We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views”
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giltar Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed there yesterday. Hospitality was wonderful. Rather disappointed games room wasn't available. Bedroom was on slant and more noticeable when sitting by the window and especially when lying in bed. There was cardboard levelling the wardrobe. Disappointed of the choice of the menu for evening meal, not much choice.Breakfast was Absolutely gorgeous. Staff were lovely. We will go back when refurbishment has finished.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harveymg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Giltar Hotel on Tenby’s Esplanade shouldn’t really be relegated to one-star, but it has that rating from me for committing the unforgiveable sin of having an hotel with a restaurant and closing it to residents because it had a private party in. That should never happen. It should be a ‘given’ for a hotel with restaurant to feed its residents.

Having booked some weeks in advance we even phoned a couple of weeks prior to our visit to get our room which was overlooking the car park at the rear, changed to a sea-view at the front. At the same time we asked if it was necessary to book a table for dinner and were assured that it would be unnecessary.

Anticipating food at 7.30 in the evening, therefore, we were brought up short with a ‘closed to residents’ advice from the staff who were working on a wedding party. There was a closed-off section of the restaurant which appeared to be set for breakfast, which could have been utilised if the staff were of a mind to honour their obligations to residents. In the event they didn’t even offer us a plate of sandwiches in the bar……

……one star fully justified.

In other respects the hotel is what you would expect in a British seaside resort; a Georgian-style building, a little tired here and there and higgle-de-piggledy corridors and sets of stairs to rooms all different shapes and sizes. Our rearranged sea-view room was a twin which was really only a single-sized, but we cannot complain about that as it was our choice to move.

The breakfast, which they did agree to serve us, even though they had the overnight guests from the wedding party still in-house, was in the separate dining room which they should have opened for us the night before. It was quite adequate.

But we left the Giltar feeling negative….and no hotelier should want that of his guests.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms may be cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Snookoafc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Scene setting: We had our wedding reception at the Giltar Hotel on the 17th of May 2014. We had 74 guests, of which a majority stayed at the hotel either 1 or 2 nights. We stayed at the hotel for our wedding night, in the "bridal suite".

So this is more than just a Hotel review, as it is from the perspective of a Groom (and I hope I speak on behalf of my wife too!).

Firstly. We will be back to stay again. Secondly, A Massive Thank You to everyone at the Giltar. Malcolm, Patrick - the owners for ensuring everything was great; Helen - who ran an amzing front of house crew for our Wedding breakfast and worked her socks off for us at all times, Nicola and fellow people on reception, I'm very sorry I don't remember all of your names. And to the Chef's and kitchen staff, you were all amazing and your food was fantastic - clearly very proud of it too. Thank you, you all helped make our day.

Bit more wedding reception context: We have had dealings with Malcolm (one of the owners) and the staff at the hotel over 12 months beforehand, to ensure that our wedding reception was organised for the day. Our decision to use the Giltar was based on a few primary factors:
- Location; how can you beat a view of south beach!
- The people at the hotel; owned and ran by Malcolm and Patrick, who cleary care very much about the business they run and looking after their clients
- The Hotel - about 3/4's of the way through a refurbishment - it was originally 3 victorian houses - it has it's "quirky" older but clean and tidy bits - they have created a new bar and the refurbishments that they have done are lovely, keeping some character but modernising where needed - the refurbed rooms are amazing.
- Wedding breakfast area - beautifully finished / decorated - we loved it
- VFM - our wedding reception wasn't cheap - none are(!) - but it was extremely good value.

Needless to say we were very happy with our choice and would have done nothing different given the choice (can you tell?)!

Our Wedding Day: The weather was amazing - which helps I spose. Reception drinks were served inside and just outside the front of the hotel. Everything ran very smoothly - Patrick was extremely attentive of us and our guests.

Helen and crew served us up a 3 course meal plus a sorbet(!) which personally I would say is the best and most generous wedding food I've had - I am biased, I'm sure, but I wasn't the only one who said it. I went to speak to the Chef's afterwards to thank them - great bunch and very proud.

The evening reception is held downstairs in the basement - not my favourite for weddings, as you don't have any windows - but it doesn't matter by the time it's dark!.... Evening food was plentiful (too much of it) and once again, fantastic.

The Hotel: Again, good value for money, refurbished rooms are fab and the view of south beach was fantastic. Breakfast was very good, trying to be objective maybe not the best breakfast ever, but very good none-the-less.

There were two things that weren't perfect on our wedding day - the fact that it was all over too soon being one. The other, which is feedback for Mal and Pat, is that there was a handover between them before Mal went away - we had agreed with Mal that we were paying for extra drinks at the wedding breakfast for people - this did not happen and must not have been handed over. So I'm sorry my wedding guests, I had arranged to buy you some extra wine, but you didn't get it! However, in the grand scheme of things, this was minor and is more than made up for by the whole experience we had.

Room Tip: Refurbed rooms with Sea views cannot be beaten - non refurbed with car park, obviously not so good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Hi Mark. Thanks so much for your review. It's nice to have it from the grooms perspective. Apologies about the drinks. It must have been missed in the notes. Hopefully see you back at the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great hotel for exploring Pembrokeshire and in the Centre of Tenby with great sea views. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good with lots of variety. As we cycled to the hotel there was a room where we could keep our bikes. Roger the manager is a great help and very friendly.

Room Tip: Had a room overlooking beach, could hear sound of the sea at night which helped me to sleep better b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thanks for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your overall visit to the west of the country. Hopefully see you all again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in the Giltar for one night, my only complaint is that my boyfriend did not book one of the refurbished rooms! The room we had was clean, and well decorated with plenty of tea and coffee, my only real proper complaint is the noise from the TV next door, but that will get sorted as soon as they refurb that room. We asked the room service lady if we could have a look at one of the newly done out rooms, and wow boyfriend was definately in the bad books for not booking one of those, the bathroom looks fantastic, will be coming back to try and one of the new rooms as soon as we can.
Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked, all hotel staff were really friendly.
I still can't believe the bar prices, they were the cheapest I have ever paid in a hotel, and the bar area looks like it has just be re decorated so everything has a fresh clean feel to it.

Room Tip: Try and book one of the newly decorated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're pleased that you were able to see one of our refurbished rooms. Hopefully your boyfriend will get a second chance to impress you with a premier or deluxe room soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We spent one night here as part of a walking holiday. I telephoned ahead to ask if we could pay for an upgrade. I also asked about a table for dinner, but was informed there was no need to book. The hotel was full but they could upgrade us to the only room left that had a sea view instead of a car park view. I took that. The room was clean but it really shouldn't be marketed as a twin room, far too small. On arrival staff were friendly although no porterage offered. The public areas are pleasant. After a walk we returned at 7:30 for dinner, only to be told as there was a private function food wasn't available. No offer of a plate of sandwiches, no nothing! Breakfast was available and reasonable, but the fact that residents couldn't get dinner unforgivable. Wouldn't stay there again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

We're sorry to hear that you feel your stay was disappointing. We currently don't advertise a porter service, however if you were to mention on reception we'd have been more than happy to get one of our staff to provide assistance. On check-in you would have been advised of the dining room situation that evening as it is routine for us to inform all new guests. Our reception staff would have also advised of local restaurants available within a short walk of the hotel for a hot meal. We apologise for any confusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A great hotel, friendly staff and great food. Fantastic location for a Wedding. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff particularly Roger who looked after us very well for a family wedding. The room was decorated beautifully for the ceremony and the wedding breakfast. It is the second family I have attended in three years standards are still very high. Anyone thinking of a wedding at a hotel in South Wales should definitely consider the Giltar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Hi Linda. Thanks for your review. So pleased that you enjoyed the wedding. Very humbled to be noted as the best in South Wales for weddings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tenby
471 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
738 reviews
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £102 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing