We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Highly recommended!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel Highly recommended!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

A Fab Hotel with Friendly Staff who couldnt do enough for you The Dining Room faced the Sea with the most wonderful Views food was served Hot with lovely smiley Faces.The Guests Entertainment area Had Lovely Sofas to relax on and this made you feel as if you wouldnt want to move!!Entertainment was provided Excellent as expected would definately reccomend a Holiday at This Hotel you couldnt go wrong !!

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior Room They are amazing !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony3438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123PJR, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Anthony3438, I am pleased you liked the comfortable entertainment lounge arrangements and enjoyed the entertainment that was provided during your stay. Both the superior & premier rooms have been decorated to very high standards and are excellent value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    203
    101
    48
    36
See reviews for
92
363
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

i would recomend going into the imperial hotel tenby,i had 20 elderly friends on a day trip to tenby,there was a lot of choices for meals,but our group wanted somewhere,a bit more relaxed than a pub or caf'e,I went into the Imperial hotel,(close to shops)ask the manager if he could make space for 20 tired elderly people,to have a tea/scones,and toilets,
To my surprise he(peter)said no problem,,the staff were helpful and afternoon tea was served,We were taken to the piano lounge by one of the staff,by receptionist all the group said it was the perfect end to a lovely day at Tenby and to be treated so nice by manager and staffWe would like to say thankyou

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags4922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

I stayed for the weekend with a couple of friends. I have to say the location was stunning, the room was clean and well worth the money we paid.

The staff could not have been nicer or more professional. The assistant manageress, Angelique i think, was warm and welcoming, as were the other receptionists and the manager.

Over all i couldn't have asked for better and have recommended it on to friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barty58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123PJR, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Hello Barty58, I am pleased that your party enjoyed staying with us. I totally agree that the location that we are in is indeed “Stunning”. Thank you for your comments about the professionalism of the staff, our standards in customer service is an area which we pride ourselves on. I have passed your kind comments onto the staff members you mentioned. Hoping to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

After we convinced ourselves that the smell behind the bath and toilet that first resembled stale urine was probably old damp wood, we said to each other that we need not stay in the hotel any more than need be.
We are not ones to complain, and we could not really blame the housekeeping, because the room that we stayed in was so in need of updating that however much cleaning, bleaching and hoovering had been done, it was impossible to get away from the fact that the room was at best shabbby and at worst terribly poor value for money.

Whenever we stay at a hotel, our benchmark has always been the dimly lit hotel in Chicago where an outline of a deceased body on the floor would not have been out of place. However even that hotels saving grace was that the poverty of our resources had been rewarded by a similar standard. In this case, the Imperial was not cheap, but the bathroom competed admirably with the horror that presented us across the pond. I expected at least a shower, not some cheap rubber hose pipes to fit to the bath taps.

On our last day, we glimpsed at the room opposite whose door had been left ajar. Clearly this room had been refurbished and we looked on in envy like a pauper coverting his masters new shoes.
Our room was thankfully in contrast to the rest of the hotel which was of a much newer and higher standard. So in conclusion if you are to book with this hotel, make sure you ask for an updated room and you will then not be disappointed as the standard of the staff , breakfast, bar and reception areas would not be incongruous with the accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Inn-a-Sense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Ok so I'm going to dispel any myths about this hotel and bad reviews, we have just arrived home today after staying for two days for a special anniversary with two friends.

The location couldn't have been better, the scenes over Tenby beach were outstanding from the hotel, a short walk up in to town ( around 5 min) takes you to all the little snug shops and fab resturaunts available.

Hotel itself, the rooms are a little tired and need a lick of paint here and there, but clean and comfortable, the dining room and bar/lounge areas are absolutely lovely, there is a lovely terrace outside with the most breatking views I have ever seen, fortunately I saw this quite often being a smoker. The staff were very pleasant and could not do enough for us.

Breakfast and evening meals were absolutely lovely ( the soup especially ), meals were brought out within 10 mins of your first course finishing. Can't fault it.

The manager Peter should be proud of the staff he had on this particular weekend we were there, absolutely first class.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room, with a terrace or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo_Shields70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Would just like to say myself and my partner just had a fantastic 4 day break at the imperial tenby this is our 6th stay with shearings and the coast and country brand is superb could not fault anything regarding hotel the restraunt had breathtaking views followed by superb food every night ! would like to thank managment and staff yet again for our lovely break will be coming back in july just a superb location .5 * all round .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevenprice69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123PJR, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thanks Steven for writing a very favourable review and as a team we are pleased that you enjoyed yet another break at one of our hotels. We are fortunate to have breath taking views at the hotel and these along with the excellent quality of service given by the team is why guests like you come back time after time again. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

Welcoming, attentive staff, clean towels and bedding, otherwise didn't want to touch anything because of ingrained dirt and grime. We occupied room 4 and the peeling paint photographed by a reviewer last October was still there - only more of it. We had French doors onto the large public terrasse directly over the beach. The bathroom light-pull was black, the mended chip in the sink had a brown edge. The kettle had ingrained dirt on the lead. One of the two mugs had a cracked handle, the other had two brown irremovable marks in the bottom. Both were changed without problem, but should not have been there in the first place. Carpets had no pile, more like felt and essentially clean except for a border all around of 3/4inch of dirt. The pillows felt as if stuffed with cardboard, the mattress had a hard edge, like a 'ring of steel'. We slept surprisingly well (probably alcohol fuelled)The corner in the bathroom by the sink and area behind loo looked as if they'd never been cleaned. I am mobility impaired and had requested a walk-in shower, or a bath with grab handles to assist getting in and out. There was one vertical handle on the wall alongside the bath. I am of average height, but could not reach the handle from outside the bath, so had to make do with stripwash.Throughout the public areas paint finish which should have been white had dirty marks, one handrail so bad that it looked black.
Food was better on the Saturday night than on the Friday, but still insipid, more 'greasy spoon' quality than a la carte. Breakfast was good. Service was good, a little slow because of the volume of diners, could have done with more staff. Gluten-free diet no problem, staff well educated in what was suitable - maybe because one of the reception staff has coeliac disease.
All-in-all a big pity, the setting is outstanding and this tired hotel could easily be a five star experience rather than the low budget option it currently presents for mid-budget prices.
We shall not be staying in a Shearings establishment again.

Room Tip: £20/nt for sea view+ xtra for superior rm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank purple_gran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123PJR, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thanks you so much for taking the time to write a detailed review which contains many positives as well as negatives and I have looked through these with my management team who have addressed the relevant issues. We are an extremely popular hotel appreciated by young and old and we do our best to cater for a wide range of customer needs, from specific dietary requirements which you mentioned to limited mobility requirements. This isn’t as you stated for the benefit of one of our staff but is general practice across the Coast and Country Hotel chain which prides itself in offering excellent comfort and relaxing surroundings whilst remaining great value for money. Our popularity is testament to how satisfied our guests are and as you can see from the most recent review dated 27 May where the customer rates the hotel 5 star all round, overall we have an extremely high guest satisfaction level. We do however strive for excellence and are constantly improving the standard of the rooms and the quality of our service so we will ensure the areas for improvement which you have mentioned will be addressed. Please don’t let one experience deter you from visiting us again.

PS-The room tip is you provided is incorrect as a sea view room is only £5.50 per person extra per night
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#13 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 24 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Tenby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Property: The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Address: The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Tenby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel, Tenby is built into the ancient stone walls of Tenby, overlooking its beautiful South Beach. The hotel boasts truly spectacular views towards Caldey Island. Inside the hotel, you’ll find a comfortable and charming place to unwind and relax. The Pembrokeshire region of South Wales is home to some of the most spectacular coastline in the British Isles. At the heart of this charming and picturesque setting can be found the town of Tenby, with its cobbled streets and ancient stone walls. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Tenby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Tenby
The Imperial Tenby Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing