We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“relaxing”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Spent a short end of summer break here, came by coach on a shearings holiday.Was really pleasantly suprised at the whole experience, would definately recomend this holiday. The hotel is in the process of refurbishment and as it is such a nice hotel in a brilliant location it will be a destination we will return to. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, i lost my cardigan and they bothered to look for it and return it to me. We had a lovely room which led out to the balcony with magnificant views of the beautiful beaches and small islands, however the less mobile may have difficulty getting down to the beach.The sea was shallow and warm with lots of families, including me, swimming and relaxing on the golden sands.This hotel is in an ideal location in the small town of Tenby with many small shops, pubs and places to eat good food, try the Hope and anchor for good local fish dishes, and just loved a pretty little gift shop, the jewellery junkee in frog street. Tenby is a friendly, quiet little town and soooo clean, cant wait to return and i would like to check out the zoo next time, so may need to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Many thanks for such a great review at your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel in Tenby. We are all very happy that you had a great short break and enjoyed the local area as well as the services of the Imperial. I shall certainly pass on your kind comments to all the team and I hope it wont be too long till you return for a longer stay with us so you will have enough time to visit the zoo and all the wonderful places around Tenby. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    213
    110
    58
    47
See reviews for
99
396
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

had a relaxing time at the hotel food and staff excellent

even though the room we had was a little bit of the tired side and the bath room was really for a midget to use toilet due to it being position tight to bath

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srwhit1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review at your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel. It´s great to hear you think our hotel is good value for money. I have passed on your lovely comments to all the staff and I hope to see you back soon. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Arrived at the Imperial Hotel in Tenby for a three night bank holiday break after a six hour drive from Bodelwyddan in North Wales and were welcomed – sorry wrong word – were processed by what I can only assume is an experimental male android at reception. We were read what I assume was a set script for arrivals at very high speed with the robot stumbling over the words so much it was mainly unintelligible. The lack of human interaction was rather unfortunate. I would suggest that this experiment has failed and that without serious reprogramming it may be better to return to having a human being on reception. If you get this android you will be able to tell as it has a piece of hair glued down the centre of its head presumably so that the engineers can get at the circuitry via the side panels.

We had booked and paid the extra for a sea view room and that is what we got but oh dear was it far removed from any of the brochure pictures. The maximum width of the room was about 10 ft (just over 3 metres) with a very small window. A real case of mis-selling on the part of Shearings.
The room was on the 4th floor which appeared from the outside to be the smallest part of the hotel so if booking try to avoid that floor.

Sitting on the bed proved an immediate pain with a wooden cross strut delivering a painful blow to my rear end. The bed was well past it’s sell by date and should have been scrapped many months ago.

Well that’s the negatives dealt with so moving on to better things: Tenby is an attractive resort and this hotel puts you in the heart of things. There is an excellent sun terrace to the rear of the hotel overlooking the sea and as we were fortunate enough to have good weather we made good use of that area.

Food in the hotel was generally good but do avoid the scrambled egg for breakfast. It would appear that someone has found a supply of WW2 powdered egg or similar. My wife ordered it on the first morning and it arrived grey in colour and was totally inedible. Other than that though the food was good.

Staff in general were very pleasant, with the exception as previously mentioned. What a shame we were not checked in by the lady on reception who was extremely charming.
There was entertainment in the hotel on one night with a very good lady singer called Carol Rees-Jones. Night time entertainment outside the hotel is rather difficult to find for us older age group as all the pubs/bars are crammed with youngsters having fun. Unfortunately we no longer quite fit into that group 8-)

We would recommend a trip to Caldey Island while you are in Tenby. It is owned by Cistercian monks and is a lovely place to spend some time. Caldey lies about 3 miles offshore so you get a nice little boat trip as well.

Finally a word of warning if you are a light sleeper. The noise of the seagulls will probably wake you at dawn or just before. In fact we had one gull that came and tapped on our window with its beak (I assume that someone had fed it previously) which was quite amusing during the day but not quite so amusing at about 5.00am.

Overall we had a good break in Tenby and certainly wouldn’t let an android or a dodgy bed spoil our enjoyment. The break was excellent value for money and we do not actually expect a five star experience for the price paid.

Oh and we were checked out by the android but I think that its speech circuit had almost completely burnt out as it could hardly say a word.

Room Tip: Avoid the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dagetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Visited Tenby for a day trip. On trying to decide where to eat , I suggested to my wife why not try the Imperial Hotel for lunch, as we’d visited it a good few years ago and remembered the view from the narrow balcony being quite spectacular.

From the outside the hotel looks a little tired and the entrance could be more attractive. On entering you don’t get a very good impression of a welcoming reception area, which is a shame as this hotel could be superb. Signage could also be improved, as we were trying to find the old balcony area. We eventually found a large terrace which had been added over the years. This terrace is excellent and without doubt probably the best location for a meal with a view in Tenby.

I ordered food and drinks at the bar and we took our seats on the terrace. The terrace could do with having a few more tables and chairs and would be greatly enhanced with glass balustrade, as the view when sitting down is obstructed by the railings.

The food took a while , but was served by a pleasant Lithuanian young man. Unfortunately the food wasn’t very hot, particularly my cheese omelette. I should have taken it back.

I don’t normally write reviews but felt so strongly about how good this hotel could be, I write it in the hope of visiting again to see some changes. This hotel deserves proper recognition.

Room Tip: Only had food here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules121_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review at your day trip at the Imperial. I am pleased you enjoy the wonderful views, arguably the best in Tenby. We strive to upgrade all our public areas and provide our guests with a good value for money.We have an in house refurbishment programme and try to do this where and when we can.I hope to see you again in the future and I am positve you will see a remarkable improvement. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed for a two night break and found the hotel and staff excellent. The room was one of the best
clean and the view was absolutely fantastic, looking over the south beach and further to Caldy island. The food choice was very good and also the entertainment. Parked the car at the multi- storey car park which is only a five minute walk from the hotel [no spaces left at hotel] and only cost two pounds for twenty four hours. We had such a good break we are considering returning very shortly.

Room Tip: If you can ask for room three which is excellent, roomy and the view is out of this world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rod f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you very much for your comments of your recent stay at The Imperial Hotel Tenby. I agree that the hotel is situated in a stunning location with excellent views offering good value for money. I am glad you enjoy your stay and I hope to see you in the near future. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed here over the bank holiday weekend, the hotel is in the perfect location to explore Tenby overlooking the beach, close to the town centre. The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was a little slow with different excuses each morning from problems with the gas to being busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUSSEL1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought of your stay at the Imperial, I will pass on your comments to all the staff. The issue from breakfast has been rectified and I apologise for any inconvenience.I am glad that you enjoyed the Town and the Surrounding area. Hope to see you back soon. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was by far the best hotel we have had on a tour. We had 5 wonderful days at the Imperial hotel in tenby. We were on a Shearings holiday. The food was 1st class, our room was really comfortable and the staff couldn't do enough for you. The only fault with it was whilst we had entertainment two nights which was very good, the other nights were dead not even background music and those who didn't go out finished up going to their rooms to watch TV. Another nice touch was we were all promised a table looking out over the sea for dinner in turn. We had two trips out and a free day to explore Tenby. There are some lovely little shops and the beaches were so clean. Well done Shearings it was really good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you very much for a fantastic review of your recent stay, I shall certainly pass on all your comments to all the team. I also think of the Imperial as a magical views ,and I am glad that you enjoyed not only the Surrounding area but all services that the hotel provide. I hope to see you again in the near future. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cottage Court Hotel
Cottage Court Hotel
#18 of 23 in Tenby
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Tenby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Property: The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Address: The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Tenby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel, Tenby is built into the ancient stone walls of Tenby, overlooking its beautiful South Beach. The hotel boasts truly spectacular views towards Caldey Island. Inside the hotel, you’ll find a comfortable and charming place to unwind and relax. The Pembrokeshire region of South Wales is home to some of the most spectacular coastline in the British Isles. At the heart of this charming and picturesque setting can be found the town of Tenby, with its cobbled streets and ancient stone walls. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Tenby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Tenby
The Imperial Tenby Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing