We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Ironman Wales”
Review of Wychwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wychwood House
Ranked #3 of 53 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal for Ironman Wales”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed here 3 nights as a guest of the perfect hosts, Lee and Mherly. They were extremely helpful and welcoming.

After finishing my first Ironman triathlon I returned to a hero's welcome that evening and a superb full english breakfast the next morning.

Thank you both for your much needed help.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    25
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
168
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Having just spent 3 nights at Wychwood House, I have to write to recommend the experience. Lee & Mherly were wonderful hosts & nothing was too much trouble. We were watching the Wales Ironman,so left early(6am) to walk into Tenby to see the swim, & returned at 9:30 for a superb late breakfast which like the other 2 was delicious.
We spent the rest of the day in Tenby,then having watched our son finish,a quick phone call to Lee & dinner awaited our return at 8pm!,
I would be surprised if a better B&B can be found in the area,nay in Pembrokeshire!
Well done to both of you & we look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: The view from the front R bedroom is lovely, over to Caldy Island on the R ,Tenby to the left &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikejw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at Wychwood House in Penally, just South of Tenby. If you enjoy walking this is the perfect base for exploring the coast around Tenby. Access to the coastal paths is easy and it is a pleasant mile or so walk across the golf links into Tenby and the spectacular South beach. Lee and Mherly were so friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were fabulous. We had a four poster room with shared balcony and sea view and it felt like home from home with a warm welcome from Lee when we returned each evening. We didn't have an evening meal but it sounds as if we missed a treat! We would definitely return to this lovely house in Penally. Mo and Steve

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoandSteveBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had such a good time over there!
Lee and Mherly have been very nice and welcoming with us. The food was very very good too, the evening meal is highly recommended !!
The B&B is in a very good position, close to Tendby centre by foot and not far (with the car) from Stackpole, amazing place!

Thanks and see you soon..

A&J

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea_newuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed for three nights at the beginning of August, and had the evening meal each night, and were SO pleased that we did!
I rang to book for the meals a few days before we set off for Wychwood House, and was given the choice of main meal, but the starter and pudding was to be a surprise, which was great, and we were delighted with Lee's decisions as to what to serve each evening.
So much care and attention had gone into the cooking, we had fun trying to guess all the ingredients, and Lee kindly gave me the recipe for a couple of them, but I won't be able to make then to his standard, I'm afraid.
We took along our own wines, and it was nice that Lee reminded us that they would need to be chilled, and did this for us!
All in all, nothing was too much trouble for Lee and Mherly, they went beyond the call of duty, and we are adding our names to the long list of guests whom will definitely be back.
Thank you both for a lovely four days in Penally

Room Tip: Four poster with balcony lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

we were met with an exceptionally warm welcome even though our hosts were having their lunch at the time of our arrival. we were shown to our lovely room with four poster bed and spectacular views .I would without a doubt stay here again and highly recommend this very special B&B

Room Tip: A balcony room is well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daddydo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

A lovely B&B in small village of Penally close to Tenby. Good room with en suite. Stairs to rooms make it hard when you have a lot of luggage. Breakfast was terrific and set course evening meal cooked by the host was excellent. Hosts very welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
1.4 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trefloyne Manor
Trefloyne Manor
#5 of 53 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wychwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wychwood House

Property: Wychwood House
Address: Penally, Tenby SA70 7PE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Country House enjoying see views situated in a beautiful village a short walk from Tenby South Beach, with footpath to Tenby (20 minutes walk) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wychwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wychwood House Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing