We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding venue”
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giltar Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I had my wedding reception here on the Easter weekend and it was absolutely perfect!! From booking the venue over a year in advance to the day itself Malcom and staff were brilliant. The package is ideal and took a lot of pressure off the planning as there was so much included from table centers to the dj. The food was exquisite, several guests commented that the food was the best they had tasted at any wedding and I couldn't agree more. All the staff were so helpful and couldn't do enough for you. Our room was top notch, immaculately clean with a georgeous view of Tenby beach. There was even a card and love spoon with our initials engraved on from Malcom, Pat and staff. I can't rate this place highly enough! Thank you so much Malcom, Pat and staff at The Giltar!!!!
X Michelle & Paul X

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 762Mish83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you Michelle and Paul for leaving this review for us and so quickly after your special day. We're over the moon that your day was perfect and would like to wish you all the best for your future together. Hopefully we will see you back at the hotel in years to come to celebrate your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
There are newer reviews for Giltar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Most of the rooms have been refurbished to a high standard and the others are fine for the price of a beach front hotel.
The staff were very very helpful.
It was ideal for the beach and town visits. Although the car park was full there is a big cheap car park only 50 yards away.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodvld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We'll make sure that the staff see the review too. Hopefully we'll see you again at the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My partner and I had the great privilege to spend a night in room 308 at the Giltar Hotel. The room was superbly furnished and finished and included a fabulous bathroom with quality towels and toiletries. The hotel has views to die for overlooking the South Beach over to Caldey Island and our room was actually named Caldey View. The breakfast, served in a splendid dining room with sea views was highest quality and beautifully served. Nothing is too much trouble at this hotel and it's owners Malcolm and Patrick with all the staff make you feel at home and comfortable. We stay in a lot of hotels and I can safely say that this is one of the best.

Room Tip: Book early,
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidcrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comments about the hotel. We've worked hard with our Interior Designer Linda to refurbish a large part of the hotel. And thanks for stating that you think we're one of the best too! Hopefully we'll see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A very nice hotel in a lovely spot with spectacular views overlooking the sea and coastline. Undergoing refurbishment and has a lovely new lounge and bar. The dining room looks out on to the sea and the food is first class. One thing that makes it stand out is the staff, it's been a long time since I experienced such friendly, professional, helpful staff. Our room was a standard double which was a bit small but I understand it is one that is going to be changed due to its size, I would have booked a premier room if one had been available but took the only remaining room. You could also hear through the wall of this room which will probably be put right when they take down the dividing wall. From the pictures on display it looks like these rooms are lovely. There was a wedding on the one night so it was a bit noisy from the music when we went to bed so if you like peace and quiet I would advise that you find out if there is going to be a wedding or function on in the basement room and if so book a room on a higher floor. That said this was a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view - its well worth it. Higher floors are quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickyhotelguru K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the hotel. We'll make sure the staff see your comments too. Hopefully we'll see you again in the future when we have premier or deluxe rooms available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We where recommended this as the best in Tenby by the manager of a bar in town. I am sure he was right, a friendly team complemented the clean comfy rooms and supper well prepared breakfast. In short if your in Tenby and need a good (best in town according to a local) room you will be lucky if you stay here

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your review and for flagging up that we were recommended by a local bar. We'd love to know which bar recommended us. If you're able to let us know that would be great. Look forward to seeing you back in Tenby in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We went to the Giltar to celebrate my birthday ( not saying which one!) and to be next to the sea is always my favourite place to be. We arrived to a relaxed and friendly welcome, our room was upgraded and there was a Giltar birthday card waiting for me in the room- a lovely start to the weekend. Our room was gorgeous, as good as a top London hotel with huge windows looking out to sea ( it was raining but hey!) and a fabulous bathroom which couldn't be faulted. Breakfast was delicious and unhurried on both mornings and the dining room is beautiful. All the refurbishment is very tasteful, unlike a lot of seaside hotels......... modern but still retaining character. Staff were always friendly, attentive and ready to help in any way. Tenby is full of interesting places to go with your normal high street but lots of other more unusual places tucked away. Another advantage is the train station is just a short walk away from the hotel and then everything else you could need is on the doorstep, great places to eat, museums and lovely walks by the sea. Heaven.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMANDAWILSONNO77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review. We're very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable break and birthday! We hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Enjoyed one night at the Giltar Hotel. All the staff were friendly and the breakfast was very good. Our room was not one of the refurbished ones, but nonetheless is was comfortable, and we had a sea view. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We're glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to having you back at the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
720 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £88 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing