We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“has potential to be very good.......”
Review of Normandie Inn

Normandie Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Normandie Inn
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Having just spent a Sunday night (£65 bed and breakfast) at the Normandie Inn and reading the reviews we would like to say the following. According to the staff the hotel has just re-opened after a 6 week "make over" - certainly the bar areas were newly painted and our large bedroom, number 5, was aswell. As for the furniture and fittings we would say they were not new , the bedroom furniture looked "tired" and the t.v could have well have been used on the arc but the shower facilities were excellent, there was plenty of tea and coffee in the room, there was an iron and ironing board and the heating, if anything, was too efficient!! We found the staff very pleasant and helpful , both our evening meal and breakfast were excellant, location ideal BUT it is not the cleanest of establishments and I would suggest investing in a dishwasher!! With a little more work and a little more refinement this hotel has potential to be very good.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerefordJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Normandie Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2009

Having read previous reviews about this hotel I have to say I was a little concerned as to what we would find. Well.... have no fear this hotel is lovely. It has been given a new lease of life. A recent refurb ( I think the paint had only just dried when we got there) has transformed it totally. It has been very well done.
Check out the fish tank !
Very spacious rooms, brilliant location.
Don't stay here if you need an early night on the weekend, get downstairs and join in !
Will return and stay again in the summer to enjoy delightful Tenby .

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4TSEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Well what an amazing evening i had In Tenby last night to meet up with my two lovely daughters before we do our own thing over xmas . Dinner last night was delicious , my room was so lovely and warm spotlessly clean and quiet by the time i went to bed at 1am !! Shower was fantastic after i laid in bed listening to the church bells calling everyone to Sunday service . Very central to this lovely town i parked my car on the sea front for free only 3 minutes away and loved the beautiful views of the sea and only wish i had more time to spend in lovely Tenby today . James the owner is totally charming and made me feel really at home will go back soon hopefully , something for everyone here as long as you are not grumpy or frumpy .................

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freedom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

I have stayed at the normandie many times over the years very happily however the last experience was a nightmare . There was no one to check in with , the windows were broke in the rooms so unable to close them , and the heating only came on at set times. As it is october it was freezing cold with the curtains blowing.

There was no one to check out with so we left keys in the bar area We were hoping to speak to the owner to explain our disatisfaction and hopefully have a discount on the room .

.A few days later when the credit card statement arrived we were shocked to see that the card had been debited for £120 . !! we could nt get through to speak to anyone when " rob " the alledged manager did finally get back to us he said it was because we had a late check out - past eleven o clock and also there was evidence of smoking in the room and it clearly stated there was no smoking in the welcome pack ( there was no welcome pack ) he then proceeded to laugh at me down the phone at my annoyance !!

We are still waiting for this matter to be resolved but will contact trading standards as they debited the card for an ammount that was not agreed.

In my opinion the establishment has dramatically gone down hill and is being run by immature, unprofessional young people.

I would not recommend staying here in this noisy ,dirty mickey mouse b & b !!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank natashaevans2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

I fully agree with the previous review from sonars from Leicester.

My partner and I booked a 3 night stay here after looking at the very impressive website, which is quite misleading really.

As soon as we walked in the door we were disappointed with the overall look of the place. It was cold in the main area in the day and it was not very clean in the bar area. In fact, the overall cleanliness of the place is questionable. The courtyard is very small and not covered, so when raining cannot be used.

We had one breakfast and the food was nice but was just a typical fry up. The young gentleman serving us wasn't quite expecting 6 guests to turn up at once, he was rushed and forgot to bring any toast etc until we were leaving the restaurant. I'm sure this was a one off for him. Also, the cutlery was dirty.

The room was ok but not to the standard you would expect for £80 per night and on one day our room had not been made up from the night before.

The young staff on the whole were very pleasant but on occasion could do with learning afew good manners.

On the good side - it is in an excellent location within the town (if you don't mind the noise).

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrottBewdley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

I stayed at the Normandie for a Friday night in late August with my Girlfriend.

The Normandie is basically a pub with accommodation upstairs. The pub is very noisy, dirty and busy. The LOUD music went on in until 1am. The pub is not a quaint or traditional type of pub but the sort that attracts the younger/rowdier crowd. We had the room directly above the bar (room 3) and when we returned at 11pm ready for a good sleep the room was vibrating with the sound of the music downstairs. It was that loud that you could actually sing along with the music.

We repeatedly phoned the reception/bar downstairs to see what time the music would be finishing but the staff just picked the phone up and put it down again without even talking to us! We then went downstairs to talk to the manager. He came up to the room, had a chat and offered us the room for half price (£40) which we accepted.

I can't comment on the food in the morning because we had a walk down to the harbour and had a cuppa and a bacon bap overlooking the sea.

The room itself was ok. It was large and decorated to an acceptable standard and the bathroom was fine. There is no reception area for this hotel. You just walk up to the bar in the pub and get served by the bar staff.

The location of the Normandie is very good and parking at the local multi story (less than five mins walk away) is very reasonable and convenient at only £2 for for 24 hours.

The Normandie should be aimed at the Stag/Hen Do market as the noise from the pub is totally unacceptable for a romantic or family break.

£80 per night is a joke for this type of accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2008

Our stay in Tenby was excellent, the normandie was perfect for me, since i enjoy socialising and being in the hustle and bustle of town. The rooms are nicely decorated, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.. i didn't notice the smell of bleach, and also mentioned the previous reviews on this site, to the manager.
He was wonderfully friendly, and told us that he hasnt been at the pub/hotel long, and is in the process of improving all sorts of parts of the business and aspects of the service.
The normandie is an ideal place to stay if you are in Tenby for the weekend, and will be socialising and out and about in the evenings. The price tag of £80 a night is reasonable considering the location and the size/decor of the rooms..

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank steviesoleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.2 mi away
Southcliff Hotel
Southcliff Hotel
#15 of 23 in Tenby
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Hotel
The Belgrave Hotel
#16 of 23 in Tenby
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Inn

Address: Upper Frog Street, Tenby SA70 7JD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £77 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Normandie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandie Hotel Tenby
Normandie Inn Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing