We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Myrtle house return”
Review of Myrtle House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tenby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myrtle House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Myrtle house return”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just returned from another great stay at the myrtle house hotel ,jan and robs attention to detail is first class from the time you arrive to the time you leave .when you arrive they find a car parking space for you there's a welcoming cup of coffee or tea the rooms are great spotlessly clean and a good size .breakfast is always good and a good choice ,jan makes sure your set up for the day.this was our fourth visit and each time we felt like family and not paying guests .if your going to tenby give jan and rob a ring you won't be disappointed !cheers Jac and Liz x x

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    37
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
61
142
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of October and beginning of November when we were in need of a recouping break. Tenby was beautiful in all weathers. Very busy town on the Saturday night but peaceful and tranquil the rest of our stay. Jan and Rob were the perfect hosts throughout, nothing was too much trouble for them from Rob collecting us from the railway station despite us being delayed for over an hour and Jan making us hot drinks within minutes of our arrival. The room was elegant and spacious, beautiful linen and immaculately clean. The shower was powerful and plentiful supplies of hot water with fresh fluffy white towels every day. Rob's breakfasts were famous from reading other reviews before we arrived and we weren't at all disappointed an any aspect, from quantity to quality. We truly felt we were treated as family and guests within their home rather than "customers". I wonderful break and we shall certainly try to stay again when we next visit .

Room Tip: We had a double room at the front with a huge bay window, as shown in the broucher photo. We had a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 942NandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The proprietors messed up our e-mail booking. (Wish there was room to post the e-mails.) We found out when we telephoned to confirm our arrival time to be told by the proprietors that they had no knowledge of us and were going on holiday so we were done. On expressing our opinion that this was not professional we suffered a verbal assault and were told we were entirely to blame. We were struck dumb.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Relax_and_live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jalemro, Owner at Myrtle House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We replied to an e-mail enquiry regarding availability. We received no further communication until the day before this gentleman was due to arrive when he telephoned to give us an arrival time. We informed him that he had not booked in to our hotel. No deposit was received from him regarding a booking. We can only apologise, as far as we knew no booking had been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I can't imagine anyone being disappointed by the service this hotel offers. For a 2 star guest house in a period building in the heart of Tenby the overall package is faultless. The Landlady is most well organised and very personable. On arrival she drove round with us helping us to find a free parking space - which was only 80m away. The room had a sea view, everything worked, it's not ultra modern but very cozy. Breakfast is only from 8-9am so don't miss it as the bacon is a cut above normal. Have no hesitation in recommending this B&B - a little gem!

Room Tip: Room 2 has a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Great value for money at this B & B with everything being lovely and clean. Jan and Rob are great hosts, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was lovely and my vegi diet catered for. Ideally located to enjoy Tenby and within easy reach (2 mins) of the towns restaurants and bars. Although there was no parking at the B & B it was not a problem as Rob hopped in the car a directed my husband to a free parking space 2 mins away.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyAnne12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We're just back from 3 days in Tenby staying at the Myrtle house. Jan is a great host with always a warm welcome and the rooms are immaculately clean and comfortable. She went the extra mile to deal with our veggie diets and the breakfasts were fantastic, much more than we could eat. Will definitely visit again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My mother and I stayed here in September 2013. When booking our stay, I did have some concerns because parking is not allowed within the old town walls; however, on arrival, Jan hopped in the car and directed me to a (free) parking spot only a short walk away. From then on, our stay was great! Our room on the second floor overlooked the street but was perfectly quiet, other than the welcome clip-clopping as a horse and carriage went by periodically through the day. The sea was just down at the bottom of the street, with incredibly beautiful views. The food at breakfast was delicious, and always served with a cheery smile and friendly conversation. The central location meant that it was easy to walk throughout the town, and we were even lucky enough to be in Tenby at the right time to attend a performance of the excellent Tenby Male Choir at the nearby church. We had looked forward to our stay, but the reality was even better than we'd hoped, thanks to the warm hospitality we experienced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 23 in Tenby
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle House Hotel

Property: Myrtle House Hotel
Address: St. Marys Street, Tenby SA70 7HW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tenby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#5 Family Hotel in Tenby
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Myrtle House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Myrtle Hotel Tenby
Myrtle House Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing