We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely clean and well run small *** star hotel”
Review of Southcliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southcliff Hotel
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Extremely clean and well run small *** star hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Excellent check-in with host Brian who was very informative providing map of Tenby with all attractions. He answered all our questions. The hotel is one block from Esplanade, old walled town and public parking for car. Breakfast was provided as ordered in beautiful dining room. Huge selection of teas provided. Very well done! There is a guest lounge, also immaculately decorated. Children are welcome and well catered for with games room. My only quibble is that our room was a bit overcrowded with a double bed and a single bed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver_Budgie_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    25
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
72
62
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed for a week with 3 children in the family room. We couldn't have wished for a more friendly and welcoming hotel. You might find a cheaper hotel you may even find one as good as the southcliff but you definately won't find a better one. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners who went more than the extra mile, everything about it great and we're already planning next years stay in the Southcliff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterPhil10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Great value. Pam and Brian were the best host ... made you feel like a most welcome guest in their home. Rooms were clean with nice extra touches. Location is ideal .... easy walk to beach and the walled part of Tenby.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lrc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights with my partner and another couple. its a lovely hotel run by very friendly people, although it is a little old fashioned and could do with a bit of updating. The rooms were clean, but as ive said, very out of date with the bed covers, curtains and wardrobe curtain all matching. we had a walk in shower in our en suite which was nice, and the rooms were cleaned every morning. the best thing about the hotel is that everything is spotless, with a lovely fresh smell everywhere you go! i would stay here again, but if your looking for a hotel to stay at with a group of friends it wouldnt be for you. definately for couples and families looking for a quiet, undisturbed stay.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkilyn20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Booked the Southcliff Hotel based on reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.
Upon arrival at the hotel we checked in and met the owner Brian, who was very welcoming and told us about Tenby as a whole before showing us to our rooms. The only weird aspect was we were asked to pay our remaining balance before our stay as opposed to on check out. Not that this was a problem, but it seemed different to the majority of hotels/B&B's.


Previous reviews mention the adjacent car park as the place to park which is £15 for 24 hours.This is only for 9pm-9am though, so if you come back to the hotel in the day it's another £2.50. If you don't mind a walk however, the multi storey car park about 5-10 minutes away near Sainsburys is only £2 for a full 24 hours and you can come back and to as much as you want.


The rooms were decorated in a green colour with matching curtains and bed spreads and bathroom suite. It was as a previous reviewer said, a bit like staying at grandmas! It was nicely done though and spotlessly clean, and there was all manner of extra touches to make you feel at home such as bottled water, make up wipes, and a wide selection of tea/coffee.There was a plasma style TV on the wall with digital so had lots of channels.
The bed was very hard and I did wake up with an achey back one morning but this could be because of a different bed, not an uncomfortable one but some people could struggle.
Plenty of towels and flannels were provided and rooms were cleaned every day.

Breakfast was pre ordered the night before by filling in a sheet which is left in the room each day, and you specify what you would like e.g sausages (1 or 2), bacon (1 or 2), scrambled or poached egg, tomatoes, beans or mushrooms. You can also select if you want porridge or melon. You hand these into reception the night before and this ensures you get exactly what you want when you want it. Before the cooked breakfast is served you can choose from cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a huge selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. You are also served orange or apple juice and copious amounts of warm toast.

The hotel location is very good, about 5 minutes from the town centre and 2 minutes from South Beach. It can get slightly noisy if you are on a corner room but overall it is a nice peaceful hotel.

I'm sure there are nicer and more glamorous hotels in Tenby but the reason this is so highly rated is the friendliness and approachable nature of Pam and Brian (the owners) who go out of their way to help you, and the cleanliness of the hotel which is second to none.

If we return to Tenby we will definitely be back here, as we know the service we receive will be exemplary and the rooms will be spotless and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkBTID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2010

My fiance and I stayed at the Southcliff Hotel the weekend just gone and had an absolutely wonderful stay. We arrived very late on Friday and I was expecting to have problems checking in but the owner was there waiting. We were shown to our room, had an offer to help carry luggage up and were asked if we'd eaten or needed to know anywhere to get food from. Much more welcoming than any other hotel I've ever been to.

A plus for us was that a vegetarian breakfast was offered and we were given a card to fill in with what we wanted. Breakfast was served between 8am and 9am. Considering this is a small hotel, I think that this is fine. Breakfast consisted of as much toast as you'd like, fruit, cereal and a cooked breakfast. Plenty there for the heaviest of eaters.

The room was spacious and the bed fairly comfortable. The mattress a little thin for me but provided a good nights sleep nevertheless. TV had freeview which was nice and the bathroom was adequate size. The water was hot whenever required and I found the shower strength to be fine too.

The location of the hotel was central to the town centre and beach but there was a lack of free parking. This seems to be the case though across the town so not much can be done about this. There was however, a car park located just a minute away with ample parking for £15 for 24 hours.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. The only thing to note that it was more of a B&B rather than a hotel but this makes no difference in my opinion!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anandraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Location is fantastic minutes from a beautiful beach which is really beautiful . The hotel is more like staying at Grammas as in it feels like going to stay with her its nice and warm , home made cooking , relaxing , immaculate , friendly chintzy floral furnishings and so homely . Breakfast was amazing the staff could not of done more to make our stay more comfortable

We cant wait to go back !

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southcliff Hotel

Property: Southcliff Hotel
Address: Victoria Street, Tenby SA70 7DY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tenby
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tenby
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southcliff Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Southcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southcliff Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing