We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel is great location for visiting south wales,/and pembrokeshire coastline. The staff are friendly, the manager Simon is efficient, friendly and helpful. He is approachable for anything you have concerns about and acts immediately to sort out any problems. His knowledge of the area is great, along with the reception staff who are only too happy to help. The restaurant staff under Craigs management and guidance always offered a friendly welcome at meal times. Fast efficient service was guaranteed - even when busy. Ideal mid week break, with plenty to see and do in the area. Love Spoons Workshop also worth a visit - amazing how they carve the spoons worth a visit - family business - very friendly

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dobiedurham2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you very much for posting your review to let us know what you thought of your stay at the Imperial Hotel in Tenby, It is nice to read that you enjoy your stay on your midweek break. I am glad that you enjoy the service provide and that you find our staff helpful and attentive to your needs. I shall pass on all your wonderful comments to all members of the team and as you mention in your comments I will pass on your lovely comments to Craig and all team as you did make his date. Our Hotel does strive to offer good value for money but most important to make you feel as part of the family and it is pleasing that you felt we delivered this to you.We hope it wont be long till you return. Regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed with the tiny single room overlooking a wall and the road. Noisy and a light on outside for most if the night. Bed slanting so difficult to stay in it as so narrow. The hotels public areas are lovely. Food very nice and staff very polite, helpful and friendly. Next time I will need to book and pay for 2 people in order to get a seaview room.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank FreeSpiritBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Imperial hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us in the single room but I would like to thank you for you feedback of the staff, service, food and comments on the public areas. We do have single rooms with a sea view so next time you don´t have to pay for two people just book a single room with a sea view. I am glad you enjoy the service provide and see you in the near future.Regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

my wife and I had a nice stay in the hotel booked coast and country. Had a very nice room 2 sea view plenty of room, and a lovely view out the large window, well worth paying £28 extra. The breakfast and dinners were good, and a pleasant view from the dinning room. Staff were pleasant and service good. If going in car book parking.

Room Tip: Sea view room2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you very much for your comments of your recent stay at The Imperial Hotel Tenby. I agree that the hotel is situated in a stunning location with excellent views worth paying the extra. Our hotel always strive to offer good value for money and I am glad we delivered this to you. I´m looking forward to see you again soon. Regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel late February. From descriptions in Shearings brochure it looks a great hotel in a wonderful location. Yes, the location is great with wonderful seaviews but what they didnt tell us was that the hotel would resemble a building site.We had booked a Standard Plus room with a seaview which we got. The room had been recently refurbished and had lovely furniture but we didnt reckon on the 'plus' side being windows taped up with duct tape and the extractor in the bathroom being stuffed full of tissues! The bathroom was very modern but most of the space was taken up with a large corner shower not leaving much room for a tiny washbasin and the toilet- pity because the shower was lovely (after we had got maintenance to free up the plughole so the water would go down), also being on a public balcony/patio area we had no privacy either from workmen or other guests - net curtains are a must for this room. Talking of privacy, workmen were busy scraping paint off our windows when we had got into our room at 3pm and were trying to unpack. Discovering there were no windows to open in the room, we found a door hidden behind the side curtain which led out onto the pation/balcony, well, it could have done if the door hadnt been painted over and thus sealed. With help from a couple of the workmen we managed to get it open but then it wouldnt close properly so we had to spend the rest of our holiday with an unlocked door.
So to the workmen, who were very polite by the way and seemed almost embarrassed that they were causing disruption. They were on site all the time during our stay, they did have particular hours during which they were allowed to work but this was not always observred. Our room (No.2) was in a corridor they were using to go in and out of the building, and to store their tools all over the placplace, making a general mess which we had to. The rooms either side of us were empty and either being refurbed or used to house all the builders' equipment so we got noise from these too. It could be argued that most guests were out on excursions but we were self-drive guests so were sometimes around during the day whilst all this upheaval was going on. There was also the constant smell of paint which doesnt do any favours and even 'wet paint' notices went up in the evening! Whilst we appreciate that refurbishment needs to be done (and think all will look great once it is finished) dont see why they cant shut one area at a time to do this and then move on to another and so on.

This is a great hotel (5 turned into one we are told) and I'm sure once the reburb is finished it will be lovely. I just think it would have been fairer of Shearings to warn us about this disruption and perhaps reduce prices for those areas being affected (I am writing to them on this).The dining room is lovely looking out to the beach and sea and guests are given different tables each mealtime so that everyone gets a go to sit by the windows. .The food is very good and politely served, would just say portions a bit small for those with big appetites! The lounges and bars are also very comfy and smart having also been 'done up' and the bar staff welcoming and friendly.

This hotel has the potential of being a great place to stay & despite our unfortunate experience we would recommend it especially in the warmer months and when it doesnt resemble a building site any more! best to check before you go!

Room Tip: Any room with a seaview, we had No.2 but it does look out onto a public balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truckersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations, it is always disappointing for me to hear when a guest is dissatisfied. I am sure had you mentioned the items in your review before your departure day, that my team would have try their very best to rectify them, especially the location of your room. The team should of advice on arrival about some work going at the hotel and explain that this will kept to a minimum so I can only apologize if this was not the case. I am glad that you enjoy the service provide by our staff and they were helpful and attentive to your needs. I hope to see you in the near future when the warmer month reach Tenby and I can assure you will see a remarkable change in your stay. Regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Great sea view from room.No problems with the heating..Food great for value,pay a bit extra from your £25 and it is really worth it. Car parking is a problem,only 8 spaces.Have to use town car park.Hotel is in the midst of refurbishment,but this did not detract from our stay.I dont know what people expect for the money paid.Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVID A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Imperial Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had a nice break with us. I completely agree with you we are so lucky to have such a fantastic location & great views. We have a small car park and you can always stop in front of the hotel on the single yellow line for a few minutes coming to the hotel as we will more that happy to point out the nearest car park available as all our staff are always happy to help our customers to point them in the right direction. I am glad you enjoy your stay and I hope to see you in the near future. Regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have stayed at the Imperial Hotel on a few occasions, and it never fails to disapoint.All staff are so welcoming and helpfull , the recently renovated rooms look amazing and chic,and so comfy. The resteraunt is well worth a mention , I have dined in many michelin stared resteraunts and have to say the food here is 2nd to none, The fish chowder is to die for , i was lucky enough to meet the head/executive chef "steve" who happily talked with guests , he is a very personable and talented young chef who could quite easily go all the way to the top.The Imperial is very good value . give it a go

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Happywelshtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comments of your recent stay at The Imperial Hotel Tenby. I will pass on the comments to the staff as they always trying their very best to help our customers and to Steve our head chef as he always happy to see our customer enjoy the food. I am glad you enjoy your stay with us as our Hotel does strive to offer good value for money and it is pleasing that you felt we delivered this to you. Im looking forward to see you again soon. Regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Awful Awful Awful. Views are spectacular but that's where it ends, we stayed at the beginning of Feb during the storms the room was old we didn't mind that but it was freezing cold the heating is on timer & is only on in morning & evening the windows had towels on the sills to catch the rain but they didn't stop the draught & the bathroom was just short of grotty, all that could have been forgiven if the food had been halfway decent but unfortunately it was AWFUL, very poor quality & without exception stone cold, service was slow & the limited choice on the set menu was very limited in that they had run out of almost everything before the even started!! all of this in a freezing cold dining room the wind was howling through the ill fiting windows.
we had booked a weekend package 2 nights as a birthday treat £200.00 is not a fortune but we have paid a lot less for far better.
We complained in the hotel. & to shearings who we booked through but no ones interested.
best advise would be don't bother.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your review at your stay at the Imperial hotel. I agree the views are spectacular from the hotel. I am sorry that you felt the accommodation, service and the food was not up to standard. I and the team are working very hard and addressing all the comments you made about your stay as we take our guests comments and complaints very seriously so I can only apologise for this. Please be assured that all comments and reviews shall be actioned by myself and the team. Thank again for taking the time to write this review. I do hope that you choose to come back again and I am positive you will see a remarkable improvement. Regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#6 of 23 in Tenby
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tenby
472 reviews
0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Tenby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Address: The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £74 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Tenby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel, Tenby is built into the ancient stone walls of Tenby, overlooking its beautiful South Beach. The hotel boasts truly spectacular views towards Caldey Island. Inside the hotel, you’ll find a comfortable and charming place to unwind and relax. The Pembrokeshire region of South Wales is home to some of the most spectacular coastline in the British Isles. At the heart of this charming and picturesque setting can be found the town of Tenby, with its cobbled streets and ancient stone walls. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Tenby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Tenby
The Imperial Tenby Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing