We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Guest House”
Review of Rose Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rose Cottage
Ranked #18 of 52 Tenby B&B and Inns
Rhayader, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Guest House”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at Rose Cottage for 3 days in Easter Week. Andrew and Angela are excellent hosts, nothing was too much trouble. The room was exceptionally clean, we very pleasantly surprised that the bed was made up and bathroom and room cleaned each day. Tea and biscuits replenished and fresh milk provided at the beginning of the stay. The room also had a fridge, hairdryer, flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms are on the ground floor and have their own entrance so no need to invade the privacy of the main house; although breakfast was served in the smart and clean dining area. No complaints about breakfast; juice, cereals, yoghurt and full English on offer. The latter cooked to your liking. Tenby was a very pleasant 20 minute walk through an Access Only lane lined with blue bells and wild garlic. Taxis were £5 - £7 in the evening to get back. The car was safely parked in the gated forecourt to the house.
This guest house is well worth the money; we will without doubt be returning for another stay. Thank you Andrew and Angela for a fabulous 3 days, you run an excellent establishment! x :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buffy7263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    17
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
119
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

A few years ago (like 2012) we visited Tenby because we heard it was such a lovely place! We had booked to stay here for a few days, and my did we pick the best B&B in Wales! At first we couldn't find it! Lol. But when we finally did it was clear we had chosen a great place to stay! The little establishment had a car park for guests and the rooms were very easy to access. When we walked into our room for 3, it was like a little house! All you could ever need really! Wardrobes, kettle, (with biscuits and coffee, hot chocolate satchets and tea bags!) bathroom with shower in a bath, and the most comfy beds ever! The lovely owner of the B&B kindly awaited our arrival and made us feel at home straight away! The breakfast was delicious as well! The owner also recommended us some places to visit during our stay! When we tried to book last year they were all full up! - Now that shows something! Overall lovely stay and are defiantly going to try again this year! :)

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank EleanorHall2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here early August and have been doing battle with them since then trying to get compensation. Having previously stayed in four star welsh assessed properties we knew what to expect! This was just not up to the mark in so many ways. So disappointed that I wrote to the welsh tourist board only to find that they had been falsely trading for three years. Wrote to Rose cottage three times as instructed by consumer rights to complain but heard nothing back. Eventually got compensation through my credit card company. Trading standards have been informed and as far as I am aware they have got off with a caution. If you are not sure what to expect of a four star welsh assessed establishment look on their website where you can find the criteria then match it up with your experience there! never again!

Room Tip: We had room four!! Brick wall and washing line as a view . Simply stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fingersfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelaregan, Owner at Rose Cottage, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
This lady and gentleman did indeed stay with us in August 2013 for 2 nights. It was really disappointing to read this review as we felt we had done everything possible to make them happy even giving them a lift into Tenby because they were having car problems.
This lady gave us no indication that she was unhappy with her stay here so you can imagine our surprise when we received her request for compensation.
May I assure the lady that we are a fully legitimate WALES TOURIST BOARD 4 STAR GRADED bed and breakfast and that we COMPLY FULLY with all the necessary criteria.
As regards to the rooms view there is a white washed privacy wall visible from room 4.

As far as being given compensation from their credit card company I find this very hard to believe as everybody would be refunded if they did not get the view they had imagined they were getting. I think this lady is a product of a compensation culture gone mad. I also believe that she was confusing hotel grading with bed and breakfast grading which has completely different criteria.

We believe as well as many many satisfied customers do that we offer a really good product.
If this lady was so unhappy why did she not mention it to myself or my husband while she was staying here so that we could have resolved the situation or left after the first night.




I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just back from a 6 night stay. Andrew and Angela are lovely...nothing is too much for them. Lovely rooms, towels changed daily, tea and coffee..plus biscuits topped up too. Cracking breakfast (try the prunes with yoghurt! ) Great base for touring. Haven of peace and quiet too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Angela and Andrew are amazing people, nothing is too much trouble. We have just returned after a 4 night stay, we were amazed that the towels are changed everyday without asking, even the biscuits are topped up every morning! Breakfast is full English but you Angela will match your requirement upon request without any hassle. 20 minute walk into either Tenby or Saundersfoot.

We would have no hesitation in staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycouple188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and i have just returned from a weeks touring in Wales, which we enjoyed immensely. The last two nights of our trip were spent at rose cottage. Our double room was wonderful, clean, spacious and very welcoming. Add this to the excellently cooked breakfast and friendly hosts we could not have wished for a better place to stay and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coleman842013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I have just returned from a fabulous week holidaying in the Tenby area with my family. Our accommodation at 'Rose Cottage' was great! The family room was clean, comfortable and had all we needed. Each morning we were greeted with a wonderful 'full English' breakfast that was cooked to perfection to set us up for the day ahead. Our hosts were lovely, friendly, very approachable and did all they could to make the stay enjoyable. We will certainly be returning to Tenby and Rose Cottage and would highly recommend this guest house to anyone! Thank you for helping make our week so enjoyable....D

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
1.4 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
1.0 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 23 in Tenby
535 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Cottage

Property: Rose Cottage
Address: New Hedges, Tenby SA70 8TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Cottage is a lovely 140 year old Blacksmiths Cottage. The guests rooms are located in the former stable block, but converted to a very high standard a few years ago. We are a 4-Star Wales Tourist Board accredited accommodation. The rooms are contemporary in design with flat-screen televisions with freeview and internet access. Breakfast is taken in the main house and are ingredients are local and of high quality. All eggs are free range. We also have secure gated car parking for 12 cars. 1 mile from Tenby and Saundersfoot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Rose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Cottage Hotel Tenby
Rose Cottage Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing