We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Giltar Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveller rating
406
183
62
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
406
183
62
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrefurbished roomsea viewdeluxe roomswedding partycaldey islandroll top bathdownstairs barsunday lunchpremier roomsouth beachhigh standardsea frontlovely hotelwalk in showercar parklady on receptionfabulous views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 688 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great hotel for exploring Pembrokeshire and in the Centre of Tenby with great sea views. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good with lots of variety. As we cycled to the hotel there was a room where we could keep our bikes. Roger the manager is a great help and very friendly.

Room Tip: Had a room overlooking beach, could hear sound of the sea at night which helped me to sleep better believe it or not.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thanks for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your overall visit to the west of the country. Hopefully see you all again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in the Giltar for one night, my only complaint is that my boyfriend did not book one of the refurbished rooms! The room we had was clean, and well decorated with plenty of tea and coffee, my only real proper complaint is the noise from the TV next door, but that will get sorted as soon as they refurb that room. We asked the room service lady if we could have a look at one of the newly done out rooms, and wow boyfriend was definately in the bad books for not booking one of those, the bathroom looks fantastic, will be coming back to try and one of the new rooms as soon as we can.
Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked, all hotel staff were really friendly.
I still can't believe the bar prices, they were the cheapest I have ever paid in a hotel, and the bar area looks like it has just be re decorated so everything has a fresh clean feel to it.

Room Tip: Try and book one of the newly decorated rooms
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're pleased that you were able to see one of our refurbished rooms. Hopefully your boyfriend will get a second chance to impress you with a premier or deluxe room soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We spent one night here as part of a walking holiday. I telephoned ahead to ask if we could pay for an upgrade. I also asked about a table for dinner, but was informed there was no need to book. The hotel was full but they could upgrade us to the only room left that had a sea view instead of a car park view. I took that. The room was clean but it really shouldn't be marketed as a twin room, far too small. On arrival staff were friendly although no porterage offered. The public areas are pleasant. After a walk we returned at 7:30 for dinner, only to be told as there was a private function food wasn't available. No offer of a plate of sandwiches, no nothing! Breakfast was available and reasonable, but the fact that residents couldn't get dinner unforgivable. Wouldn't stay there again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

We're sorry to hear that you feel your stay was disappointing. We currently don't advertise a porter service, however if you were to mention on reception we'd have been more than happy to get one of our staff to provide assistance. On check-in you would have been advised of the dining room situation that evening as it is routine for us to inform all new guests. Our reception staff would have also advised of local restaurants available within a short walk of the hotel for a hot meal. We apologise for any confusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A great hotel, friendly staff and great food. Fantastic location for a Wedding. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff particularly Roger who looked after us very well for a family wedding. The room was decorated beautifully for the ceremony and the wedding breakfast. It is the second family I have attended in three years standards are still very high. Anyone thinking of a wedding at a hotel in South Wales should definitely consider the Giltar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Hi Linda. Thanks for your review. So pleased that you enjoyed the wedding. Very humbled to be noted as the best in South Wales for weddings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a room that was awaiting the refurb so it could have done with a spruce up but for the price we couldn't really complain , lovely breakfast and the staff were really friendly & helpful :-) Drink prices at the bar were really reasonable too and overall we had a good stay !!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view and that has been done up :-)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews