We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, excellent breakfast”
Review of Myrtle House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tenby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myrtle House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I can't imagine anyone being disappointed by the service this hotel offers. For a 2 star guest house in a period building in the heart of Tenby the overall package is faultless. The Landlady is most well organised and very personable. On arrival she drove round with us helping us to find a free parking space - which was only 80m away. The room had a sea view, everything worked, it's not ultra modern but very cozy. Breakfast is only from 8-9am so don't miss it as the bacon is a cut above normal. Have no hesitation in recommending this B&B - a little gem!

Room Tip: Room 2 has a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Great value for money at this B & B with everything being lovely and clean. Jan and Rob are great hosts, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was lovely and my vegi diet catered for. Ideally located to enjoy Tenby and within easy reach (2 mins) of the towns restaurants and bars. Although there was no parking at the B & B it was not a problem as Rob hopped in the car a directed my husband to a free parking space 2 mins away.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KellyAnne12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We're just back from 3 days in Tenby staying at the Myrtle house. Jan is a great host with always a warm welcome and the rooms are immaculately clean and comfortable. She went the extra mile to deal with our veggie diets and the breakfasts were fantastic, much more than we could eat. Will definitely visit again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My mother and I stayed here in September 2013. When booking our stay, I did have some concerns because parking is not allowed within the old town walls; however, on arrival, Jan hopped in the car and directed me to a (free) parking spot only a short walk away. From then on, our stay was great! Our room on the second floor overlooked the street but was perfectly quiet, other than the welcome clip-clopping as a horse and carriage went by periodically through the day. The sea was just down at the bottom of the street, with incredibly beautiful views. The food at breakfast was delicious, and always served with a cheery smile and friendly conversation. The central location meant that it was easy to walk throughout the town, and we were even lucky enough to be in Tenby at the right time to attend a performance of the excellent Tenby Male Choir at the nearby church. We had looked forward to our stay, but the reality was even better than we'd hoped, thanks to the warm hospitality we experienced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

From a welcome so fine at "The Myrtle",
We relaxed like a lazy old turtle.
But Jan's merriment so willing
Providing breakfasts fulfilling
Joyfully into our days we did hurtle.

Thanks so much, Jan and Rob, for a superb weekend.
Oct 11-14 2013.
John and Cynthia

Room Tip: Our room at the top of the house had sea views from both windows. Very quiet as away from what littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We arrived unannounced on a Thursday night in October 2013, looking for a place for only one night. Our first impressions of Tenby were so amazing, that when we stopped to inquire at the Myrtle House Hotel and learned that they had a minimum two nights stay, we immediately decided to alter our plans and make this work.

Our hostess Jan, could not have been more welcoming. She had just wrapped up a delightful roast pork dinner with her two grandsons, when she hopped in our car and directed me to a free parking space a short distance away. Just smelling the aroma of that delicious homemade meal swirling around her made me hungry for pork myself.

Our room was made warm and cozy while we were out having a great dinner at 'the place where the locals eat' - The Hope And Anchor Pub. We slept well in the comfortable bed with sparkling white linens.

Breakfast the next morning was hearty and delicious. Jan gave us great advice on where to go in order to explore the southwest part of Wales to the fullest. We felt like we were coming home after a long day's driving the byways here and there all the way to St. Davids Cathedral.

As we settled in to use the super fast WiFi (the best we'd found in the UK so far - though this was a complete surprise to Jan), she set off to Sainsbury's to get fresh produce for tomorrow's breakfast. She looked so bright and colourful, I asked if I could take her photo and she kindly obliged. I've posted it here so you can see for yourself the warm and friendly smile she has on her face throughout the day.

You will not be disappointed with your stay at the Myrtle House Hotel. It's a 200-year-old building, that wears its age with grace. Jan's energy and enthusiasm more than makes up for anything one might find a little dated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SadhusWithiPods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a very hospitable guesthouse, perfectly situated in a quiet street, with the sea at the bottom of the road, but very close to the town centre. It's certainly recommended. We'll definitely be going back - always providing we can get in. It usually seems to be full.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertwoffinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.2 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#6 of 23 in Tenby
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle House Hotel

Address: St. Marys Street, Tenby SA70 7HW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tenby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £28 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Myrtle House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Myrtle Hotel Tenby
Myrtle House Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing