We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The King's New Clothes!!!”
Review of Rose Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rose Cottage
Ranked #18 of 53 Tenby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here early August and have been doing battle with them since then trying to get compensation. Having previously stayed in four star welsh assessed properties we knew what to expect! This was just not up to the mark in so many ways. So disappointed that I wrote to the welsh tourist board only to find that they had been falsely trading for three years. Wrote to Rose cottage three times as instructed by consumer rights to complain but heard nothing back. Eventually got compensation through my credit card company. Trading standards have been informed and as far as I am aware they have got off with a caution. If you are not sure what to expect of a four star welsh assessed establishment look on their website where you can find the criteria then match it up with your experience there! never again!

Room Tip: We had room four!! Brick wall and washing line as a view . Simply stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fingersfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelaregan, Owner at Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

This lady and gentleman did indeed stay with us in August 2013 for 2 nights. It was really disappointing to read this review as we felt we had done everything possible to make them happy even giving them a lift into Tenby because they were having car problems.
This lady gave us no indication that she was unhappy with her stay here so you can imagine our surprise when we received her request for compensation.
May I assure the lady that we are a fully legitimate WALES TOURIST BOARD 4 STAR GRADED bed and breakfast and that we COMPLY FULLY with all the necessary criteria.
As regards to the rooms view there is a white washed privacy wall visible from room 4.

As far as being given compensation from their credit card company I find this very hard to believe as everybody would be refunded if they did not get the view they had imagined they were getting. I think this lady is a product of a compensation culture gone mad. I also believe that she was confusing hotel grading with bed and breakfast grading which has completely different criteria.

We believe as well as many many satisfied customers do that we offer a really good product.
If this lady was so unhappy why did she not mention it to myself or my husband while she was staying here so that we could have resolved the situation or left after the first night.




I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just back from a 6 night stay. Andrew and Angela are lovely...nothing is too much for them. Lovely rooms, towels changed daily, tea and coffee..plus biscuits topped up too. Cracking breakfast (try the prunes with yoghurt! ) Great base for touring. Haven of peace and quiet too.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Angela and Andrew are amazing people, nothing is too much trouble. We have just returned after a 4 night stay, we were amazed that the towels are changed everyday without asking, even the biscuits are topped up every morning! Breakfast is full English but you Angela will match your requirement upon request without any hassle. 20 minute walk into either Tenby or Saundersfoot.

We would have no hesitation in staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycouple188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and i have just returned from a weeks touring in Wales, which we enjoyed immensely. The last two nights of our trip were spent at rose cottage. Our double room was wonderful, clean, spacious and very welcoming. Add this to the excellently cooked breakfast and friendly hosts we could not have wished for a better place to stay and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coleman842013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I have just returned from a fabulous week holidaying in the Tenby area with my family. Our accommodation at 'Rose Cottage' was great! The family room was clean, comfortable and had all we needed. Each morning we were greeted with a wonderful 'full English' breakfast that was cooked to perfection to set us up for the day ahead. Our hosts were lovely, friendly, very approachable and did all they could to make the stay enjoyable. We will certainly be returning to Tenby and Rose Cottage and would highly recommend this guest house to anyone! Thank you for helping make our week so enjoyable....D

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at Rose Cottage the weekend before last and have never been greeted with such warm hospitality. The guest house is beautifully decorated - really tastefully done - not your standard B&B by long way. The rooms are seperate from the main residence which gives you a lot of privacy and means that you don't feel like you're in someone elses home. However we spent a lot of time in the house, chatting with the warm and friendly owners, who could not do enough for us during our stay. Without being instrusive (quite the reverse) they were knowledgable about the local area and recommended (and even booked us into) a lovely restuarant on the Saturday night. The breakfast was lovely - all locally sourced and cooked to order. We would (and will) go back in a flash. A real find.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife have just returned from a 2 night stay at Rose cottage. We had a lovely and enjoyable stay.

The hosts are great and very friendly and cook a great breakfast!!

Location is ideal for a nice 20min walk into Tenby town centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanBarnett29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
1.5 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
271 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ivy Bank Guest House
Ivy Bank Guest House
#24 of 53 in Tenby
115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Croyland Guest House
Croyland Guest House
#1 of 53 in Tenby
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Wychwood House
Wychwood House
#5 of 53 in Tenby
272 reviews
1.3 mi away
Langdon Villa Guest House
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Cottage

Address: New Hedges, Tenby SA70 8TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range: £68 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Cottage is a lovely 140 year old Blacksmiths Cottage. The guests rooms are located in the former stable block, but converted to a very high standard a few years ago. We are a 4-Star Wales Tourist Board accredited accommodation. The rooms are contemporary in design with flat-screen televisions with freeview and internet access. Breakfast is taken in the main house and are ingredients are local and of high quality. All eggs are free range. We also have secure gated car parking for 12 cars. 1 mile from Tenby and Saundersfoot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Rose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Cottage Hotel Tenby
Rose Cottage Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing