks by the sea. Heaven.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMANDAWILSONNO77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review. We're very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable break and birthday! We hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Enjoyed one night at the Giltar Hotel. All the staff were friendly and the breakfast was very good. Our room was not one of the refurbished ones, but nonetheless is was comfortable, and we had a sea view. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We're glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to having you back at the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just returned after a 4 night stay at this lovely hotel. We could not fault it in any way at all. It is run by first class staff who are all so so friendly , polite and professional and endeavour to ensure you have a lovely stay.
The current owners have worked so hard in the recent refurbishment at the hotel, we had a beautiful recently refurbished premier room on the third floor overlooking the sea and beach, fantastic view to wake up too! I recommend to book a sea view, it is only a little extra and well worth it.
The food is absolutely top notch ! The breakfast is lovely, plenty of choice and all freshly prepared. We also had evening meals on two of the nights we were there which were stunning, as was the quality, fresh produce, no frozen rubbish,! also beautifully presented aswell as mouth watering, and plenty of it. Hats off to the chef!
The hotel is in a fab location, a few minutes walk from the town, beach etc, you couldn't wish for better.
If you book this hotel you won't be disappointed, we will be returning without a doubt !! Thank you to all the staff who made our stay very pleasant and enjoyable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank katie3659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Really pleased to hear that you and your partner enjoyed. I'll make sure that the staff are aware of the feedback as they work hard to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable stay! Look forward to having you back at the hotel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Property: Giltar Hotel
Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing